Rating:
7.0
Dagoba - Poseidon
30 August 2010


01. 43 17'n / 5 22'e
02. Dead Lion Reef
03. Columnae
04. The Devil's Triangle
05. Degree Zero
06. The Horn Cape
07. Black Smokers (752 Farenheit)
08. Ha Long
09. Shen Lung
10. I Sea Red
11. Theres Blood Offshore
12. Waves Of Doom


The French mechanical groovy bestiary Dagoba hail once again with a new album two years after its predecessor. Poseidon arises from the depths of the ocean with a like-driven expressive cover artwork blending well with the God of the sea that breathes through the menace and devoutness of the vast blue that is vivid through the whole duration of this new effort.

So, what to expect from the band during 2010, imagine them grabbing from the Face The Colossus and striking it down in the mud, the introvert atmosphere of the previous effort becomes powerful and more aggressive with some tranquil moments. Of course they didn't leave behind the keyboards, the heavy usage of FX, the slight electronics and the mechanical drumming in any tempo, it's just that this time everything is more fierce. You will find more aggressive riffs parading one after the other and throbbing bass lines as the vocals core the place down with their sharp edge that is being usually overrun by an electrifying FX. This recipe mainly works on the first third of the album. On the second the band seems to ease the burden and the melodic vocals play a more important role among more powerful ones, the keyboards that were more menacing and were playing a tremendous role through their simplicity in the ambiance now become more mellow, but still obscure, so as to pace with the overall melodic feeling. The change begins with the dual nature of "Black Smokers (752 Farenheit)" and "Degree Zero" and continues with the instru-mental "The Horn Cape" and the mellow "Shen Lung", but don't misinterpret their will, the album from "I Sea Red" gets back on track rising the "Waves Of Doom" once again.

The production is very good, ideal I'd say, it helps every aspect of the album sound just like it should and you gotta love the bombastic drumming that blooms like a bomb exploding at the bottom of the sea in a single shot in tactical moments inbetween the breaking periods. One could say Poseidon holds a biomechanical air, it owns a vivid sea-oriented feeling, but it presents amounts of industrial sharpness that distort the place as well.

The album is good and I like its aggressive air, but the more melodic vibes in the middle, this mellow feeling, just soothes the beast inside. Had some songs been more aggressive/a bit different or the clearly melodic aura was not apparent I'd refer to Poseidon as a nearly masterpiece or something, as for now, it's a good release with enough songs that will blow your mind, whereas some others will kind of bore you or won't appeal as much as they should.

Highlights: "Dead Lion Reef", "Columnae", "I Sea Red", "The Horn Cape", "Theres Blood Offshore", "Waves Of Doom".

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Dagoba
Album: Poseidon


 



Written on 18.10.2010 by
DerRozzengarten
"It is myself I have never met, whose face is pasted on the underside of my mind."
More reviews by DerRozzengarten ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 19  
Users visited: 151  
Search this topic:  


Paradox0 - 18.10.2010 at 21:23  
After listening to "... Colossus" and hearing the previews to this album I've been expecting alot (well, not to be disappointed anyways). How does 7 average out with scores of 9,7,8,9 exactly?
Edmund Fogg - 18.10.2010 at 21:35  
Sounds interesting...will give them a spin later
DerRozzengarten - 18.10.2010 at 21:42  
Written by Paradox0 on 18.10.2010 at 21:23

After listening to "... Colossus" and hearing the previews to this album I've been expecting alot (well, not to be disappointed anyways). How does 7 average out with scores of 9,7,8,9 exactly?

