Toxic Holocaust - Conjure And Command review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
8.5

127 users:
7.97
Band: Toxic Holocaust
Album: Conjure And Command
Release date: July 2011


01. Judgment Awaits You
02. Agony Of The Damned
03. Bitch
04. Red Winter
05. Nowhere To Run
06. I Am Disease
07. In The Depths (Of Your Mind)
08. The Liars Are Burning
09. Revelations
10. Sound The Charge
11. Helga Lost Her Head [Repulsion cover]


Joel Grind, lay off the crack. Actually, do more. I don't know, does crack inspire you to make music like this? Well, whatever he's been dosing himself with, I say he needs to continue doing it. This is pretty vicious. Pretty really vicious.

This album is like a mix of Toxic Holocaust, with Toxic Holocaust, meets Toxic Holocaust. If Joel Grind and Joel Grind created a love-child, I'm pretty sure that child would grow up to make music like this. It's the teeth-shattering thrash monster known as Toxic Holocaust that we're all used to, but every aspect is just cranked in all directions from what we've seen in the past; it's bouncier, faster, slower, heavier, louder, thicker, angrier, funner, darker, catchier, brutal-erish. If music could grow a hard-on, this would be Toxic Holocaust at it's vein-iest.

Naturally, comparisons have to be drawn between Conjure And Command and the last release An Overdose Of Death.... Now, Overdose was just flat-out kick ass, so is Conjure better? No. But is it worse? Nope. It's just different. In the quest to create an all-around meatier sound, that nifty punk rock charm found in the previous albums is gone, but in exchange we get a more rabid, pure metal version of the bands former self. It's a sideways evolution; a step in a new direction, no better, no worse. Hell, if Toxic Holocaust can maintain the quality heard here and in Overdose, while pushing themselves in new directions, they've got a satisfying discography ahead of them.


 



Written on 19.07.2011 by Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.


Comments

Comments: 19   Visited by: 325 users
19.07.2011 - 00:44
wormdrink414
I really hope they advertise the "this would be Toxic Holocaust at it's vein-iest" line on their website.
Loading...
19.07.2011 - 06:35
JCJen7
Been waiting so long for this release!!
----
This is my sig, respect it. Please.

CHECK THESE OUT
Loading...
19.07.2011 - 23:47
Death To Posers
Hate Thy King
Listening to the first song right now, sounds promising.
----
The word gen means "illusion" or "apparition." In India, a man who uses conjury is called a genjutsushi ["a master of illusion technique"]. Everything in this world is but a marionette show. Thus we use the word gen.
Loading...
20.07.2011 - 00:29
Death To Posers
Hate Thy King
And it was, Sick.. Sick I say.
----
The word gen means "illusion" or "apparition." In India, a man who uses conjury is called a genjutsushi ["a master of illusion technique"]. Everything in this world is but a marionette show. Thus we use the word gen.
Loading...
21.07.2011 - 04:42
AngelCorpse13
This band has yet to disappoint, only heard a few tracks off this one but very pleased so far. It's great how he show's how awesome the old school can be to all the little new wave kids.
Loading...
21.07.2011 - 18:54
Mattybu
Picked this album up a couple days ago, after giving it some playage, I'd say the best thing about it that got overlooked in the review was that it's not too long. It seems to work really well as a quick burst of music, and some songs on this album are really good. Were it littered with 7-8 minute songs and the length overdrawn, I don't think I would've enjoyed it nearly as much.
Loading...
22.07.2011 - 03:28
wormdrink414
So I've probably listened to this 10 times now. Toxic is definitely Portland's second best metal export, right behind me.
Loading...
23.07.2011 - 04:31
strade
Awesome.
----
My lo-fi synth project: http://luciddreamer.bandcamp.com
Loading...
23.07.2011 - 05:45
Being and Time
I haven't heard Overdose, but there IS a really prominent punk vibe to this record on some of the tracks. I consider this a band to further investigate. Great review-- caught my attention and described the sound fairly accurately.
Loading...
23.07.2011 - 08:37
LeChron James
Helvetesfossen
Crack makes you do amazing things. See Rick James.

COCAINE IS A HELLUVA DRUG.
----
Kick Ass, Die Young

Less is More
Stay Pure
Stay Poor

Music was my life, music brought me to life and music is how I will be remembered long after I leave this life. When I die there will be a final waltz in my head that only I can hear.
Loading...
23.07.2011 - 20:43
Kwis
This is super awesome
Loading...
17.08.2011 - 10:06
Aetherius
I wanna check this out, and soon! lol
Loading...
19.09.2011 - 05:50
Aetherius
Got it, and love it!
Loading...
22.09.2011 - 04:24
Winterthrone
Awesome album, thrash all the way!
Loading...
22.09.2011 - 06:27
Void Eater
Account deleted
I was dissapointed at first with this, but I've warmed up to it. It has more variety on it than previous albums, and while it lacks standouts like Wild Dogs and Nuke The Cross, it never starts sounding samey, unlike their previous albums.
Loading...
09.06.2012 - 13:05
Moosh666
Sounds a lot like Venom, and it's filled too many slow-paced tracks, I like the speed...
Loading...
09.06.2012 - 13:07
Moosh666
..Heck, even at some moments like at the beginning of 'I Am Disease' I thought I was listening to Evile O_O
Loading...
19.06.2012 - 15:20
Moosh666
....Yep, no matter how much I try to warm up to this album I don't like it, reminds me too much of crappy recent Venom albums..
Loading...
06.12.2012 - 18:33
RAVASTATOR
........ BITCH!


(is my favourite track off this tasty cut)
Loading...

Hits total: 8210 | This month: 15