Rating:
8.0
Murmuüre - Murmuüre
March 2010


01. Primo Vere
02. Reincarnate
03. Torch Bearer
04. Amethyst
05. L'Adieu Au Soleil
06. Disincarnate


Tape limited to 100 copies. Re-released in 2010 on CD limited to 500 copies by Paradigms Recordings.


A while back, I heard myself complaining to someone that I hadn't found any unique and cool Black metal in a while. I just couldn't find anything interesting for a while and that freaked me out. Where were all the cool releases off to? A party I wasn't invited to? But suddenly it struck me - I hadn't ordered from Paradigms Recordings in a while! Foolish, foolish me! If there's one label (there are more, but PR is a good example) that always releases unique stuff, it's Paradigms Recordings. (I'm not getting paid for this shameless plug, unfortunately). Whatever they release, on whatever side of their broad spectrum, you can bet your mother on it that it's either mind-blowing, flabbergasting or virtually inconceivable. (Unless you're trying to get rid of your mother, in that case, you're better off betting Dimmu Borgir won't cover Justin Bieber on their next release. It's more likely, I tell you. Actually, I think that's more likely than a lot of things.)

Murmuüre is Black metal made by aliens. If you're thinking of Oranssi Pazuzu now, you're wrong. These aren't cosmo-cruising, acid-dropping space-hippies grooving to an esoteric form of Black metal. If you're thinking of Mars On Earth, you're getting closer, but still lightyears away. These aren't martians on a brief visit, delivering a message of bleak, industrial decay (with old school Nintendo-styled blips and bleeps, of course). If you're thinking of Chaos Moon, you're even closer, but (you guessed it) still not spot on.

Murmuüre is Black metal made by aliens, aliens wholly inconceivable to our earthly paradigms. Shapeshifters, to our eyes distorted creatures, carrying an indescribable aura of both malice and redemption. Harsh, harsh Black noise alternates with colourless, infinite vistas of emptiness: moments of faint recognition are lost within waves of uncertainty. Am I pretentious enough for you at this point? Good. Truth is, Murmuüre is a mixed bag of (I've said it before) empty synthesizers, deep cosmic roars and flat, harsh noise. Plus crystal clear bells, buzzing mosquitoes and plenty more weird shenanigans. Cool beans, eh?

It's a Paradigms Recordings release in their true style: something unheard, something wholly estranging and something you really have to hear for yourself. Their releases aren't a guaranteed hit, but they're a guaranteed surprise and perhaps that's even better.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 9
Production: 8


 



Written on 21.01.2011 by
Lucas
If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.
More reviews by Lucas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 33  
Users visited: 202  
Search this topic:  


Dane Train - 21.01.2011 at 23:24  
As much as I don't care for Black Metal, this review makes me want to check it out. Lucas, this is a top notch review.
Mr. Doctor - 21.01.2011 at 23:45  
I've never seen so much asskissing in your reviews Lucas

But getting serious now: interesting sound indeed!

Written by Dane Train on 21.01.2011 at 23:24

As much as I don't care for Black Metal, this review makes me want to check it out. Lucas, this is a top notch review.


I can barely call this stuff Black Metal though.... For me it's just a sort of Noise with a tiny bit of Black Metal. That doesn't stop it from being intresting though
Ag Fox - 21.01.2011 at 23:45  
Now that you mentioned Chaos Moon, I am checking it out. Been missing your hilarious reviews of hidden gems (=
Dane Train - 21.01.2011 at 23:48  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 21.01.2011 at 23:45

I've never seen so much asskissing in your reviews Lucas

But getting serious now: interesting sound indeed!

Written by Dane Train on 21.01.2011 at 23:24

As much as I don't care for Black Metal, this review makes me want to check it out. Lucas, this is a top notch review.


I can barely call this stuff Black Metal though.... For me it's just a sort of Noise with a tiny bit of Black Metal. That doesn't stop it from being intresting though


Sounds like something I would really get into. I mean my music of today: Ufomammut, Om, Grand Magnus, Sunn O))), Earth, Boris, and Ashen Mortality. So I am into noisy stuff.
Troy Killjoy - 22.01.2011 at 03:06  
I'm going to give this a try as soon as I can. I'm more or less interested in the noise factor - it's a genre I've been trying to grow accustomed to but finding it rather difficult.
!J.O.O.E.! - 22.01.2011 at 13:40  
Sweet. Yeah I love this. It's odd though, in so many ways this really isn't black metal but in all the important ways it can only be classified as black metal. I think the noise in this record is defined as something that's just very odd to the ear, rather than endless feedback, but again calling it noise makes a kind of sense that seems natural.

