Agrypnie - 16[485] review



Reviewer:
8.5

64 users:
8.34
Band: Agrypnie
Album: 16[485]
Release date: January 2010


01. Figur 109-3
02. Der tote Trakt
03. Kadavergehorsam
04. Verfall
05. Schlaf
06. Zorn
07. F15.2
08. Morgen
09. 16[485] / Brücke aus Glas [feat. Alboîn Goldmund]
10. Figur 109-1


At the moment, while 2010 is slowly reaching its end, having looked back it's even more noticeable that 2010 has been a poor year concerning black metal, many dissapointing releases, even more not worth mentioning, one country though, Germany, has managed to keep the banners of the genre at high peaks. Agrypnie, alongside Dark Fortress and Imperium Dekadenz, stand with utter pride with their third release to date, 16[485].

Despite its 73 minutes of duration which is apparently very long concerning black metal and may seem as if it would tire the listener, 16[485] is a pretty solid release filled with power, introvert moments, melody, even an epic sense of grandeur at times, never forgetting to preserve the sound aesthetics of the scene in its modern aspect. The main core of interest lies in the guitar work, the drumming and the vocals. René Schott's interpretation on drums & percussion is a raging beast that never fails to find its beautiful side whenever the tempo slows down and the atmosphere is being filtered through prisms of melancholy, or just grey colours, the choice is yours, it's almost the same to me.

Creative drumming that simply can't lose its course alongside lurking bass lines is the key to well-structured black metal with a production that compliments the compositions rather than ruin them. But this is just the tight foundation, the body has to be the guitars with their multifaceted expression ranging from static, fierce ideas to sharp railway riffing that tears the whole structure apart just to rebuild it in awe, with a heavier perspective at times and without forgetting to present melodious moments that adorn the overall soundscape with diversity. Well, the breath has to be the simplistic but spot-on keyboard lines that float whenever needed and entrance the ambiance and as for the soul of 16[485], Torsten's boiling shrieks are remarkable and set sail upon the instrumentation waves in the most appropriate way.

Fear not, 16[485] may be lengthy, it may consist of 10 compositions of which most of them surpass the seven minutes, yet it's far from being called monotonous and/or tiring, Agrypnie (lack of sleep or vigil in Hellenic language) managed to present one of the most fabulous black metal works for 2010. The light that slowly fades in the distance extends its hand, make sure it reaches your own.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 10
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 9


 



Written on 04.11.2010 by "It is myself I have never met, whose face is pasted on the underside of my mind."


Comments

Comments: 12   Visited by: 162 users
04.11.2010 - 22:03
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Didn't you review this is already? And I commented saying something like "apparently I like this coz I gave it an 8 but I don't remember it" or something O.o
Loading...
04.11.2010 - 22:10
DerRozzengarten
Odysseus
This one was on Imperium Dekadenz's 2010 album GI !J.O.O.E!
----
Dec. 30, 1334.

...And the whiskey and wine entered our veins when blood was too weak to carry on.
Loading...
04.11.2010 - 22:17
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
I'm getting too old to remember all this...
Loading...
04.11.2010 - 22:19
DerRozzengarten
Odysseus
...no you're not, it's just the alcohol-dead braincells we inherited all these years that make us think we've grown old
----
Dec. 30, 1334.

...And the whiskey and wine entered our veins when blood was too weak to carry on.
Loading...
04.11.2010 - 22:24
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Well lets hope so. In the mean time black metal bands need to start coming up with more unusual sounding names.
Loading...
04.11.2010 - 22:31
DerRozzengarten
Odysseus
Indeed, it's an obligation!
----
Dec. 30, 1334.

...And the whiskey and wine entered our veins when blood was too weak to carry on.
Loading...
06.11.2010 - 02:51
Odium
Now, this is a good band. I never heard the new release, it's a must.
Loading...
06.11.2010 - 15:36
InnerSelf
proofread free
This is one heck of a release and a great review . I definitely agree with th 10 on performance and especially the drums , it is one of those performances that I will never forget "along side the drumming on Mastodon's Remission and Mayhem's Ordo Ad Chao"
----
He who is not bold enough
to be stared at from across the abyss
is not bold enough
to stare into it himself.
Loading...
03.01.2011 - 21:12
Darkside Momo
Retired
In discovering it right now, and I'm really pleasantly surprised... A very good album indeed!
----

"You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you" - Ray Bradbury

"I've lost too many years now
I'm stealing back my soul
I'm awake now"
Abney Park (Letter Between A Little Boy & Himself As An Adult)
Loading...
06.01.2011 - 01:04
Susan
Smeghead
The end of the year is always such a push to hear a thousand new albums at once, but on the suggestion of Seb and several others I gave this one a try. Your review seems quite accurate (though I disagree that it was a bad year for metal ), it's a little long, but the music is so interesting and creative that the length doesn't matter too much. After cramming so much new music into my ear over such a short period of time, it's refreshing to hear bands like this that go their own way and make great music that doesn't quite fit into one box or the other.
----
"A life all mine
Is what I choose
At the end of my days"
--The Gathering "A Life All Mine" from Souvenirs
Loading...
01.02.2011 - 03:13
MétalNoir
Fils du Lys
Sounds like a BM version of Be'Lakor, that is, it sounds great!
----
Notre destinée n'est pas encore tracée....
Loading...
10.02.2011 - 15:56
MétalNoir
Fils du Lys
Written by Guest on 01.02.2011 at 21:17

...with the exception of Be'lakor songwrites sensible bridges/passages and handle successfully the whole concept, which involves many good riffs.

Nice riffs in this album too, but i really think there's too many riffs fighting for attention and leaving no space for depth.

I don't mean Agrypnie is as good as Be'Lakor, of course not, but the pace, the melancholy and some songs like "Der Tote Trakt" and "Schlaf" have something that reminds me of the Australian combo. Agrypnie can write neat riffs, but on the whole, these hardly get over "good".
----
Notre destinée n'est pas encore tracée....
Loading...

Hits total: 4540 | This month: 12