Unheilig - Grosse Freiheit review



Reviewer:
9.0

19 users:
7.63
Band: Unheilig
Album: Grosse Freiheit
Release date: 2010


Disc I
01. Das Meer (The Sea)
02. Seenot (Distress)
03. Für immer (Forever)
04. Geboren Um Zu Leben (Born To Live)
05. Abwärts (Down)
06. Halt Mich (Hold Me)
07. Unter Feuer (Under Fire)
08. Große Freiheit (Great Freedom)
09. Ich Gehöre Mir (I Belong To Me)
10. Heimatstern (Home Star)
11. Sternbild (Constellation)
12. Unter Deiner Flagge (Under Your Flag)
13. Fernweh (Wanderlust)
14. Schenk Mir Ein Wunder (Give Me A Miracle) [bonus]
15. Auf Kurs (On Course) [bonus]
16. Neuland (Newland)

Disc II [Limited Edition]
01. Human Nations [First Musical Steps in 1992]
02. The Beast [First Musical Steps in 1992]
03. Lost Heaven [Unpublished song from the early Unheiligzeit]
04. Faded Times [Unpublished song from the early Unheiligzeit]
05. Seenot [Demo]
06. Für Immer [Demo]
07. Unter deiner Flagge [Demo]
08. Geboren um zu leben [Demo]
09. Geboren um zu leben [Demo 2]


"The cities have fallen and become one; Progress determines existence. Humans have become numbers and fear their drive. Free thought, desire and love are subject to censorship. Millions accept this from the beginning to their end. Will you also go the way presented, or do you belong to those who rise in these modern times?" (Der Graf)

The scarlet horizon, the black flag and a ship to sail across the dream that is no other than life itself, not the "life" they present/offer/inject you. In this journey you will meet other ships like your own, gathering dreams and when the day of final explosion arrives there will be either the ships or the port that imprisons them and lessens life with obligations and oppression. Destination Grosse Freiheit (Great Freedom).

Unheilig's journey throughout the years never stopped, how could this happen with a sincere and honorable captain such as Der Graf that pouring his soul into this musical project? In Moderne Zeiten (Modern Times) when "life" is a Puppenspiel (Doll Play) the need for Grosse Freiheit (Great Freedom) is greater than ever. Another very personal album by Der Graf profoundly that has become personal for many people, from the heart of the artist straight to the heart of the listener. The band strikes in full force as a unit since Der Graf, Henning Verlage and Christoph Tremühlen walk together since 1999 (vocals-programming/keyboards-programming/guitars from left to right), with Potti being the new member of Unheilig familly performing the drumming, something also new for the band since the drums were being programmed before.

Everything begins at the sea ("Das Meer"), the ship whistles, the journey begins under the stars. Throughout the album you will find yourself hunting high and low according to the dreams, the dangers, the struggle, the course, everything that comes forth until you reach the final frontier, the new land ("Neuland"). Henceforth the album has its heavier, epic and bombastic moments, emotional compositions full of longing or melancholy or more aggressive passages the escalate the overall atmosphere. Heavily distorted guitars or acoustic chords, dynamic electronics or just FX and frequences, floating epic or emotional keyboard passages, bombastic or accompanying drumming, everything's here with all the elements blending wonderfully together. Der Graf for one more time offers a mind-blowing interpretation whether he sings dynamically with his Deutsch accent or acts emotionally with his softer yet still deep voice, inspiring mind and soul.

"...I Belong To Me..."

I won't choose highlights and if I had to choose, I would act the same way. As I said above, the album is a journey and/or the journey is an album, a personal one. Look at the titles, they are the travelling signs in this industrial rock/metal opera. After you have cherished it as one, you will set sail on another expedition, because the album is addictive, after all, you have to know well the course and with every spin you discover more things along the way. The ship whistles again, you have reached the new land ("Neuland").


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 9


 



Written on 28.09.2010 by "It is myself I have never met, whose face is pasted on the underside of my mind."


Comments

Comments: 16   Visited by: 148 users
28.09.2010 - 02:42
Elyar S.
Gud är Död
You write great reviews thats why I have to check this album but I cant say its as good as your review or not

btw is this a doom metal band or ?
----
Kiss my ass if you dont like me, I dont care.
Loading...
28.09.2010 - 02:45
DerRozzengarten
Odysseus
The album is as good as the review according to my ears I don't know what opinion your ears will have though Thanks mate!

Unheilig is an industrial rock/metal band from Germany.
----
Dec. 30, 1334.

...And the whiskey and wine entered our veins when blood was too weak to carry on.
Loading...
28.09.2010 - 02:46
Elyar S.
Gud är Död
Oh shit I hadnt read the last paragraph sorry lol
----
Kiss my ass if you dont like me, I dont care.
Loading...
28.09.2010 - 02:48
DerRozzengarten
Odysseus
That's ok, no problem
----
Dec. 30, 1334.

