Rating:
9.5
Sentenced - The Cold White Light
13 May 2002


01. Konevitsan Kirkonkellot
02. Cross My Heart And Hope To Die
03. Brief Is The Light
04. Neverlasting
05. Aika Multaa Muistot (Everything Is Nothing)
06. Excuse Me While I Kill Myself
07. Blood & Tears
08. You Are The One
09. Guilt And Regret
10. The Luxury Of A Grave
11. No One There
12. Killing Me Killing You [Limited Edition bonus]


As you can probably guess by the album title itself and some of the song names such as "Cross My Heart And Hope To Die" and "Excuse Me While I Kill Myself" that this is a melancholic, sorrowful and depressive album. And this is exactly how Sentenced want the listener to feel while being pulled into their world of cold, dark and nothingness.

The Cold White Light is the band's 7th studio album and is their tightest and most strongly produced album to date and this is evident from the start. The songs, unlike on their previous albums are all very strong and fit together in such a perfect and very beautiful way that only the Finns could achieve with such high quality. The sound and production job on this album is simply amazing, and this gives all of the songs such a beautiful and melancholic sound, each different to the last and the next to come.

The album starts off with "Konevitsan Kirkonkellot" an instrumental intro with some spooky sounds in the background and then its time for Sentenced to really show what they are made of with "Cross My Heart And Hope To Die" one of the best songs on this album. Beautiful vocals from Ville and awesome guitars make this one hell of a song. Another thing I noticed is how strong the drumming is on this album also, it just has such a powerful feel and adds much to songs like "Cross My Heart And Hope To Die."

The next 3 songs "Brief Is The Light" "Neverlasting" and "Aika Multaa Muistot (Everything Is Nothing)" are all simply amazing and are just so tight, but then its time for another of my favourites from this album.
"Excuse Me While I Kill Myself" is an instant Finnish classic. The awesome vocals, the driving guitars of Miika and Sami and lyrics that only Finns could write. I love it.

The rest of the album from there is just as tight as the first half and to single out certain tracks would be wrong because every song on this album is simply perfect. I recommend this album to anyone who likes Finnish metal but who also wants an album that is musically and production wise very then this is the one for you, just like with me.


Band profile: Sentenced
Album: The Cold White Light


 


written by James Woods | 09.03.2005


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 13  
Users visited: 160  
Search this topic:  


Legacy_Of_Kings - 21.05.2006 at 20:35  
You can say that you dont like any album, and I wont be angry.. But if you say you dont like this album.. I don't know what i should do.. Just listen to No One There..

Sentenced <3
Jay - 01.06.2006 at 17:59  
This album really rocks! I think this is the best Sentenced album, every single song in this album is great. Sound, lyrics, melodies, everything in this album is great!
Vranalalalalala - 01.06.2006 at 19:14  
My favourite album! You just have to love it! Great, deep lyrics, vocals are just amaizing, songs make you feel so...special.
Bulus - 01.06.2006 at 20:07  
the luxury of a grave is teh best song in this album
abysss - 10.07.2006 at 00:02  
There are so many great song on this album:

Neverlasting
No One There
Cross My Heart
Luxury Of the grave
Guilt & Regret
Brief Is The Light
Blood And Tears

To name the best IMO.

...But why the hell did they have to make such an AWFULL outro, god If there is something I cannot stand is this outro...
On such a beautifull song, It's a crime, I understand that is a deeper meaning behind that but anyway It's unlistenable.

I'd give this album an 8.5 just for the outro :/
iaberis - 23.07.2006 at 17:10  
Yeah the outro sucks! But the rest album is excellent! Sentenced improve their selves every time with a new album, even better than their last.
Hey abysss, do you what I did to the outro? I cut it with Adobe Audition and threw it away, so every time I listen to this song, it doesn't have it!! I always modify any song if it has something stupid like that... I don't have to say anything else... all writers above done it for me.
Angelrot - 22.11.2006 at 19:17  
Haha the outro!!

Yeh well the songs all sad and emotional..then secconds later that wierd dying duck sound just snapps you right out of your state of mind.

God I've woken up startled to that so many times having gone to sleep with this brillent album on.

Definetly My favorate by far. Also the first one I heard.

First loves never truley die. Not in terms of music anyway.

Great review.
Shadeweaver - 25.09.2007 at 02:30  
Wow!!!!!

this is just amazing... depresive but heavy.... the best of sentenced far.
Unluckily they're gone.
ThunderAxe1989 - 06.10.2007 at 03:17  
It is easily their best, no question! I don't usually like depressive bands, but these guys are so convincing about it. Sometimes they are even fun, songs like "Excuse Me While I Kill Myself" and "The Luxury Of The Grave" have humour to them and they actually kind ov cheer me up in a weird way when I hear them . The album is soooo powerful! Great to listen to if you're depressed so it calms you down a bit, but not great to listen to if you are 'impressionable' at all. I don't really like "Cross My Heart And Hope To Die" though.........this album slays!
+{Jonas}+ - 11.02.2008 at 23:13  
Kickass album, as usual with that depresive feeling that only Sentenced delivers
ioannisk - 25.07.2008 at 19:41  
EVERY SINGLE TRACK OF THIS ALBUM COULD BE IN A SINGLE! ALL OF THEM ARE SMALL DIAMONDS! ONE OF THE BEST ALBUMS (IF NOT THE BEST) OF ITS GENRE!
Deadmeat - 14.05.2009 at 16:52  
Great album from sentenced!!!!! maybe their best!!!!
Surion - 11.05.2011 at 08:47  
This is probably the best album ever (IMO), every song is perfect! I found no flaw in them (well..obviously the outro is fucking disturbing but in a strange way fits for me), Ville has a unique voice that blends beautifully with the music...simply perfect, there's no better adjective for this album (and overall for the band IMO)

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Sentenced - The Cold White Light 9 01.01.2010 by
Reviews Woods Of Ypres - Against The Seasons: Cold Winter Songs From The Dead Summer Heat 5.5 08.03.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Cold Body Radiation - The Great White Emptiness 5.5 15.09.2010 by spirit_inblack
Albums Woods Of Ypres - Against The Seasons: Cold Winter Songs From The Dead Summer Heat 4.5 05.03.2012 by BoxCar Willy
Reviews Catamenia - Bringing The Cold To Poland 4 13.01.2007 by BestMetalstormer



Hits total: 6064 | This month: 53