Rating:
9.5
Draconian - A Rose For The Apocalypse
24 June 2011


01. The Drowning Age
02. The Last Hour Of Ancient Sunlight
03. End Of The Rope
04. Elysian Night
05. Deadlight
06. Dead World Assembly
07. A Phantom Dissonance
08. The Quiet Storm
09. The Death Of Hours
10. Wall Of Sighs [bonus]


Whenever I hear Draconian playing, I feel a bag of mixed feelings: calm but heavy, deep and majestic. And especially something I don't feel with many bands... chills all over my spine. And that for me is priceless.

The first time I heard this album it didn't hit me exactly like I was expecting. Fortunately, what I thought of the album upon my first listen has been completely changed with the subsequent hearings. Now I put it at a high level of excellence, at the level of previous Draconian works. It brings them a more mature sound, but with the same geniality and force as ever, clearly showing that they are a top gothic/doom metal act with merit.

The album flows over 10 beautiful compositions of melodic genius. The junction of the serene and sublime vocals of Lisa Johansson and majesty of the gutturals of Anders Jacobsson are employed in a wonderful way, making Lisa (and her voice devoid of any touch of rebellious rocker but epic and perfect for the purpose of the band) much more prominent than in previous works. She's probably one of the most magnificent voices in the metal world at this moment. Then there's Anders who brings us everything we need for a more extreme metal sound. Wonderful composition aided by perfect grunts that lift us to a dark heavy atmosphere, black and absolute.

Doom elements are more present than in Turning Seasons Within; the symphonies are perfect, the voices, the guitars, dramatic compositions... The feeling you get when the album ends is a need to hear it again and again and again... Also notice the introduction of experimental touches, very evident in the song "The Quiet Storm," more present in the voice of Lisa. All the songs are guided by a tornado of power and melody and I really think that Lisa glows on this album. Her voice is passionate, calm, serene, simple and beautiful.

It is true that this album follows the line of its predecessor. More gothic, less doom, but the end result is a perfect balance between these genres and it would be cruel and not fair to compare this with previous works, because each of the Draconian albums are special. In fact I dare say that they are special and unique. You may think now I am a fanboy. If the meaning of that is loving their music by its geniality then I'll be glad to be one.

In short, I didn't find anything as good in the genre (or even in other genres) this year. I believe it is questionable and also a matter of taste - which means that what is perfect to you can suck to others or vice-versa - but I think this album is the elevation of the excellence of music, the perfect contrast of sunlight and darkness.

This is an album that cannot be assessed properly without the necessary attention. It is necessary to caress it and in the end one will be highly rewarded.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 8
Production: 10


Band profile: Draconian
Album: A Rose For The Apocalypse


 


written by Vonpire | 29.09.2011


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Staff review by
DerRozzengarten

Rating:
6.0
Being around since 1994, Draconian is one of those bands that had to be patient so as to see their visions come true and it wasn't until 2003 when their melodic gothic doom/death metal debut came to the surface. Despite their heavy influences from pioneering acts with personal sound (Theatre Of Tragedy, Katatonia, Paradise Lost to name the more dominant ones) they managed through their inspirational/emotional status and persuading performance to reach the hearts of the aforementioned scene's audience and create quite a buzz around them.

Read more ››
published 02.09.2011 | Comments (82)



Comments page 2 of 2

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2]
Comments: 68  
Users visited: 213  
Search this topic:  


Slayer666 - 14.10.2011 at 20:50  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 14.10.2011 at 20:47

Written by D.a.n on 14.10.2011 at 20:44
Just PM me if it gets interesting again, ok mate?

haha I'll keep you posted if something happens, but like yesterday's news this review thread is all but forgotten.

Just wait for the new Metallica/Megadeth albums to be reviewed. Shit will really hit the fan.

(Opeth's Heritage review thread was good too.)


