Rating:
7.5
Daylight Misery - Depressive Icons
14 April 2010


01. Intro
02. Meadows Of Desire [feat. Euthimis Karadimas]
03. Depressive Icons
04. Miserablia [feat. Jacob Batten]
05. Infinity [feat. Sakis Tolis]
06. Endless Fairytale
07. Stealing Flowers From A Grave
08. Soul Embraced
09. Mind Games


Daylight Misery (probably took their name from a Draconian song on the monumental Arcane Rain Fell, nevertheless I could be wrong, just making a guess) is a hellenic melodic death/doom metal band that appeared this year (they've been around for about 2 years) with their first full-length, Depressive Icons. Of course they were not alone in this attempt and to be fair, they deserved the appearances they had on this very first album, so one could say it was mainly a collaboration of people from renowned bands with people that begin their musical journey having a lot to say, while promising more for the future, rather than just help.

One can find here Sakis Tolis of Rotting Christ and Euthimis Karadimas of Nightfall on vocal appearances, Jakob Batten of Illdisposed on guitar role on "Miserablia" and Seraph of the wonderful german black metal act Dark Fortress on drums. Last but not least, the renowned Travis Smith sculptured the cover artwork and Rotting Christ's guitarist, George Bokos, produced Depressive Icons, finalizing the compositions.

Once the intro opens Depressive Icons in such an inspired and atmospheric way the only thing you expect is something good to say the least; and the flow of the album couldn't prove me wrong. The band blends melody and aggression in such a way that they seem to be walking hand in hand, with the guitars either having a groovy, dynamic sound or a more weeping, melodic point of view, with the rhythm section pacing as well in a raging or accompanying way. You will also find keyboards flowing almost all over the place whenever needed, withough exaggerating, evoking atmosphere or even having a more dominant role at times like on the fabulous "Stealing Flowers From A Grave". A pleasant addition have to be the female vocals on "Meadows Of Desite", whereas the male grunting vocals, with a harsher edge at times, complete the scenery in a powerful manner.

Of course there are influences from the general doom/death metal scene as well as references to hellenic metal bands, this could be almost inevitable, but these fellas know how to compose wonderful songs with respect to their influences. And please, goddamn labels, give this band a chance, after all, (I think) they deserve it. The production is good but with the ideal support of a label could have been definitely better. The songs I enjoyed the most must be "Infinity", "Miserablia", "Meadows Of Desire", "Depressive Icons" and "Soul Embraced".

Daylight Misery deserve your support if you're searching for a promising newcomer in the world of melodic death/doom metal, Depressive Icons is just the beginning.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 7


Band profile: Daylight Misery
Album: Depressive Icons


 



Written on 15.09.2010 by
DerRozzengarten
"It is myself I have never met, whose face is pasted on the underside of my mind."
More reviews by DerRozzengarten ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 29  
Users visited: 145  
Search this topic:  


Edmund Fogg - 16.09.2010 at 05:24  
Good review, and nice band discovery.It will be nice to see how they grow (if they ever grow)
Carl Berg - 16.09.2010 at 08:00  
Gonna definately check them out. Good that there are others who appreciate Arcane Rain Fell as much as I

EDIT : this album contains obvious Draconian influences
BudDa - 16.09.2010 at 10:58  
Good review, we'll be sure to check them out as well..
15 reviews in 9days. Way to go! Thats more than what Marcel put out in the last 2 freaking years..:-)Actually, 3yrs..if you count 2010
iaberis - 16.09.2010 at 11:36  
I like what I hear on Myspace
The main riff on "Endless Fairytale" is absolute killer!
Merchant of Doom - 16.09.2010 at 13:57  
AOR version of Draconian... terrible!
Marcel Hubregtse - 16.09.2010 at 14:32  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 16.09.2010 at 13:57

AOR version of Draconian... terrible!


And Draconian are already AOR to my ears So I MUST hear this
Carl Berg - 16.09.2010 at 14:42  
Excuse my noobness, but what is AOR?
Merchant of Doom - 16.09.2010 at 14:51  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 16.09.2010 at 14:32

Written by Merchant of Doom on 16.09.2010 at 13:57

AOR version of Draconian... terrible!


And Draconian are already AOR to my ears So I MUST hear this


Don't!
Merchant of Doom - 16.09.2010 at 14:52  
Written by Carl Berg on 16.09.2010 at 14:42

Excuse my noobness, but what is AOR?


Adult-Oriented Rock...
Carl Berg - 16.09.2010 at 14:57  
Haha, you guys find Draconian AOR?
Merchant of Doom - 16.09.2010 at 15:47  
Written by Carl Berg on 16.09.2010 at 14:57

Haha, you guys find Draconian AOR?


No, not me... for me the last album is pop music!
dismaleuphony - 17.09.2010 at 00:23  
I think it's a bit silly to compare this band's music to Draconian It's so much closer to it's obvious influences of hellenic melodic black metal bands, but with what I feel are mostly misses (with a few hits) in the keyboards. I guess there is some doom filtering through, but it wouldn't be something I'd describe the band with. But any chance to knock on Draconian I guess must be taken, eh?

Anyway, about your review ... I agree the band would get a lot of help in the production department with more than a few guests and instead with a proper label. It feels like I'm in the late 90s somehow listening to this. Cool but I'd rather wait for another release with more development.
DerRozzengarten - 17.09.2010 at 03:48  
Written by dismaleuphony on 17.09.2010 at 00:23

Anyway, about your review ... I agree the band would get a lot of help in the production department with more than a few guests and instead with a proper label. It feels like I'm in the late 90s somehow listening to this. Cool but I'd rather wait for another release with more development.

