Rating:
9.0
Ortega - 1634
7 January 2010


01. Still
02. Into The Waves
03. Shipwrecked
04. The Siren
05. Octagon
06. Chaser
07. The Oracle


Ortega, not to be confused with the salsa, is a band hailing from the land of dikes and clogs. They do, however, have things in common beyond the name. A good salsa combines various elements - tomatoes, Serrano peppers, onions, lemon juice, red peppers, and garlic to create a spicy little number. Ortega (back to the band) do likewise, adding various elements of "post", doom, sludge, and the occasional black into one spicy number.

The album 1634 is centered around a nautical theme (I seem to be a sucker for that kinda stuff), recounting the journey of a sailor who gets shipwrecked, wakes up on the Spanish coast, then tries to recall all that happened in the interim.

It starts off with "Still", a clean, simplistic guitar line that lulls the listener in before they drop the tsunami with "Into The Waves." Harsh throated vocals and crushing sludgy doom riffs batter the listener. Those two tracks sort of set the dual-tone for the journey that follows. Ortega shift between and mix the various styles mentioned in the first paragraph to masterful effect. The album ebbs and flows like the tide, with quieter, more introspective passages countered by crunchy blackened thrash (well, somewhere between black and thrash) riffs or pummeling doom. Even when the violin surfaces in an interlude of "Octagon" it's only slightly surprising and fits right in.

Everything flows smoothly, and sounds great. It's a mix of a variety of styles, but one they've managed to master and make their own. I loved it the first listen through and still enjoy it now, months and months later, so it's got some staying power.

Sadly this release - in some really cool packaging - was limited to 100 copies. So unless you have a cool hook up, your best bet is to visit the band's facebook page and beg. They offered 100 download copies not long ago. Throw your wretched selves at their mercy.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Ortega
Album: 1634


 



Written on 02.07.2011 by
BitterCOld
BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.
More reviews by BitterCOld ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 15  
Users visited: 81  
Search this topic:  


Marcel Hubregtse - 03.07.2011 at 19:47  
Great album. And, unfortunately, the physical cd is sold out now. The reviewer actually got the last copy
(((O))) - 04.07.2011 at 00:03  
TORE Recordings has rereleased it on tape.

http://www.torerecordings.com/store.html

..great album btw
Mr. Doctor - 04.07.2011 at 02:05  
I hate when reviewers review shit that you won't get unles there's a re-release .P

Will check it out though.
Marcel Hubregtse - 04.07.2011 at 02:08  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 04.07.2011 at 02:05

I hate when reviewers review shit that you won't get unles there's a re-release .P

Will check it out though.


I know quite a few people that actually got this cd as original. So, it wasn't too hard to get hold of.
Mr. Doctor - 04.07.2011 at 02:11  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 04.07.2011 at 02:08

Written by Mr. Doctor on 04.07.2011 at 02:05

I hate when reviewers review shit that you won't get unles there's a re-release .P

Will check it out though.

So, it wasn't too hard to get hold of.



Wasn't.... Wasn't. Like, not now XD.
Marcel Hubregtse - 04.07.2011 at 02:14  
Last April you could easily have got of it if I wasn't looking
oroboros - 04.07.2011 at 17:22  
Listened to the album again after this review and it still sounds very good. So, spot on with the 'staying power' bit there.
BitterCOld - 06.07.2011 at 09:30  
For free (or cheap... ) and LEGAL downloads, they have a page at Bandcamp. They upped the 100 to 200. hurry! act now! don't delay.

(info about free/small donation is per their Facebook page)
Marcel Hubregtse - 06.07.2011 at 15:27  
Richard Postma (guitar/vocals) says thank you, and the downloads over at bandcamp are going like mad currently.
Mr. Doctor - 06.07.2011 at 16:00  
Holy shit thanks a lot! I'm downloading it right now.
Marcel Hubregtse - 06.07.2011 at 16:11  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 06.07.2011 at 16:00

Holy shit thanks a lot! I'm downloading it right now.


I think you'll like it.
Mr. Doctor - 06.07.2011 at 16:29  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 06.07.2011 at 16:11

I think you'll like it.


I'm getting quite predictable when it comes to my doom
hadriel - 08.07.2011 at 01:08  
Super hooked on this album. Great review and thanks for introducing me to them. Really hoping we'll see a re-release of some physical copies of this in the future (vinyl would be sick ).
Marcel Hubregtse - 14.07.2012 at 16:12  
Written by hadriel on 08.07.2011 at 01:08

Super hooked on this album. Great review and thanks for introducing me to them. Really hoping we'll see a re-release of some physical copies of this in the future (vinyl would be sick ).



Aesthetic Death will be rerleasing the cd this month.
cptortega - 31.08.2012 at 16:27  
1634 is officially available again as of today.
http://ortegaband.bandcamp.com/album/1634
http://www.aestheticdeath.com/

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Ortega - A Flame Never Rises On Its Own 6 05.12.2012 by Guib
Albums Ortega - 1634 4.5 23.08.2011 by Ag Fox
Reviews Heavy Lord - Balls To All 3.5 07.05.2011 by Marcel Hubregtse
Reviews Ghost - Opus Eponymous 3.5 28.02.2011 by Marcel Hubregtse
Reviews The Morningside - TreeLogia (The Album As It Is Not) 3 15.11.2011 by Troy Killjoy



Hits total: 3873 | This month: 48