Izegrim - Code Of Consequences review



Reviewer:
7.6

16 users:
7.62
Band: Izegrim
Album: Code Of Consequences
Release date: February 2011


01. Victim Of Honor
02. My Secret Society
03. Incommunicado
04. Center Of Momentum
05. Deathstrip
06. Final Farewell
07. Fade Into Obscurity
08. Psychopathic Mind
09. Population Zero
10. Code Of Consequences


Goldiloxxx? Seriously? Metal is rampant with stupid stage names, but I don't think I've come across one as God-awful as Goldiloxxx. I guess it's the guitarists attempt at irony, seeing as what we have here is a pretty freakin' intense melodeath-thrash hybrid that derives most of it's aggression from the top speed riffing.

You folks all like Decadence, right? Well, oddly enough, Izegrim is very similar. Aside from the obvious shrieking female comparisons that may arise, we're looking at another catchy thrash-melodeath hybrid. It's about as straightforward as you can get; take the tight rhythm section you find in a lot of melodic death, lighten the bottom end up a bit, throw in some thrashy chainsaw riffing, then sprinkle your guitar melodies on top. Yes, it's a fairly typical sound (what isn't these days?) but reliably entertaining to some degree, even during it's more hum-drum moments.

The parallels Izegrim has with Decadence is actually pretty astounding, as Decadence's latest album Chargepoint suffers from the same sort of self-inflicted deflation that we see here. It's this no-subtlety, constant gnashing of teeth that just makes it a tiresome listen by the end. Code Of Consequences is a steady, reasonably consistent album, it's just unfortunate that the deeper you get into it, the less frequent the high points become. Izegrim seem to be another one of those bands that always needs to have everything cranked; aggression, tempo, volume, yet falls short when it comes to creating an album that feels like more than 5 songs.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 6
Production: 7


 



Written on 07.03.2011 by Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.


Comments

Comments: 11   Visited by: 133 users
08.03.2011 - 09:58
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Weird that the women apparently use stagenames here, cause they have never done so before. And as far as I know there is only one woman in the band namely Marloes handling bass and vocals.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
08.03.2011 - 10:36
Doc Godin
Obnoxious
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 08.03.2011 at 09:58

Weird that the women apparently use stagenames here, cause they have never done so before. And as far as I know there is only one woman in the band namely Marloes handling bass and vocals.

Woops. I mis-read the promo shit. Fixing it.
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
08.03.2011 - 10:46
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Doc Godin on 08.03.2011 at 10:36

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 08.03.2011 at 09:58

Weird that the women apparently use stagenames here, cause they have never done so before. And as far as I know there is only one woman in the band namely Marloes handling bass and vocals.

Woops. I mis-read the promo shit. Fixing it.


But have you seen marloes? She really does look like Goldilocks
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
08.03.2011 - 10:46
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Oh and she the bassist not guitarist
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
08.03.2011 - 10:48
Doc Godin
Obnoxious
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 08.03.2011 at 10:46

Written by Doc Godin on 08.03.2011 at 10:36

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 08.03.2011 at 09:58

Weird that the women apparently use stagenames here, cause they have never done so before. And as far as I know there is only one woman in the band namely Marloes handling bass and vocals.

Woops. I mis-read the promo shit. Fixing it.


But have you seen marloes? She really does look like Goldilocks

Yeah, but I think the Goldiloxxx nickname is the guitarist - who is male. I guess it's one of those irony things.
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
08.03.2011 - 10:55
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Doc Godin on 08.03.2011 at 10:48

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 08.03.2011 at 10:46

Written by Doc Godin on 08.03.2011 at 10:36

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 08.03.2011 at 09:58

Weird that the women apparently use stagenames here, cause they have never done so before. And as far as I know there is only one woman in the band namely Marloes handling bass and vocals.

Woops. I mis-read the promo shit. Fixing it.


But have you seen marloes? She really does look like Goldilocks

Yeah, but I think the Goldiloxxx nickname is the guitarist - who is male. I guess it's one of those irony things.


Aha could be. But it still remains weird cause they have never used a nickname not even on Dutch language metal forums. Ah well, must some sort of joke thing then.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
09.03.2011 - 00:06
Danyael
Look at that, Doc actually didn't get to review some lame flowerpower album lol. Must be womens day or something...
Loading...
09.03.2011 - 12:15
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Danyael on 09.03.2011 at 00:06

Must be womens day or something...


Well.. his last name (Godin) does mean "Goddess" in dutch as far as I know hehehe
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
09.03.2011 - 21:48
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Mr. Doctor on 09.03.2011 at 12:15

Written by Danyael on 09.03.2011 at 00:06

Must be womens day or something...


Well.. his last name (Godin) does mean "Goddess" in dutch as far as I know hehehe


indeed it does
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
10.03.2011 - 04:18
Danyael
Written by Mr. Doctor on 09.03.2011 at 12:15

Written by Danyael on 09.03.2011 at 00:06

Must be womens day or something...


Well.. his last name (Godin) does mean "Goddess" in dutch as far as I know hehehe


hahaha, well ain't that cute
Loading...
10.03.2011 - 17:13
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
She looks and sounds like Angela Gossow (with a combination of Heartwork-era Jeff Walker oddly enough. I mean the voice, not the look by the way). Actually this album strikes me as a thrashier Arch Enemy at times yet far better than their recent stuff. I'm really rather enjoying it.

I agree there's not enough variation to justify a whole album though.
Loading...

Hits total: 4726 | This month: 10