October Falls - A Collapse Of Faith review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
9.0

71 users:
8.42
Band: October Falls
Album: A Collapse Of Faith
Release date: April 2010


01. A Collapse Of Faith Part I
02. A Collapse Of Faith Part II
03. A Collapse Of Faith Part III


Wind, heavy rain, electromagnetism, October Falls all over the place out there and A Collapse Of Faith is more than an obligation to start whirling in here once again, in perfect harmony with the weather task outdoors. You may label the album any way you like, but the main idea is melodic black metal (this doesn't always mean commercial!) with a doom essence, a folk/ambient aura, an epic touch and pictures of rain.

The cover artwork consists of a marriage of the impenetrable forest's grandeur with the infinite sky, there where they greet one another, somewhere inbetween. This is where you will find yourself floating, in the bliss of earthly treasures and the sky's everlasting stare amidst the schemes of the flying birds. Shades of grey, everywhere, but fear not, A Collapse Of Faith is about to paint the landscape with its sound colours, darkening but warm ones, before dusk, bringing forth nostalgic, melancholic but friendly tunes to adorn your world.

Every single sound partaking in the final outcome plays its own important role and without its pressence there would be something missing. The guitars always enrich the soundscape with unuttered doses of melody, whether they sound more massive or present a more fragile side, balancing somewhere between uprising riffing, harmonic melodies and acoustic moments, escalating the emotional charge or bleakening it through a nostalgic prism. The rhythm section paces in the same way, you will find it strengthening even more the already dynamically burdened atmosphere or just hold together the compositions, even slowly drown as the ambiance vanishes its imposing vibes. Some slight keyboard ideas with a floating crescendo and some piano passages that overwhelm mind and soul along with the rain samples consist of the salt & pepper of A Collapse Of Faith and the howling shrieks entrance the falling sky so as to reach greater heights, for woe shall echo forever inside the cosmic corridors.

October Falls' A Collapse Of Faith is a fabulous album, a haunting experience of sunset and dusk colours deep in the woods as they reach for the sky, the birth and the hearse of creation.

Highlights: I, II, III, I, II, III, I, II, III ... I, II, III.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 9


 



Written on 26.10.2010 by "It is myself I have never met, whose face is pasted on the underside of my mind."


Comments

Comments: 11   Visited by: 247 users
26.10.2010 - 03:32
Kenos
Account deleted
Never heard of this band before... I'll check it out
Loading...
26.10.2010 - 06:07
Thanntos
I was not really impressed with this at all. His earlier work was his best stuff, plain neo-folk.

He tries to do almost too much within each track and it left with the songs running into each other and feeling recycled. Folk segments are good though. BM parts, too unfocused.
----
I will kill you so hard you will die to death.
Loading...
26.10.2010 - 06:46
Derwood
I don't know about the 9, but after one listen, I really enjoy the way this album ebbs and flows and it will clearly reward repeated listens. Looking forward to getting to know it better.
----
You can't fight evil with a macaroni duck!
Loading...
26.10.2010 - 08:49
shadowdragonfly1
I really enjoyed this album, great atmosphere and easy listening. I also listened to this album the same week i got the new SIG:AR:TYR, definitely 2 albums that stand out in atmosphere. Great review, your description made me remember that incredible dark and nostalgic moments of the album
Loading...
26.10.2010 - 10:15
Deadsoulman
Lemmyng
I agree with the review and the rating. This is one of my top albums of the year. Great atmosphere and great songwriting: with every listen it seems to develop extra parts so I find myself thinking "hey I didn't notice that before!".

Now I need to check the rest of their discography.
Loading...
31.10.2010 - 00:52
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
I play this album on my Zune on the way to/from work a lot. Definitely my favorite OF release thus far. Excellent album overall - couldn't agree with the review more. Nicely written!
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
02.11.2010 - 00:52
Dark Blood
The Avenger
This is a very interesting band. Great combination of styles.
Good review.
----
It is humanity who must pay homage to the greatness of the Universe... not the Universe to the human narcissism.
Loading...
10.11.2010 - 18:50
Ag Fox
Angel No More
Quite beautiful music
----
loves 小巫
Loading...
26.02.2011 - 17:19
Milena
Learning To "X"
Umm, guys, I kinda need help with this band. Just started listening to them, I liked 'The Womb Of Primordial Nature' a lot, so I'd like to know which are the more 'black metal' segments of their work and which are the more folky/atmospheric ones?
----
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."
Loading...
26.02.2011 - 22:58
VPeter
Written by Milena on 26.02.2011 at 17:19

Umm, guys, I kinda need help with this band. Just started listening to them, I liked 'The Womb Of Primordial Nature' a lot, so I'd like to know which are the more 'black metal' segments of their work and which are the more folky/atmospheric ones?

The works that have the square logo on the cover are the folky/atmospheric ones.
Loading...
27.02.2011 - 13:43
Milena
Learning To "X"
Groovie thanks.
----
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."
Loading...

Hits total: 5746 | This month: 22