Fucken' a for ambiguity.
!J.O.O.E.! - 22.01.2011 at 14:06  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 21.01.2011 at 23:45


I can barely call this stuff Black Metal though.... For me it's just a sort of Noise with a tiny bit of Black Metal. That doesn't stop it from being intresting though

The thing is though it isn't really noise, noise is shapeless relentless feedback. There aren't any points where the listener is overwhelmed by static sounds. This record has structure, even melody at many points and sections that could be described as noise, paradoxically. It doesn't conform to a lot of black metal paradigms but somehow shunting it into the black metal genre seems to fit it quite well I'd say. It could probably create its own personal genre though if one was inclined to.
!J.O.O.E.! - 22.01.2011 at 14:19  
Also: what's the opening bit from, those notes repeated three times? I'm sure it's from a TV series or something.
Lucas - 22.01.2011 at 14:22  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 22.01.2011 at 13:40

...


Dude, get your act together and start reviewing more often. Now!
!J.O.O.E.! - 22.01.2011 at 14:24  
Written by Lucas on 22.01.2011 at 14:22

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 22.01.2011 at 13:40

...


Dude, get your act together and start reviewing more often. Now!

Yeah I know I've been shite the past few months. It's hard to balance uni work which just tires me out mentally on a daily basis and getting motivated to review stuff. I can't even find the time to find things to review.
Mr. Doctor - 22.01.2011 at 17:48  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 22.01.2011 at 14:06

The thing is though it isn't really noise, noise is shapeless relentless feedback. There aren't any points where the listener is overwhelmed by static sounds. This record has structure, even melody at many points and sections that could be described as noise, paradoxically. It doesn't conform to a lot of black metal paradigms but somehow shunting it into the black metal genre seems to fit it quite well I'd say. It could probably create its own personal genre though if one was inclined to.


I perfectly understand and agree with what you say. But I feel like it's better to call this Noise than Black Metal because I really don't see too much Black metal here... not even metal. That's whyt the opening lines seems really misleading to me.
Yojimbo - 23.01.2011 at 20:39  
I've listened to a couple songs on youtube and enjoy it a lot. Where can I get this album?
Lucas - 23.01.2011 at 20:47  
Written by Yojimbo on 23.01.2011 at 20:39

I've listened to a couple songs on youtube and enjoy it a lot. Where can I get this album?


Are you trying to troll me? The Paradigms Recordings website.
Bigpaul - 24.01.2011 at 15:32  
Just listened to it on thier website, reminds me of The Angelic Process in places. Tracks 2 & 4 are very impressive.
Mikyz - 24.01.2011 at 20:25  
Thanks for this, I hadn't heard of this album before reading this, It was an impressive experience and this isn't coming from a big fan of noise music, the esoteric mood managed to pull me in and give me a series of mental orgasms. I can't really explain it in words, it was something new for me. I'm glad I read the review. I also think that this is unmistakably Avant-Garde mixed in with some noise, post-rock and Black Metal, the mood it sets is similar to Alcest but with a more disturbing feel to it, the Dark side of Alcest or something.
BitterCOld - 24.01.2011 at 20:59  
Consider me intrigued.
Ag Fox - 25.01.2011 at 14:47  
Just listened to it. I think my favourite is the last track. Definitely one of those albums that needs a few more spins. Thanks for the review
Ausgebombt - 26.01.2011 at 19:04  
Can only describe emotions with "WOW".

This is truely amazing, I've listened to a couple of the tracks and it's a magnificent journey so far.

As I'm a newby to this kinda music, could anyone suggest similar hearings?
Would appreciate.

Many thanks for the review.
!J.O.O.E.! - 21.04.2011 at 21:32  
"The 30 minutes long, self-titled release is possibly the first and last Murmuüre record.
I've put so much in it that it will be hard to match, and there would be no point in doing something more just for the sake of it."


