Bandcamp music player

Rating:
9.0
October Falls - A Collapse Of Faith
30 April 2010


01. A Collapse Of Faith Part I
02. A Collapse Of Faith Part II
03. A Collapse Of Faith Part III


Wind, heavy rain, electromagnetism, October Falls all over the place out there and A Collapse Of Faith is more than an obligation to start whirling in here once again, in perfect harmony with the weather task outdoors. You may label the album any way you like, but the main idea is melodic black metal (this doesn't always mean commercial!) with a doom essence, a folk/ambient aura, an epic touch and pictures of rain.

The cover artwork consists of a marriage of the impenetrable forest's grandeur with the infinite sky, there where they greet one another, somewhere inbetween. This is where you will find yourself floating, in the bliss of earthly treasures and the sky's everlasting stare amidst the schemes of the flying birds. Shades of grey, everywhere, but fear not, A Collapse Of Faith is about to paint the landscape with its sound colours, darkening but warm ones, before dusk, bringing forth nostalgic, melancholic but friendly tunes to adorn your world.

Every single sound partaking in the final outcome plays its own important role and without its pressence there would be something missing. The guitars always enrich the soundscape with unuttered doses of melody, whether they sound more massive or present a more fragile side, balancing somewhere between uprising riffing, harmonic melodies and acoustic moments, escalating the emotional charge or bleakening it through a nostalgic prism. The rhythm section paces in the same way, you will find it strengthening even more the already dynamically burdened atmosphere or just hold together the compositions, even slowly drown as the ambiance vanishes its imposing vibes. Some slight keyboard ideas with a floating crescendo and some piano passages that overwhelm mind and soul along with the rain samples consist of the salt & pepper of A Collapse Of Faith and the howling shrieks entrance the falling sky so as to reach greater heights, for woe shall echo forever inside the cosmic corridors.

October Falls' A Collapse Of Faith is a fabulous album, a haunting experience of sunset and dusk colours deep in the woods as they reach for the sky, the birth and the hearse of creation.

Highlights: I, II, III, I, II, III, I, II, III ... I, II, III.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 9


Band profile: October Falls
Album: A Collapse Of Faith


 



Written on 26.10.2010 by
DerRozzengarten
"It is myself I have never met, whose face is pasted on the underside of my mind."
More reviews by DerRozzengarten ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 11  
Users visited: 241  
Search this topic:  


Kenos - 26.10.2010 at 03:32  
Never heard of this band before... I'll check it out
Thanntos - 26.10.2010 at 06:07  
I was not really impressed with this at all. His earlier work was his best stuff, plain neo-folk.

He tries to do almost too much within each track and it left with the songs running into each other and feeling recycled. Folk segments are good though. BM parts, too unfocused.
Derwood - 26.10.2010 at 06:46  
I don't know about the 9, but after one listen, I really enjoy the way this album ebbs and flows and it will clearly reward repeated listens. Looking forward to getting to know it better.
shadowdragonfly1 - 26.10.2010 at 08:49  
I really enjoyed this album, great atmosphere and easy listening. I also listened to this album the same week i got the new SIG:AR:TYR, definitely 2 albums that stand out in atmosphere. Great review, your description made me remember that incredible dark and nostalgic moments of the album
Collin - 26.10.2010 at 10:15  
I agree with the review and the rating. This is one of my top albums of the year. Great atmosphere and great songwriting: with every listen it seems to develop extra parts so I find myself thinking "hey I didn't notice that before!".

Now I need to check the rest of their discography.
Troy Killjoy - 31.10.2010 at 00:52  
I play this album on my Zune on the way to/from work a lot. Definitely my favorite OF release thus far. Excellent album overall - couldn't agree with the review more. Nicely written!
Dark Blood - 02.11.2010 at 00:52  
This is a very interesting band. Great combination of styles.
Good review.
Ag Fox - 10.11.2010 at 18:50  
Quite beautiful music
Milena - 26.02.2011 at 17:19  
Umm, guys, I kinda need help with this band. Just started listening to them, I liked 'The Womb Of Primordial Nature' a lot, so I'd like to know which are the more 'black metal' segments of their work and which are the more folky/atmospheric ones?
Pétur - 26.02.2011 at 22:58  
Written by Milena on 26.02.2011 at 17:19

Umm, guys, I kinda need help with this band. Just started listening to them, I liked 'The Womb Of Primordial Nature' a lot, so I'd like to know which are the more 'black metal' segments of their work and which are the more folky/atmospheric ones?

The works that have the square logo on the cover are the folky/atmospheric ones.
Milena - 27.02.2011 at 13:43  
Groovie thanks.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums October Falls - A Collapse Of Faith 7.5 04.04.2010 by Exhumed
Reviews October Falls - Marras Eight Hymns For Sheol And Nature 5.5 24.09.2007 by Vengeance
News October Falls - New Album Details Revealed And New Song Streaming Online 4.5 09.01.2013 by mehdi
Albums October Falls - The Plague Of A Coming Age 4.5 30.06.2011 by rekkuza-
Reviews Type O Negative - October Rust 4.5 18.06.2008 by Martin_metal



Hits total: 4793 | This month: 44