Rating:
N/A
Accept - Restless And Wild
1982


01. Fast As A Shark
02. Restless And Wild
03. Ahead Of The Pack
04. Shake Your Heads
05. Neon Nights
06. Get Ready
07. Demon's Night
08. Flash Rockin' Man
09. Don't Go Stealing My Soul Away
10. Princess Of The Dawn


Accept are back after their 1981 release Breaker, this time with a far more mature and highly influential album. It is an undeniable classic, although slightly flawed when viewed as a whole, something which I will explain later. The sound you should expect here would be a typical 80s production: prominent guitars and vocals; difficult to hear bass; a few samples; and some quirky, stringent, clean-electric and acoustic guitar passages here and there.

The intro of the first track on Restless and Wild is as cheesy as it is memorable once you've heard it. After Udo makes it clear we are actually listening to a metal record, the speakers and brains alike explode when the heaviest, catchiest, fastest, most over the top song Accept ever wrote begins its assault on the eardrums. I'm talking about the infamous "Fast as a Shark." It features a great sing-along chorus, horrifically heavy riffs, drum work that screams Thrash Metal in a time before Lars Ulrich even knew how to play drums (wait, that didn't sound right) and a blistering solo that will continue leaving boots up people's asses and jaws on the floor for the foreseeable future.

The momentum mostly keeps up in the title track, which features some galloping riffs but slows down the tempo a bit. Unfortunately for the whole feel of the album, the bar was set impossibly high with the first track, and there are few albums that can maintain such great quality from start to finish. Fortunately we have the dramatic ballad "Neon Nights" that saves the mood while showcasing maturity in songwriting, after which the fury of "Demon's Night" and cheesy aesthetics of "Flash Rockin' Man" get things back on track somewhat.

A short dip in the treacherous waters of Arena Rock later, the album faces its inevitable end, which comes in the form of the epic "Princess of the Dawn." This is where the band's musical growth can be heard most evidently. They throw aside for a while the 3 minute rockers with laughable lyrics and focus on a journey through typically 80s dark fantasy territory, with great success. The rhythm flows uninterrupted through 6 minutes and 16 seconds of top notch mid-paced heavy metal and through many a passage that have become, over the years, excellent live fist-pumping and sing-along material, ending the album almost on the same high note that it started on.

Just like the year before, Accept shows with their 4th album that when they step on the gas pedal and crank the distortion to dangerously high levels, they know what they're doing. It is also evident that they were experimenting with a more eclectic, epic side to their sound, a trend that would not follow in the years to come, unfortunately. This makes the album stand out in the 80s discography of the band as an adventurous and mature release that kick started their 3-year long 80s golden age.


Band profile: Accept
Album: Restless And Wild


 


written by Valentin B | 24.01.2011


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 12  
Users visited: 57  
Search this topic:  


Marcel Hubregtse - 24.01.2011 at 15:15  
Accept's best album.
Valentin B - 02.02.2011 at 00:29  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 24.01.2011 at 15:15

Accept's best album.

you never miss an opportunity to state that, do you?

i wouldn't call it Accept's best, but it certainly does kick ass and (i know what you'll reply to this though) Fast as a Shark is one of the first real Thrash songs ever written.

did you listen to this "back in the day"?
Marcel Hubregtse - 02.02.2011 at 08:28  
Written by Valentin B on 02.02.2011 at 00:29

did you listen to this "back in the day"?


What was my first ever concert in June 1983?

Mercyful Fate, Trance, Vandenberg, Raven, Accept...

I thught you would remember that line-up
Angelic Storm - 02.02.2011 at 12:27  
The harmony solo in "Fast As A Shark" was a huge influence on Helloween and early melodic speed metal. That is very evident. xD

This a great album, and definitely a classic! Nice review too.
Valentin B - 03.02.2011 at 15:17  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 02.02.2011 at 08:28

Written by Valentin B on 02.02.2011 at 00:29

did you listen to this "back in the day"?


What was my first ever concert in June 1983?

Mercyful Fate, Trance, Vandenberg, Raven, Accept...

I thught you would remember that line-up

don't make me destroy you though to be honest i've never actually listened to Trance or Vandenberg
Cuca Beludo - 24.09.2012 at 19:24  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 24.01.2011 at 15:15

Accept's best album.


Balls to the Walls was ten times better.
Marcel Hubregtse - 24.09.2012 at 19:38  
Written by Guest on 24.09.2012 at 19:24

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 24.01.2011 at 15:15

Accept's best album.


