Rating:
10
Possessed - Seven Churches
1985


01. The Exorcist
02. Pentagram
03. Burning In Hell
04. Evil Warriors
05. Seven Churches
06. Satan's Curse
07. Holy Hell
08. Twisted Minds
09. Fallen Angel
10. Death Metal


Released in 1985, Seven Churches is considered by many to be the first ever Death Metal album. Possessed, a 4-piece from San Francisco, built upon the raw energy of Thrash and mutated it into an altogether darker, nastier beast. This is an album which is rightfully revered and respected as an all-time classic - just under 40 minutes of primal savagery, ending with the genre-defining anthem Death Metal.

The Exorcist starts the album, with the guitars and drums kicking in after a brief extract from Tubular Bells by Mike Oldfield. (Of course, the music to Tubular Bells was used in the soundtrack to the movie The Exorcist). At once, the listener is bombarded with the kind of innovative, heavy riffing which helps to make every song on the album so powerful. Although these ten compositions were dismissed by some critics as mere noise, there's a sense of coherency in this sonic mayhem, and every song here is memorable in its own right.

The tempo ranges throughout from fast and furious (although never overly so) to midtempo, with some moments even incorporating an element of groove, in their own warped way - songs like Pentagram and Holy Hell are instantly catchy due to their energetic swagger. Jeff Becerra's mid-range throat-shredding vocals are excellent, spewing forth the OTT Satanic and blasphemous lyrics with conviction and anti-Christian zeal.

If you haven't heard Seven Churches yet, and you're an enthusiast of any kind of extreme Metal, then this album should be next on your 'to get' list. I don't use this word lightly, but it is a masterpiece.


Band profile: Possessed
Album: Seven Churches


 


written by Richard | 28.06.2005



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 20  
Users visited: 204  
Search this topic:  


Mega-Slayer - 23.05.2006 at 21:16  
I totally agree with what you said.I just heard it the other day and now I cant believe what I was missing out on.This is a true classic and a must own for anyone.The best tracks are "Burning In Hell","Exorcist" and "Pentagram".
Trifixion - 28.05.2006 at 19:28  
Very well said, I just listened to this album about 20 minutes ago actually . It's really too bad that it's pretty much under the shadow of Scream Bloody Gore by sheer popularity because this is where it all started and is a TRUE DM masterpiece. The Exorcist, Burning In Hell and Evil Warriors are my favorites. Not to mention Holy Hell...argh the whole thing is great
Dangerboner - 03.06.2006 at 06:33  
I think I'll buy this soon...
Megadeth88 - 30.06.2006 at 19:10  
Written by Mega-Slayer on 23.05.2006 at 21:16

I totally agree with what you said.I just heard it the other day and now I cant believe what I was missing out on.This is a true classic and a must own for anyone.The best tracks are "Burning In Hell","Exorcist" and "Pentagram".


Samething with me. I picked it up the other day, and WOW! I was blown away by how good this album really is. It's sad that I didn't know about it 'til a few days ago. But anyway, my favorite tracks on this album or 'The Exorcist', 'Satan's Curse', and 'Pentagram'.
Paganblood - 20.01.2007 at 15:43  
Great review, , this album is indeed quite agressive and a great masterpiece, with every songs being quite different from each other!
Baz Anderson - 15.05.2007 at 22:33  
Quote:

extract from Tubular Bells by Mike Oldfield. (Of course, the music to Tubular Bells was used in the soundtrack to the movie The Exorcist)


little bit of trivia for you..
the film people never actually asked Mike Oldfield to use his music!!! so I guess that doesn't make it a proper, legitimate soundtrack
orathac - 08.06.2007 at 20:09  
my favorite album from all the time
BitterCOld - 15.06.2007 at 21:12  
well done review. succinctly lays out the bombastic chaotic nature of the album.
Arian Totalis - 16.06.2007 at 22:12  
I have been intrested in possessed for a while now, but I never actually got to buy any of their albums, or hear much of their music. I've heard material from their first album, and it's good but the production is sketchy. I still think I would want to invest in these albums though.
Clint W. - 27.03.2008 at 08:11  
"Seven prayers, seven bells, SEVEN CHURCHES rise from hell!"

Ah yes, just enjoying a bit of the old school.
The Thrasher - 06.06.2008 at 20:28  
The best death metal album ever!!!
Timelord - 03.09.2008 at 04:44  
I remember picking this up when it came out. Was great then and still holds its own in this day and age. The first 3 releases by Possessed were the best with my favorites beeing Seven Churches and Eyes of Horror ep.
Deadmeat - 06.03.2009 at 09:16  
Great album from one of the pioneers of death metal! I like the riffing a lot although i would like it a bit heavier. Good review also!!!
Cryzpin - 13.08.2010 at 00:21  
Written by Deadmeat on 06.03.2009 at 09:16

Great album from one of the pioneers of death metal! I like the riffing a lot although i would like it a bit heavier. Good review also!!!

Well, this album being even heavier back there in 1985, people would crawl under it's weight
Death To Posers - 04.02.2011 at 23:52  
Awesome review! The album's great as well!
BloodFireDeath - 11.06.2011 at 09:04  
One of my fav albums of all time. The best death metal album ever. Sorry Death
BoxCar Willy - 26.08.2011 at 18:25  
Written by Dangerboner on 03.06.2006 at 06:33

I think I'll buy this soon...

me too!
Dangerboner - 26.08.2011 at 18:48  
^ HA! My post was from 5 years ago, and I still haven't bought it lmao
BoxCar Willy - 12.01.2012 at 05:50  
Written by Dangerboner on 26.08.2011 at 18:48

^ HA! My post was from 5 years ago, and I still haven't bought it lmao

Me neither
Lethean - 25.03.2012 at 23:59  
Up to this moment I think I've been missing this band

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Possessed - Seven Churches 6 12.02.2012 by musicalkaratekid
Metal arena Scream Bloody Gore vs Seven Churches 3 16.05.2013 by Demonmayonnaise
Reviews Helloween - Keeper Of The Seven Keys Part I 2.5 21.04.2007 by Doc Godin
Reviews Venom - Possessed 2.5 20.08.2010 by vezzy
Reviews The Tea Party - Seven Circles 2.5 04.10.2012 by Sonic MrSumo



Hits total: 4693 | This month: 41