Sad times.
InnerSelf - 05.11.2011 at 14:59  
This review skipped my attention and it is now that I stumbled upon it. I will be checking this out as soon as possible
awesome review
!J.O.O.E.! - 05.11.2011 at 15:49  
Written by InnerSelf on 05.11.2011 at 14:59

This review skipped my attention and it is now that I stumbled upon it. I will be checking this out as soon as possible
awesome review

You're in for a treat. This little album is beyond immense.
Troy Killjoy - 05.11.2011 at 22:51  
Quote:
I'm going to give this a try as soon as I can. I'm more or less interested in the noise factor - it's a genre I've been trying to grow accustomed to but finding it rather difficult.

Can you believe I haven't checked this out yet? That quote was from fucking January. Yeesh.
Mr. Doctor - 06.11.2011 at 13:06  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 05.11.2011 at 22:51

Quote:
I'm going to give this a try as soon as I can. I'm more or less interested in the noise factor - it's a genre I've been trying to grow accustomed to but finding it rather difficult.

Can you believe I haven't checked this out yet? That quote was from fucking January. Yeesh.


Shit Troy, get it together!
!J.O.O.E.! - 06.11.2011 at 13:30  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 05.11.2011 at 22:51

Quote:
I'm going to give this a try as soon as I can. I'm more or less interested in the noise factor - it's a genre I've been trying to grow accustomed to but finding it rather difficult.

Can you believe I haven't checked this out yet? That quote was from fucking January. Yeesh.

I think there's a good chance you'll like it. This isn't noise black metal (or really even black metal), it's not especially harsh or difficult to listen to. It's just somewhat strange and unorthodox.
Troy Killjoy - 06.11.2011 at 19:18  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 06.11.2011 at 13:30
I think there's a good chance you'll like it.

I think there's a good chance I'll like it to, especially considering everything I've read about it. It just seems like one of those albums that takes forever for me to listen to for no reason other than I'm too lazy to check it out.
Mr. Doctor - 06.11.2011 at 21:20  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 06.11.2011 at 19:18

It just seems like one of those albums that takes forever for me to listen to for no reason other than I'm too lazy to check it out.


Without mention the album being barely 30 minutes long
Troy Killjoy - 06.11.2011 at 21:21  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 06.11.2011 at 21:20
Without mention the album being barely 30 minutes long

Exactly, right? That should be a big draw...like hey, stfu and go listen to it already, it'll only take you half-an-hour and you'll be thankful you did.

Maybe tonight. Or tomorrow night. Definitely this week.
Mr. Doctor - 06.11.2011 at 21:24  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 06.11.2011 at 21:21
Maybe tonight. Or tomorrow night. Definitely this week.


I'm calling bullshit here Troy... You'll have that album for New Year's resolutions
InnerSelf - 06.11.2011 at 23:39  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 05.11.2011 at 15:49

Written by InnerSelf on 05.11.2011 at 14:59

This review skipped my attention and it is now that I stumbled upon it. I will be checking this out as soon as possible
awesome review

You're in for a treat. This little album is beyond immense.


If it wasn't for that secret BM albums thread I would've never discovered this brilliant gem. the kind of borderline noise stuff that I immensely enjoy

Credits of : Mr.Doctor and Lucas
Mr. Doctor - 07.11.2011 at 17:48  
Written by InnerSelf on 06.11.2011 at 23:39

If it wasn't for that secret BM albums thread I would've never discovered this brilliant gem.


You're welcome
InnerSelf - 07.11.2011 at 19:40  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 07.11.2011 at 17:48

You're welcome


better now ?
Mr. Doctor - 07.11.2011 at 19:45  
Written by InnerSelf on 07.11.2011 at 19:40

Written by Mr. Doctor on 07.11.2011 at 17:48

You're welcome


better now ?


Yeah, I feel all fuzzy inside.
Krankheit - 25.11.2011 at 16:24  
"Black metal made by aliens"

I truly believe that after listening to this album!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Agrypnie - Exit 3 30.06.2010 by lord artan
Reviews Deathspell Omega - Paracletus 3 11.11.2010 by !J.O.O.E.!
Albums Murmuüre - Murmuüre 3 31.05.2011 by (((O)))
Reviews Shadar Logoth - Curse 3 03.12.2008 by ArcesseEum
Reviews Den Saakaldte - Øl, Mørke Og Depresjon 3 12.04.2010 by Mr. Doctor



Hits total: 4370 | This month: 25