Balls to the Walls was ten times better.


Absolutley not, doesn't even come close in quality to restless & Wild
Cuca Beludo - 24.09.2012 at 19:42  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 24.09.2012 at 19:38

Written by Guest on 24.09.2012 at 19:24

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 24.01.2011 at 15:15

Accept's best album.


Balls to the Walls was ten times better.


Absolutley not, doesn't even come close in quality to restless & Wild


Well, Balls To The Wall has more variety and the production is better.
I find this album a bt overrated 'cause it has one of accept's most influential song, Fast as a Shark.
Marcel Hubregtse - 24.09.2012 at 20:06  
Written by Guest on 24.09.2012 at 19:42


Well, Balls To The Wall has more variety and the production is better.



My problem with the production on Balls is that is too slick, they lost the raw edge it had. As or variety, I would say both are as varied as each other.


Quote:

I find this album a bt overrated 'cause it has one of accept's most influential song, Fast as a Shark.


Princess Of The Dawn is also superior to anything on Balls as is Neon Nights. Plus R&W doesn't have anything as terrible as London Leatherboys
Cuca Beludo - 26.09.2012 at 18:47  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 24.09.2012 at 20:06

Princess Of The Dawn is superior to anything on Balls as is Neon Nights. Plus R&W doesn't have anything as terrible as London Leatherboys


Well, you picked the two best songs of the album and also two songs that sounds different from the rest of the album , aside from "Fast as a Shark". Still, Balls to the Wall has better songs, in my opinion: Fight it Back, Winter Dreams, Love Child, Heads over Heels, Losing More Than You Ever Had and... the title track. And what about the track "Don't go stealing my soul away"?? Terrible as "London Leatherboys", right??

And hm.... what do you think about Metal Heart? Its production is even slick than Balls to the wall, by the way.
Marcel Hubregtse - 26.09.2012 at 19:09  
Written by Guest on 26.09.2012 at 18:47

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 24.09.2012 at 20:06

Princess Of The Dawn is superior to anything on Balls as is Neon Nights. Plus R&W doesn't have anything as terrible as London Leatherboys


Well, you picked the two best songs of the album and also two songs that sounds different from the rest of the album , aside from "Fast as a Shark". Still, Balls to the Wall has better songs, in my opinion: Fight it Back, Winter Dreams, Love Child, Heads over Heels, Losing More Than You Ever Had and... the title track. And what about the track "Don't go stealing my soul away"?? Terrible as "London Leatherboys", right??

And hm.... what do you think about Metal Heart? Its production is even slick than Balls to the wall, by the way.


DOn't Go Stealing Stealing My SOul Away is superior to the gay anthem London Leatherboys.

Metal heart I rate lower than Balls To The Wall BttW 7 and MH 6.
Cuca Beludo - 26.09.2012 at 19:13  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 26.09.2012 at 19:09

Written by Guest on 26.09.2012 at 18:47

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 24.09.2012 at 20:06

Princess Of The Dawn is superior to anything on Balls as is Neon Nights. Plus R&W doesn't have anything as terrible as London Leatherboys


Well, you picked the two best songs of the album and also two songs that sounds different from the rest of the album , aside from "Fast as a Shark". Still, Balls to the Wall has better songs, in my opinion: Fight it Back, Winter Dreams, Love Child, Heads over Heels, Losing More Than You Ever Had and... the title track. And what about the track "Don't go stealing my soul away"?? Terrible as "London Leatherboys", right??

And hm.... what do you think about Metal Heart? Its production is even slick than Balls to the wall, by the way.


DOn't Go Stealing Stealing My SOul Away is superior to the gay anthem London Leatherboys.

Metal heart I rate lower than Balls To The Wall BttW 7 and MH 6.


Haha... right. I rate Metal Heart lower than Balls to the Wall as well.

Restless and Wild - 9
Balls to the Wall - 10
Metal Heart - 9

And I like that gay anthem

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Accept - Restless And Wild 7.5 20.03.2012 by yanivush147
Reviews Accept - Blood Of The Nations 6 20.11.2010 by Jan
Reviews Accept - Stalingrad 6 26.07.2012 by Druss
News Accept - New Album Tracklist And New Release Date 4.5 16.05.2014 by Joodicator
News Accept - Unveil New Album Artwork And More 4.5 02.04.2014 by Lit.



Hits total: 3336 | This month: 75