Accept - Blood Of The Nations review



Reviewer:
9.7

473 users:
8.60
Band: Accept
Album: Blood Of The Nations
Release date: August 2010


01. Beat The Bastards
02. Teutonic Terror
03. The Abyss
04. Blood Of The Nations
05. Shades Of Death
06. Locked And Loaded
07. Kill The Pain
08. Rollin Thunder
09. Pandemic
10. New World Comin'
11. No Shelter
12. Bucketful Of Hate
13. Time Machine [bonus]
14. Land Of The Free [bonus]


As you may have heard if you have any interest in Accept whatsoever, Udo doesn't participate in this latest incarnation of the band, but fear not, as you are to be treated with extremely similar vocals (with a hint of Rob Halford and an American accent) from Mark Tornillo, a former vocalist for an unknown band called TT Quick.

Let's get to the album itself though. The first thing you (should) notice once the first track is over is that Accept are back with a vengeance. The sound is beyond excellent, with every instrument clearly audible. Wolf Hoffman opens his riff-cellar wide and offers us some rare 1982 Essen Sauvignon Blanc's which are sure to please the tastebuds of every classic metal taster.

Fast, angry tracks like "Beat the Bastards," "Locked and Loaded" or "No Shelter" will surely remind the listener of certain songs from the early 80s comparing murderers to predatory fish and referencing bicycle parts. Epics like the first track that was unleashed on the internet ("The Abyss") or "Shades of Death" are there to get the heads in a steady forward-backward motion, with some incredible vocal performances from Tornillo and mind-blowing soloing by something that I can only believe is God disguised as Wolf Hoffman. All these tracks are actually chock-filled with the most awesome riffs ever spawned from Wolf's mind probably since the days of Metal Heart and maybe Objection Overruled.

The single "Teutonic Terror" might just be the best track on here, and easily arises to the level of the 80s greats, and will most probably be a great addition to Accept's live setlists in the future. There are also midpaced heavy epic singalong songs to keep the juices flowing and the throats sore.

The tone of the album is much, much darker and more mature than your usual Accept album, especially in the lyrics department, so don't expect happy sing-alongs and the like. Everything here is pissed off and angry, except for "Kill the Pain" which is the album's ballad, a role it fulfills easily, and "New World Comin'" which is probably the least pissed-off of the tracks. Did I mention the album is consistent like a giant slab of concrete, with only 1-2 tracks that could be only slightly classified as filler? Oh wait, I just did!

So there you go, 72 incredibly consistent minutes of classic metal bonanza. If you even like only 1 song by Accept, get this album, you will not regret it.

PS: Yes, I know what you were going to write, "boo hoo it's not Accept without Udo!" shut up. This album is awesome and that's the end of the story. Listen to it and you'll say I'm right because let's face it, I'm always right.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 9
Production: 10

Written by Valentin B | 20.11.2010


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.


Comments

Comments: 10   Visited by: 236 users
20.11.2010 - 19:16
Jan
Agreed - great album and perhaps the best surprise of 2010. I would probably give it a solid 9.

Accept is back - hopefully they have a few more good albums in them.
Loading...
20.11.2010 - 20:18
vezzy
Stallmanite
It's a decent classic metal album, but nothing that I found truly interesting. I'd give it a 7.
----
Licensed under the GPLv3.
Relinquish proprietary software for a greater GNU/America.
Loading...
20.11.2010 - 21:06
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
A good solid album but way too long. Had tehy ekept it to 50 max it would have landed that punch harder.
A 9.7? Tha would mean it is a classic. But sorryto say it doesn't come close to the Accept classics Breaker, Rwstless & Wild and Metal Heart.
Would personally rate it a 7.3 had it been 50 minutes max it would be an 8
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
20.11.2010 - 21:22
Angelic Storm
Melodious
I dont think there are quite enough truly great songs on this one to call it a classic Accept album. However, the tracks that really shine, are definitely classic Accept songs, and worthy of being placed amongst their all time best stuff. And without Udo, that is truly an achievement! "Beat The Bastards" is a stunning opener, and classic Accept to the max! \m/ Mark Tornillo's voice is tailor made for the band, and its mainly for this reason that the album is able to succeed without Udo. Other tracks like the surging crusher "Locked And Loaded" and the anthems "Teutonic Terror" and the title track, really is old school style Accept at it's very best. xD

9.7 is slightly too high for me, as it could have done with a couple of fillers being discarded IMO. But still, the album's overall quality really surprised me, and if it wasnt for Forbidden's awesome comeback album "Omega Wave", Accept would have sown up the comeback of the year prize for me. Great to have them back, and still sounding so great after all these years. And nice review!
Loading...
29.11.2010 - 13:32
Daniell
_爱情_
Quote:
Listen to it and you'll say I'm right because let's face it, I'm always right.


This doesn't work as a joke
----
Now loving:
Hour of Penance - Cast the First Stone
Hate - Indestructible Pillar
Cradle of Filth - Heartbreak and Seance
Dark Tranquillity - Nothing To No One
Immolation - Swarm of Terror
Loading...
29.11.2010 - 13:34
vezzy
Stallmanite
Quick! It's the elitist persecution squad! Run!
----
Licensed under the GPLv3.
Relinquish proprietary software for a greater GNU/America.
Loading...
07.12.2010 - 20:57
Battlelord
This is actually a very good album, better than what I expected to be honest. I wouldn't go as far a 9.7 though, more like an 8 I would say personally. Cool review man, I enjoyed it.
----
I see the fear you have inside, you can run but never hide
I will hunt you down and tear you limb from limb
Nothing shall remain, not your memory, your name
It will be as though you never, ever lived
Loading...
06.01.2011 - 13:05
jimmy
Fantastic album all around. even the so called 'filler tracks' rock harder than most of the tracks on other albums nowadays. honestly i think this album is better than BREAKER and their much older stuff. (meaning their first few albums) this one is a killer. and yeah, i do think it deserves the rating it got. great guitars, great vocals, amazing production, KILLER ALBUM!! fuck udo if he didnt want to play, i really dont give a shit. this is one band that got it right when they replaced the lead singer. tornillo is a beast and he fits accept perfectly. i'm hoing they have another 3, 4, 5, albums left in them with this lineup.
comeback album of the year for sure. no bout a doubt it.
ELITISTS BE DAMNED!!
Loading...
31.03.2011 - 21:02
Destructo
This album brought a huge smile back on my face in a long long time !!!! It's Old-school and it's magic. Takes us all back to a simpler and lovelier time !!! Aaaahhhh.....
Loading...
25.12.2013 - 18:51
Gjulch
Nice album and review!
Loading...

Hits total: 6513 | This month: 21