...And the whiskey and wine entered our veins when blood was too weak to carry on.
Loading...
28.09.2010 - 05:21
Marcus
Doit Like Bernie
Industrial? no way! From the cover I figured it was viking folk.
Loading...
28.09.2010 - 12:02
Merchant of Doom
Don't be fooled... this is "industrial" music for German teenagers... it's so commercial you want to shoot the guy... metal? For God's sake! Do you remember when Paradise Lost turned into Depeche Mode with "Host"? Well, this is a copy, only worse, and in German... I don't quite understand why MS pushes this crap... it should be banned!
Loading...
28.09.2010 - 12:12
DerRozzengarten
Odysseus
Written by Merchant of Doom on 28.09.2010 at 12:02

Don't be fooled... this is "industrial" music for German teenagers... it's so commercial you want to shoot the guy... metal? For God's sake! Do you remember when Paradise Lost turned into Depeche Mode with "Host"? Well, this is a copy, only worse, and in German... I don't quite understand why MS pushes this crap... it should be banned!

Don't be fooled... just because it sells to teenagers also it doesn't mean it's only for teenagers... it's so commercial you want to thank the guy for creating beautiful music that happened to appeal to a wide audience. Metal? Rock/metal! There are no similarities between Host and Unheilig. Ultra krieg judge, ban ban ban
----
Dec. 30, 1334.

...And the whiskey and wine entered our veins when blood was too weak to carry on.
Loading...
28.09.2010 - 12:38
Merchant of Doom
Written by DerRozzengarten on 28.09.2010 at 12:12

Written by Merchant of Doom on 28.09.2010 at 12:02

Don't be fooled... this is "industrial" music for German teenagers... it's so commercial you want to shoot the guy... metal? For God's sake! Do you remember when Paradise Lost turned into Depeche Mode with "Host"? Well, this is a copy, only worse, and in German... I don't quite understand why MS pushes this crap... it should be banned!

Don't be fooled... just because it sells to teenagers also it doesn't mean it's only for teenagers... it's so commercial you want to thank the guy for creating beautiful music that happened to appeal to a wide audience. Metal? Rock/metal! There are no similarities between Host and Unheilig. Ultra krieg judge, ban ban ban


I think you lost it, mate!
Loading...
28.09.2010 - 12:41
DerRozzengarten
Odysseus
Written by Merchant of Doom on 28.09.2010 at 12:38

Written by DerRozzengarten on 28.09.2010 at 12:12

Written by Merchant of Doom on 28.09.2010 at 12:02

Don't be fooled... this is "industrial" music for German teenagers... it's so commercial you want to shoot the guy... metal? For God's sake! Do you remember when Paradise Lost turned into Depeche Mode with "Host"? Well, this is a copy, only worse, and in German... I don't quite understand why MS pushes this crap... it should be banned!

Don't be fooled... just because it sells to teenagers also it doesn't mean it's only for teenagers... it's so commercial you want to thank the guy for creating beautiful music that happened to appeal to a wide audience. Metal? Rock/metal! There are no similarities between Host and Unheilig. Ultra krieg judge, ban ban ban


I think you lost it, mate!

So much is lost, so much disharmony.
----
Dec. 30, 1334.

...And the whiskey and wine entered our veins when blood was too weak to carry on.
Loading...
28.09.2010 - 12:54
Merchant of Doom
Ah, ah, lol... funny! still Grosse Scheißeheit, though...
Loading...
28.09.2010 - 18:48
DerRozzengarten
Odysseus
Scheiße
----
Dec. 30, 1334.

...And the whiskey and wine entered our veins when blood was too weak to carry on.
Loading...
28.09.2010 - 22:20
Ag Fox
Angel No More
Why do so many industrial bands sing in german?
----
loves 小巫
Loading...
29.09.2010 - 00:46
Merchant of Doom
Written by DerRozzengarten on 28.09.2010 at 18:48

Scheiße


just "Scheiße" didn't rhyme with "Freiheit"... it was a "poetic licence"...
Loading...
29.09.2010 - 01:53
DerRozzengarten
Odysseus
Written by Merchant of Doom on 29.09.2010 at 00:46

Written by DerRozzengarten on 28.09.2010 at 18:48

Scheiße


just "Scheiße" didn't rhyme with "Freiheit"... it was a "poetic licence"...

yeah, there was a +1 sylable, which poet gave the "poetic licence"?
----
Dec. 30, 1334.

...And the whiskey and wine entered our veins when blood was too weak to carry on.
Loading...
29.09.2010 - 01:54
DerRozzengarten
Odysseus
Written by Ag Fox on 28.09.2010 at 22:20

Why do so many industrial bands sing in german?

because it's vulgar and at the same time emotional, according to the song
----
Dec. 30, 1334.

...And the whiskey and wine entered our veins when blood was too weak to carry on.
Loading...
22.07.2012 - 20:05
Cüca Beludo
Account deleted
Written by Ag Fox on 28.09.2010 at 22:20

Why do so many industrial bands sing in german?


Most industrial bands are from the "neue deutsche harte" movement, or "New german Hardness".
Loading...

Hits total: 5797 | This month: 12