Exactly with my words on the review. It says everything required to sum up a solid 7 to my ears. Those 4 factors are seperate arrays of the final outcome, they play a role but they ain't the universal truth, why do you people stick to them as "this is it and nothing else"? a 9 goes to the great musicianship, the song-writing is 7 to me, an 8 goes to originallity because they sum up pretty well various things and a 9 to production, if you have an album with good musicianship and great production and nice originallity and the music is crap, let's say 4, you will put the average of all 4? no. those 4 play their part in the final outcome, but they ain't god's will under blinders for virgin mary's virgin (according to the church) son's sake! The final outcome comes from the words of the review as well and in the end, it's just a goddamn number, is it what matters? If this is it, then we should stop posting reviews and just numbers!
"9
7
8
9
=
8.75"
this is it.
it will be much easier for us all you know but we write reviews because we do like it, we don't get paid, we just listen to some fuckin music and we express our fuckin opinions because we like it and because we want to share them with people since we can do so, whether one agrees or disagress or whatever. but it's not all about numbers and this has been discussed a lot in various reviews and it tends to be tiring in the end! Read between the lines, don't calculate coldly between the numbers.
bluegreengod - 18.10.2010 at 21:45  
Written by Paradox0 on 18.10.2010 at 21:23

After listening to "... Colossus" and hearing the previews to this album I've been expecting alot (well, not to be disappointed anyways). How does 7 average out with scores of 9,7,8,9 exactly?

Come on, dude...do the math! (9 + 7 + 8 + 9) / 4 = 7
Derwood - 19.10.2010 at 06:18  
Written by Paradox0 on 18.10.2010 at 21:23

How does 7 average out with scores of 9,7,8,9 exactly?


Because there are other intangibles that go into the overall rating of an album. Ever hear the expression, "The whole is greater than the sum of its parts?" It can be less, as well. The four individual measures could very well all be 9's, yet an album still only rate a 6 or 7 in terms of its overall impression.

Why is this such a difficult concept for folks to grasp?
Rupert - 19.10.2010 at 06:59  
Though I agree the numbers don't have to match up to make sense, I understand how it can be misleading for a lot of people.

Good review DerRoz!
Chainer - 20.10.2010 at 17:36  
Written by DerRozzengarten on 18.10.2010 at 21:42

Written by Paradox0 on 18.10.2010 at 21:23

After listening to "... Colossus" and hearing the previews to this album I've been expecting alot (well, not to be disappointed anyways). How does 7 average out with scores of 9,7,8,9 exactly?

Exactly with my words on the review. It says everything required to sum up a solid 7 to my ears. Those 4 factors are seperate arrays of the final outcome, they play a role but they ain't the universal truth, why do you people stick to them as "this is it and nothing else"? a 9 goes to the great musicianship, the song-writing is 7 to me, an 8 goes to originallity because they sum up pretty well various things and a 9 to production, if you have an album with good musicianship and great production and nice originallity and the music is crap, let's say 4, you will put the average of all 4? no. those 4 play their part in the final outcome, but they ain't god's will under blinders for virgin mary's virgin (according to the church) son's sake! The final outcome comes from the words of the review as well and in the end, it's just a goddamn number, is it what matters? If this is it, then we should stop posting reviews and just numbers!


Agreed, an overall impression should not be the precise mathematical average of the 4 sub-scores. This being said, the two should not be completely independent of one another. All three, the words of the reviewer, the sub-score, and the overarching impression score work in conjunction to convey a given reviewers' opinion on a given album. Whereas the sub-scores give an empirical value to the reviewer's commentary, which in turn gives a very basic justification for the overall score. Numbers are not enough with out the insight of the reviewer, and words are too non-discrete in nature to derive a numerical score from. A review says song writing is good, well what the hell does 'good' mean? Difficult to say just from reading the words, however if songwriting is assigned a numerical value, and good = 8/10, the notion of 'good' has a discrete value, and the reader can more easily grasp the quality of songwriting as proposed by the reviewer.


good review though, never listened to Dagoba before. I am enjoying the album, its pretty solid, I agree with a 7.
Edmund Fogg - 21.10.2010 at 17:29  
The melodic and clean elements are really turning me off. But it is still a great listen
DerRozzengarten - 21.10.2010 at 19:42  
Written by Edmund Fogg on 21.10.2010 at 17:29

The melodic and clean elements are really turning me off. But it is still a great listen

