Rating:
5.0
Profundae Libidines - Evangelium Secundum Matthaeum
1 June 2011


01. Domine, salvum fac pontificem nostrum leonem
02. Matt. 4 (La tentation de Jésus)
03. Matt. 5 (Le vrai bonheur)
04. Matt. 5 (La mission des douze)
05. Matt. 15 (Les choses qui rendent un homme impur)
06. Matt. 26 (L'arrestation de Jésus)
07. Matt. 26 (Pierre renie Jésus)
08. Matt. 27 (Jésus est condamné à mort)
09. Matt. 27 (Jésus est cloué sur la croix)
10. Matt. 27 (La mort de Jésus)
11. Matt. 28 (La résurrection de Jésus)
12. Hostias et preces


When I took a look at the cover of Evangelium Secundum Matthaeum I was sure it was a death metal album. Indistinct band logo, a disgusting picture - death or grindcore. Nice way to mislead potential listeners. Profundae Libidines is a black metal project of one Philoxera. He apparently played all string instruments, composed all that stuff, and invited lots of vocalists to handle the mic aspect.

So what do we have here? The intro and the outro sound like some French love songs from before World War II, sung by a lovelorn lady at night. Apart from those two pieces, you know what to expect. It's pretty generic black metal, usually midtempo, with fast blasting parts here and there, properly extreme vocal performances, and a healthy dose of frantic tremolo picking. The production is appropriately abrasive and muffled, but without overdoing it, so the music is still adequately clear. Too bad that all the songs are quite boring. I often caught myself checking how much time there was left till the next track. But the next track didn't get any better, so listening to this album enough times to do a review was quite an ordeal. Even the fact that almost every songs has a different vocalist doesn't help - most of them are trying to rip their throats out, and in a very annoying way too. What could be the album's saving grace is another nail in its coffin - vocals are fucking terrible.

Did I say a healthy dose of tremolo picking? If only that picking was just slightly memorable, or catchy, or ominous, or original. Nothing like that. It's insanely irritating most of the time. How long can you withstand the sound of a chainsaw? I had to listen to it for 50 minutes five times. Next time I see a chainsaw, I will murder whoever carries it, shouting "Profundae Libidines!". I think I'll keep repeating the band's name even in the courtroom. I just hope they won't sentence me to mandatory listening to Profundae Libidines...

Performance: 6
Songwriting: 5
Originality: 5
Production: 6


Website: http://profundae.libidines.free.fr/


 


written by Daniell | 15.07.2011



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 12  
Users visited: 101  
Search this topic:  


Windrider - 15.07.2011 at 20:55  
Just gave it a listen on youtube... Absolutely right, great review, this is shit!
Only the cover is quite cool...
Daniell - 15.07.2011 at 20:56  
No, it's disgusting. The cover is as bad as the music!
Marcel Hubregtse - 15.07.2011 at 21:33  
Looking at the band logo and the album cover art I wouldn't think of death or grindcore I would immediately assume it's black metal. And I agree with Windrider the cover art is cool. I would even say "extremely cool"
Btw also the band name screams black metal as does the album title
Daniell - 15.07.2011 at 21:42  
And with all that effort put into the visual side, the music is as bad as it gets
Marcel Hubregtse - 15.07.2011 at 21:51  
Written by Daniell on 15.07.2011 at 21:42

And with all that effort put into the visual side, the music is as bad as it gets


I am not saying the music is good, just criticizing your first impression as written down in the first paragraph
Mr. Doctor - 15.07.2011 at 23:17  
Dude, the artwork is fucking sweet, not bad at all.
Also... I can clearly see by the songtitles that it must be a black metal album.
Daniell - 15.07.2011 at 23:22  
Jesus in almost every title, looks like a Gorgoroth release to me
Marcel Hubregtse - 15.07.2011 at 23:47  
Written by Daniell on 15.07.2011 at 23:22

Jesus in almost every title, looks like a Gorgoroth release to me


yes and that means it is..... black metal and NOT death metal hahahaha
ß - 16.07.2011 at 05:57  
I'm not going to lie, I kind of enjoyed it...
rebel757 - 16.07.2011 at 12:20  
I just checked out Matthaeum 27 (Jésus est condamné à mort) on youtube. It took me a minute to even notice the drums had started. Not only is the recording terrible, the songwriting but above all the vocals are just garbage. Sounds like someone beating an old man with a fish. After setting him on fire. Its terrible. Oh and at some point the brass section kicks in and horns start blowing. Ridiculous.
philoxera - 16.07.2011 at 16:07  
The intro and outro are recordings of the last italian castrato at the beginning of the XXth century. I chose them because of their raw and ugly aspects, which perfectly fits the profundae libidines concept. I thought the cover would make it quite obvious this is UG black metal.
Thanks for the review anyway
Daniell - 16.07.2011 at 16:09  
Oh, nice to know about the intro and outro. They're really cool

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Dream Theater - A Dramatic Turn Of Events 3 21.09.2011 by Yavanna
Reviews Asphyx - Deathhammer 3 25.03.2012 by BitterCOld
Reviews Krypteia - Avodah Zarah 3 07.04.2012 by Nosurper
Reviews Bong - Beyond Ancient Space 3 11.07.2011 by InnerSelf
Reviews Drudkh - Eternal Turn Of The Wheel 3 27.03.2012 by 3rdWorld



Hits total: 2673 | This month: 37