Shotgun Cure - Depravity Unleashed review



Reviewer:
7.5

1 user:
6.00
Band: Shotgun Cure
Album: Depravity Unleashed
Release date: August 2009


01. Sustainment
02. Exercise This
03. Unswayed
04. Shotgun Cure
05. Iron Shadow


Thrash metal
Canada
Self-released

Line-up on the CD:
Harut Savchenko - vocals, guitars
James Tulloch - bass
Kyle Lecourt - drums


Recently formed Canadian shred fetishists Shotgun Cure are far from a breath of fresh air in the thrash scene, citing their main influences as Metallica, Megadeth and virtually every significant thrash metal band in history, but their talent level is undeniable.

Rolling with the Metallica/Megadeth train, Shotgun Cure's sound can be defined as unadulterated Master Of Puppets/Peace Sells worship. Vocalist/guitarist Harut Savchenko has a nasty snarl to his shouts, somewhat of a Megadave quality (yes, a positive Mustaine attribute) that could make or break this band in terms of its fanbase.

All the genre's staples are present here: technically sound musicianship with a focus on speed and aggression, ripping guitars and complicated-but-memorable solos, galloping bass, blazing drum work - all served in true blue collar form. With such a primitive sounding production, Depravity Unleashed has "1980s" written all over it. Fine by me.

Overall, this is definitely an EP worth checking out if you're a fan of honest traditional old school thrash metal. Think Vio-lence's Eternal Nightmare, Slayer's Show No Mercy, or even Toxik's World Circus, if not for the technicality alone. The lack of originality is likely a result not only of a young band paying homage to their influences, but of a new group's first-ever release.

These guys could make it big. Like, really big.


Website: http://www.myspace.com/shotguncure


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 5
Production: 9


 



Written on 31.08.2010 by Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.


Comments

Comments: 8   Visited by: 74 users
31.08.2010 - 08:10
Edmund Fogg
The review really got me intrigued but it's not fair.Originality should not always play a factor in areview because now it drops the score too much.Listening to their Myspace Player and It's like taking me right before the giants started to take different directions.I rarely say this but That's worthy spending money on
----
You cannot sedate all the things you hate - MM
The Observer is the source of reality - Bloom
God damn it!! What did Diddy didn't do? - Satan
Loading...
31.08.2010 - 10:02
Marcus
Doit Like Bernie
Written by Edmund Fogg on 31.08.2010 at 08:10

The review really got me intrigued but it's not fair.Originality should not always play a factor in areview because now it drops the score too much.Listening to their Myspace Player and It's like taking me right before the giants started to take different directions.I rarely say this but That's worthy spending money on


The overall rating isn't an average of the four individual scores, so don't worry, that didn't lower the score at all.
Loading...
31.08.2010 - 13:21
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Edmund Fogg on 31.08.2010 at 08:10

The review really got me intrigued but it's not fair.Originality should not always play a factor in areview because now it drops the score too much.Listening to their Myspace Player and It's like taking me right before the giants started to take different directions.I rarely say this but That's worthy spending money on

Glad to hear the review got you interested, but as Marcus said, I assure you I didn't lower the score based on originality. That 5 is just to show my opinion of how original the work is - my 7.5 is how I felt the album compared to other albums.

I agree with that part about the giants taking different directions - these guys went back as far as the origins of thrash and made a killer EP out of it.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
31.08.2010 - 13:22
vezzy
Stallmanite
Troy, I am disappoint... again.

Well, I wouldn't say the production is a 9, the drums are bombastic and at times idiotic. Big Four worship is a bit laughable, but I guess, in the end, they're fine.
----
Licensed under the GPLv3.
Relinquish proprietary software for a greater GNU/America.
Loading...
31.08.2010 - 13:37
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by vezzy on 31.08.2010 at 13:22

Troy, I am disappoint... again.

Well, I wouldn't say the production is a 9, the drums are bombastic and at times idiotic. Big Four worship is a bit laughable, but I guess, in the end, they're fine.

You can't expect much going in when it's only a 7.5, but I definitely stand by that 9 production rating. A lot of the thrash that comes out these days sounds too polished, and this was a nice return to the original sound.

It's funny that these guys sound like what Metallica and Megadeth claim they were going to sound like with their newest albums.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
31.08.2010 - 20:34
Daydream Nation
Account deleted
Good review...I'd rate a little lower, but you're on the money.
Loading...
02.09.2010 - 02:38
iaberis
Advice Troll
What a band name!
----
Bitch! Please
Loading...
02.01.2012 - 07:02
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by iaberis on 02.09.2010 at 02:38

What a band name!

80% of the time I judge a band by its name.

I will have to check this out, sounds like something I would enjoy.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...

Hits total: 3281 | This month: 6