Exactly the same, you expect the album to ruin your brain and then lalalala for a while and then back powah
Edmund Fogg - 21.10.2010 at 19:54  
Written by DerRozzengarten on 21.10.2010 at 19:42

Written by Edmund Fogg on 21.10.2010 at 17:29

The melodic and clean elements are really turning me off. But it is still a great listen

Exactly the same, you expect the album to ruin your brain and then lalalala for a while and then back powah


Lol yes it feels like being crushed into a wall and stomped upon but the second later your cudling...not really a good vibe
DerRozzengarten - 21.10.2010 at 19:56  
Written by Edmund Fogg on 21.10.2010 at 19:54

Written by DerRozzengarten on 21.10.2010 at 19:42

Written by Edmund Fogg on 21.10.2010 at 17:29

The melodic and clean elements are really turning me off. But it is still a great listen

Exactly the same, you expect the album to ruin your brain and then lalalala for a while and then back powah


Lol yes it feels like being crushed into a wall and stomped upon but the second later your cudling...not really a good vibe

If the album had one song out and 2-3 others were stronger, much stronger i'd be headbanging with waterproof mp3 player/speakers underwater
Marcus - 28.10.2011 at 18:26  
I really wanted to like this since the cover artwork is so nasty, but I literally couldn't find one redeeming thing about the album. Too bad.
!J.O.O.E.! - 28.10.2011 at 18:27  
Written by Marcus on 28.10.2011 at 18:26

I really wanted to like this since the cover artwork is so nasty, but I literally couldn't find one redeeming thing about the album. Too bad.

Is "nasty" one of these new fangled neologisms that means the opposite of what they imply? Like "phat" and "wicked" and "stoopid" and "sick" et cetera?
Marcus - 28.10.2011 at 18:47  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 28.10.2011 at 18:27

Written by Marcus on 28.10.2011 at 18:26

I really wanted to like this since the cover artwork is so nasty, but I literally couldn't find one redeeming thing about the album. Too bad.

Is "nasty" one of these new fangled neologisms that means the opposite of what they imply? Like "phat" and "wicked" and "stoopid" and "sick" et cetera?

You betcha. Don't forget dirty and ill as well.
!J.O.O.E.! - 28.10.2011 at 18:51  
Written by Marcus on 28.10.2011 at 18:47

You betcha. Don't forget dirty and ill as well.

"ill" - you must be kidding? That is bad. And by bad I mean bad, not good.
JD - 28.10.2011 at 20:08  
Where is Captain Jack?
Marcus - 28.10.2011 at 20:13  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 28.10.2011 at 18:51

Written by Marcus on 28.10.2011 at 18:47

You betcha. Don't forget dirty and ill as well.

"ill" - you must be kidding? That is bad. I by bad I mean bad, not good.

Bad? You're just mad that our slang in America is so much more ill than in the UK
!J.O.O.E.! - 28.10.2011 at 20:14  
Written by Marcus on 28.10.2011 at 20:13

Bad? You're just mad that our slang in America is so much more ill than in the UK

I sincerely disagree: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/British_slang
Marcus - 28.10.2011 at 20:20  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 28.10.2011 at 20:14

Written by Marcus on 28.10.2011 at 20:13

Bad? You're just mad that our slang in America is so much more ill than in the UK

I sincerely disagree: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/British_slang

While those are okay, we have http://www.urbandictionary.com/ and words like http://www.riceplate.com/rap/rap.php (Which is just from the bay area, let alone Ebonics from the rest of the country)

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Funeral Procession - Funeral Procession 3 22.05.2006 by Götter
Reviews Lacrimosa - Angst 3 16.04.2013 by 3rdWorld
Reviews Rotting Christ - Thy Mighty Contract 3 15.07.2006 by VaronoZz
Reviews Nortt - Ligfaerd 3 18.09.2006 by Götter
Reviews Enid - Munsalvaesche 3 01.11.2011 by Demonic Tutor



Hits total: 7660 | This month: 5