Rating:
6.5
Sael - The Sixth Extinction
April 2010


01. Being Judas
02. Priest Of Nothingness
03. The Venom
04. Mantra Of The Fourth Age
05. Inner Wrath
06. I Searched For The End Of The Spiral
07. The Sixth Extinction


Sael is a French black metal combo that managed to release during 2010 their debut album, The Sixth Extinction, after an EP and some demos etc. The cover artwork is really beautiful, depicting probably a god of the sea amidst the angry waves, with the first impression being actually very positive.

The Sixth Extinction is nothing new, it contains a formula you've heard before, after all innovative sound in black metal format doesn't happen every day anymore and whenever such matters occur only the inspiration and atmosphere sectors can save the situation. Of course there are some very good songs and/or moments in here, but probably they are not enough to keep the peak at high levels, henceforth the album is slightly above the average black metal releases.

Of course you will enjoy its fierce air, they like it up-tempo and rough with some mid-to-low tempo breaks (as expected, the rhythm section flows in the same vein without losing its course), with the guitars evoking either a menacing or more desolate atmosphere or just straight to your face rawness. After all one of the ambiance arrays in black metal is the guitar sound and here you will find the renowned railway riffing with a sharper edge at times, without forgetting to present some interesting solos or acoustic passages. Some keyboard seeds have been planted along the way, blooming here and there amidst the harvesting guitars, like the awesome passage during the second minute of "Being Judas". The vocal lines are pretty well-expressed, rasping screams and howls tha complete the set.

The overall outcome is definitely well-performed, but it tends to sound a bit monotonous at times, although the slight keyboard passages and some more rhythmic mid-tempo melodic guitars or even acoustic chords lend a helping hand of diversity. Songs like "Being Judas", "Priest Of Nothingness" and "The Venom" will keep your interest at welcome levels so as to keep on listening, whereas "Mantra Of The Fourth Age", "Inner Wrath" and "I Searched For The End Of The Spiral" (post 3:40 is interesting and revives the song) with their rawer, dry sound won't leave the best of impressions, henceforth they might tire. The title track is somewhere inbetween in terms of impression, just like the whole album.

Had it been a 3-4 track EP, The Sixth Extinction would have been a pretty strong and solid release, as for now, it's a bit more than another black metal album, for sure it has things to say, but I'll prefer other albums instead. You still can give them a chance, but the choice is all yours.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 7
Production: 8


 



Written on 04.10.2010 by
DerRozzengarten
"It is myself I have never met, whose face is pasted on the underside of my mind."
More reviews by DerRozzengarten ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 6  
Users visited: 12  
Search this topic:  


Boxcar Willy - 12.10.2010 at 01:52  
Nice reveiw, btw why is it a six point five? i understand that its only sub-par but your other ratings are all above 7? just wondering.
DerRozzengarten - 12.10.2010 at 01:58  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 12.10.2010 at 01:52

Nice reveiw, btw why is it a six point five? i understand that its only sub-par but your other ratings are all above 7? just wondering.

Thanks for the positive feedback The sub-rating thingies give a sense of what's going on concerning musicianship etc as they state, the final rating is the final impression based mainly on the words of the review, that's how i see it. The words are of more important than the rating.
Boxcar Willy - 12.10.2010 at 02:00  
Written by DerRozzengarten on 12.10.2010 at 01:58

Written by Boxcar Willy on 12.10.2010 at 01:52

Nice reveiw, btw why is it a six point five? i understand that its only sub-par but your other ratings are all above 7? just wondering.

Thanks for the positive feedback The sub-rating thingies give a sense of what's going on concerning musicianship etc as they state, the final rating is the final impression based mainly on the words of the review, that's how i see it. The words are of more important than the rating.

ii use a combination of both... maybe that's why my reviews are so terrible
DerRozzengarten - 12.10.2010 at 02:02  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 12.10.2010 at 02:00

Written by DerRozzengarten on 12.10.2010 at 01:58

Written by Boxcar Willy on 12.10.2010 at 01:52

Nice reveiw, btw why is it a six point five? i understand that its only sub-par but your other ratings are all above 7? just wondering.

Thanks for the positive feedback The sub-rating thingies give a sense of what's going on concerning musicianship etc as they state, the final rating is the final impression based mainly on the words of the review, that's how i see it. The words are of more important than the rating.

ii use a combination of both... maybe that's why my reviews are so terrible

I don't know if your reviews are terrible or not, but they state an opinion, YOUr opinion and that's important
Boxcar Willy - 12.10.2010 at 02:06  
Written by DerRozzengarten on 12.10.2010 at 02:02

Written by Boxcar Willy on 12.10.2010 at 02:00

Written by DerRozzengarten on 12.10.2010 at 01:58

Written by Boxcar Willy on 12.10.2010 at 01:52

Nice reveiw, btw why is it a six point five? i understand that its only sub-par but your other ratings are all above 7? just wondering.

Thanks for the positive feedback The sub-rating thingies give a sense of what's going on concerning musicianship etc as they state, the final rating is the final impression based mainly on the words of the review, that's how i see it. The words are of more important than the rating.

ii use a combination of both... maybe that's why my reviews are so terrible

I don't know if your reviews are terrible or not, but they state an opinion, YOUr opinion and that's important

thats a good way to put it. btw my reveiws are terrible just ask Lucas...
DerRozzengarten - 12.10.2010 at 02:18  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 12.10.2010 at 02:06

Written by DerRozzengarten on 12.10.2010 at 02:02

Written by Boxcar Willy on 12.10.2010 at 02:00

Written by DerRozzengarten on 12.10.2010 at 01:58

Written by Boxcar Willy on 12.10.2010 at 01:52

Nice reveiw, btw why is it a six point five? i understand that its only sub-par but your other ratings are all above 7? just wondering.

Thanks for the positive feedback The sub-rating thingies give a sense of what's going on concerning musicianship etc as they state, the final rating is the final impression based mainly on the words of the review, that's how i see it. The words are of more important than the rating.

ii use a combination of both... maybe that's why my reviews are so terrible

I don't know if your reviews are terrible or not, but they state an opinion, YOUr opinion and that's important

thats a good way to put it. btw my reveiws are terrible just ask Lucas...

Read the site rules concerning guest reviews and try it once again!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews The Project Hate MCMXCIX - Bleeding The New Apocalypse (Cum Victriciis In Manibus Armis) 4.5 25.03.2011 by Ag Fox
Reviews My Dying Bride - As The Flower Withers 4.5 20.06.2007 by Warman
Reviews Throes Of Dawn - The Great Fleet Of Echoes 4.5 17.09.2010 by Deadsoulman
Reviews Grave Digger - The Clans Will Rise Again 4.5 01.10.2010 by JÄY
Reviews The 69 Eyes - Devils 4.5 19.11.2006 by



Hits total: 3038 | This month: 21