Being a band from Greece, or Hellas, or anything, it's always being in the late 90s, there's no promotional matter, only if you have your very special way out of this, the greek, hellenic, or whatever scene always fought to get a glimpse of support, i'm not a patriot, i hate patriots, i wouldn't refer to fascists at all, but i like supporting this goddamn part on earth, concerning the metal scene, there are many hidden diamonds, yet, there's no promotion, i don't give a damn, i'm just doing anything passing from my hand to present something from my place that has something to say, not THAT origina all the timel, yet, having something to say. And yes, i don't find anything close to Draconian, apart from the name. And it's not a personal attack, it's just some views flowing through my drunken head at the moment
Merchant of Doom - 17.09.2010 at 15:15  
I was exaggerating to make my point, but some Draconian lurks in there... and mind you, I quite like Draconian...
DerRozzengarten - 17.09.2010 at 15:28  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 17.09.2010 at 15:15

I was exaggerating to make my point, but some Draconian lurks in there... and mind you, I quite like Draconian...

not to a big extent though, i like them too, up to Arcane Rain Fell, i didn't enjoy that much what they did after it
Marcel Hubregtse - 17.09.2010 at 15:30  
Written by DerRozzengarten on 17.09.2010 at 15:28

Written by Merchant of Doom on 17.09.2010 at 15:15

I was exaggerating to make my point, but some Draconian lurks in there... and mind you, I quite like Draconian...

not to a big extent though, i like them too, up to Arcane Rain Fell, i didn't enjoy that much what they did after it


I think I am the only person that truly hates Draconian hahahha
InnerSelf - 17.09.2010 at 16:10  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 17.09.2010 at 15:30

Written by DerRozzengarten on 17.09.2010 at 15:28

Written by Merchant of Doom on 17.09.2010 at 15:15

I was exaggerating to make my point, but some Draconian lurks in there... and mind you, I quite like Draconian...

not to a big extent though, i like them too, up to Arcane Rain Fell, i didn't enjoy that much what they did after it


I think I am the only person that truly hates Draconian hahahha


And you'll take every chance to express this hatred
Marcel Hubregtse - 17.09.2010 at 16:14  
Written by InnerSelf on 17.09.2010 at 16:10


And you'll take every chance to express this hatred


Yep
Hopefully all you others will see the light and realize I am right
InnerSelf - 17.09.2010 at 16:18  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 17.09.2010 at 16:14

Written by InnerSelf on 17.09.2010 at 16:10


And you'll take every chance to express this hatred


Yep
Hopefully all you others will see the light and realize I am right


And we will all burn our Draconian CDs and buy Warning and Primordial
Marcel Hubregtse - 17.09.2010 at 16:27  
Written by InnerSelf on 17.09.2010 at 16:18


And we will all burn our Draconian CDs and buy Warning and Primordial


Something along those lines, indeed.
Collin - 17.09.2010 at 17:22  
Throw Warning in the batch to burn and I'm in
Marcel Hubregtse - 17.09.2010 at 17:24  
Written by Collin on 17.09.2010 at 17:22

Throw Warning in the batch to burn and I'm in


You have no taste when it comes to true emotional music such as Warning
Collin - 17.09.2010 at 17:29  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 17.09.2010 at 17:24

Written by Collin on 17.09.2010 at 17:22

Throw Warning in the batch to burn and I'm in


You have no taste when it comes to true emotional music such as Warning


Even I don't understand why I enjoy My Dying Bride but can't stand Warning because of the whininess. It's a mystery that will bewilder the world's greatest minds for centuries.
Marcel Hubregtse - 17.09.2010 at 17:31  
Written by Collin on 17.09.2010 at 17:29

Even I don't understand why I enjoy My Dying Bride but can't stand Warning because of the whininess. It's a mystery that will bewilder the world's greatest minds for centuries.


At least Pat Walker is a GOOD whiner unlike Aaron
DerRozzengarten - 17.09.2010 at 17:37  
Let's see what Warning have to say
Merchant of Doom - 17.09.2010 at 17:47  
Written by DerRozzengarten on 17.09.2010 at 17:37

Let's see what Warning have to say


and Draconian...
Marcel Hubregtse - 17.09.2010 at 17:50  
Actually Draconian on album are infinitely superior to Draconian live
Mr. Doctor - 17.09.2010 at 19:21  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 17.09.2010 at 17:50

Actually Draconian on album are infinitely superior to Draconian live


And that's when you know that a certain band sucks imo

I don't hate them, but I don't see why they had such the amount of fans they have, they don't deserve the half of them easily.
InnerSelf - 17.09.2010 at 22:42  
I can in no way see a band live "until I leave Syria to study abroad" and thus my judgment is based 100% on the studio work but I do occasionally see some Youtube stuff where Draconian really sucks

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Die Verbannten Kinder Evas - Dusk And Void Became Alive 3 17.10.2006 by Herzebeth
Reviews My Dying Bride - A Line Of Deathless Kings 3 27.11.2006 by Talvi
Reviews Lacrimosa - Lichtgestalt 3 01.03.2007 by
Reviews Hanoi Rocks - Self Destruction Blues 3 24.05.2006 by inc
Reviews Catacombs - In The Depths Of R'lyeh 3 22.09.2006 by Lokomotiv



Hits total: 3422 | This month: 25