Rating:
7.5
Suidakra - Command To Charge
25 April 2005


01. Decibel Dance
02. C14 Measured by Infinity
03. Haughs Of Cromdale
04. The Alliance
05. A Runic Rhyme
06. Second Skin
07. Reap The Storm
08. Gathered In Fear
09. Strange Perfection
10. Dead Man's Reel
11. The End Beyond Me


Those who say that Suidakra doesn't have a prolific career don't know what are they saying, let's take a look at the facts: over 10 years of career, 6 albums, over 125 gigs and tours worldwide. The German act is well established among Metalheads as a leading act of Black-Death Metal with some folk influences, well, maybe that's about to change, because "Command To Charge", the bands latest effort, takes the band through a whole new direction..

I can foresee that this album is going to be quite controversial, is a love it or hate it album, hardcore fans of the band might dislike this, since the band uses a lot of Melodeath influences, clean vocals and catchy "commercial" tunes. From the first song "Decibel Dance" you know there's something different in the band, doesn't sound like the band that delivered "Signs For The Fallen", next song "C14_Measured By Infinity" dwells in the same terrain, Melodeath parts countered with clean vocals and softer, catchier parts.

Some old elements are here though, the folk influences are not completely gone, songs like the superb instrumental "Dead Man's Reel" features bagpipes, some harsher songs can be found also, like "Strange Perfection" (great riffs!) and "The Alliance". There's also an acoustic song "Gathered In Fear" which is not bad, but doesn't necessarily fits in the mood in the album.

Suidakra has achieved a modern sound combined with the elements of their musical past. The band is now in a point where they will surely lose many fans, but in reward they will gain even more, because the music they're doing now is more accessible to wider audiences.

The rating is tricky. The 7.5 is my personal rating, if you're a fan of Suidakra but hate Melodeath, for you is 6. If you love Melodeath and never heard Suidakra, then is an 8. If you are the biggest fan of Suidakra and you don't care if they start playing tangos and salsa as long the Suidakra name appears in the Cd, then is a 9. If you're a sworn enemy of clean vocals, then is a 5. If you hate Heavy Metal, then is a... hey! What the fuck are you doing reading this?


Band profile: Suidakra
Album: Command To Charge


 


written by Undercraft | 21.04.2005



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 10  
Users visited: 56  
Search this topic:  


Fane - 30.07.2006 at 03:26  
Have this CD. It's average. Some good songs like C14 Measured by Infinity and The Alliance. Nothing special so it is what it is. Listenable and that's it.
dismaleuphony - 31.07.2006 at 10:06  
The band sold out on this disc, and I have since given up on them. Terrible release, and a 6 is a high rating for me. Give me "Signs for the Fallen" any day, or even some of their late 90s material.
Promonex - 31.07.2006 at 11:34  
Yup, Suidakra went bad with this one. And "Caledonia", their new one, will be even worse. Judging from their gig on Friday there'll even be a semi-ballad with a touch of 80's Aerosmith and nowadays Hoobastank on it
dismaleuphony - 31.07.2006 at 21:47  
@Promo, wow that's just disgusting news. I mean, some bands grandually sell out, but these guys are intentionally doing it... and they aren't even good at it!
PRIMAL FEAR - 16.08.2006 at 15:16  
I'll still have to check this one out sometime, I personally don't care abotu whether they sold out at this point, despite the fact that I may regret saying this after a listen, who knows...
RazorOfTheLight - 13.09.2006 at 08:37  
Written by Promonex on 31.07.2006 at 11:34

Yup, Suidakra went bad with this one. And "Caledonia", their new one, will be even worse. Judging from their gig on Friday there'll even be a semi-ballad with a touch of 80's Aerosmith and nowadays Hoobastank on it


What happened at such gig?
Promonex - 13.09.2006 at 11:02  
Written by Guest on 13.09.2006 at 08:37

Written by Promonex on 31.07.2006 at 11:34

Yup, Suidakra went bad with this one. And "Caledonia", their new one, will be even worse. Judging from their gig on Friday there'll even be a semi-ballad with a touch of 80's Aerosmith and nowadays Hoobastank on it


What happened at such gig?

They played pretty much new stuff and also introduced some songs of the upcoming album. One of those songs sounded as described above.
RazorOfTheLight - 13.09.2006 at 11:27  
whats a semi-ballad?
Promonex - 13.09.2006 at 12:09  
Half ballad, half metal
Promonex - 08.10.2006 at 17:04  
I'll take everything back I said earlier. Their new album easily owns "Command To Charge"! The same riffing madness as on "Signs For The Fallen" and the epic feeling of "Emprise To Avalon"! A letdown nonetheless coz it doesn't offer anything new and original, but it's great to know that they are still able to create some good music, even after "Command To Charge"

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
News Suidakra - Working On New Album 3 08.08.2012 by
Reviews Corruption - Virgin's Milk 3 07.06.2006 by CrypticMyth
Reviews Mahavatar - Go With The No! 3 08.08.2006 by
Albums Suidakra - Lays From Afar 3 11.08.2010 by JÄY
Reviews Pagan Hellfire - A Voice From Centuries Away 3 30.09.2009 by Ellrohir



Hits total: 4581 | This month: 34