Considering how shitty Metallica's newest is prolly going to be, I don't think anyone will complain when Bitter/Daniel/you/Rozz slam it with a 3 or so.
But, yeah, I can't wait for Megadeth. The bitching is probably going to be the only good thing that album does.
Troy Killjoy - 14.10.2011 at 20:52  
Written by Slayer666 on 14.10.2011 at 20:50
I don't think anyone will complain

Oh dear, you must not be familiar with Metallica fanboys. Sure a majority of us will label it shit and write it off...but the fanboys, man. They won't drop the argument that Metallica is the best band ever, everything they touch is gold, we're close-minded, why do we even bother reviewing it if we aren't going to give it a perfect 10, etc.
Slayer666 - 14.10.2011 at 20:55  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 14.10.2011 at 20:52

Written by Slayer666 on 14.10.2011 at 20:50
I don't think anyone will complain

Oh dear, you must not be familiar with Metallica fanboys. Sure a majority of us will label it shit and write it off...but the fanboys, man. They won't drop the argument that Metallica is the best band ever, everything they touch is gold, we're close-minded, why do we even bother reviewing it if we aren't going to give it a perfect 10, etc.


>_<

I have a nasty cold, my brain is working with about 10% of its capacity, thus it slipped my mind it's Meta-fucking-llica we're talking here. Scratch what I said.
Mr. Doctor - 15.10.2011 at 02:58  
Written by Slayer666 on 14.10.2011 at 20:55

I have a nasty cold, my brain is working with about 10% of its capacity, thus it slipped my mind it's Meta-fucking-llica we're talking here. Scratch what I said.


I remember when I invited my best friend and another pal to my house a week ago. This pal wouldn't stop asking me for some metallica in my stereo and I just flat out told him "I only have their debut in my pc... and I don't eally listen to it".
Seriously, every single conversation that we had was connected somehow with this luine "yeah.... so can we listen to master of puppets now?"

Fuck that shit dude. It's my house
Void Eater - 15.10.2011 at 05:05  
Written by Daniell on 30.09.2011 at 10:32

But don't worry, you havent beaten this review in terms of praise

So that's where Troy got his Deathday 666 review from.
Troy Killjoy - 15.10.2011 at 05:31  
Written by Void Eater on 15.10.2011 at 05:05
So that's where Troy got his Deathday 666 review from.

Merely a coincidence, I assure you.
Void Eater - 15.10.2011 at 05:40  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 15.10.2011 at 05:31
Merely a coincidence, I assure you.

I'll give you the benefit of the doubt. It is simply a too magnificant work of art for me to even judge reviews of it.
Vonpire - 15.10.2011 at 20:40  
This review thread isn't forgotten. It's only getting full of o.t.

I knew you guys would miss me xD

Still 8.36 avg , closer to my 9.5 than the 6 of derozen.

yeah I win! Lol
Troy Killjoy - 15.10.2011 at 21:05  
Written by Vonpire on 15.10.2011 at 20:40
yeah I win! Lol

According to Drew Carey, you actually lose.
!J.O.O.E.! - 15.10.2011 at 23:14  
Actually I'd say Der wins because he doesn't care whether or not he" wins" or "loses" and also because he realises you're a bit of a loser if you go about proclaiming your victory ;]
Vonpire - 16.10.2011 at 00:39  
That was a joke, maybe you guys didn't get it.
Or maybe you got but you couldn't resist, like I knew
Slayer666 - 16.10.2011 at 11:18  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 15.10.2011 at 21:05

According to Drew Carey, you actually lose.


Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 15.10.2011 at 23:14

Actually I'd say Der wins because he doesn't care whether or not he" wins" or "loses" and also because he realises you're a bit of a loser if you go about proclaiming your victory ;]


Oh, hush you two. You're ruining it for him. He needs to be victorious here in order to make him feel better about his tiny penis the fact that not everyone thinks this album is a godsend.
Vonpire - 16.10.2011 at 18:16  
No, I just wanted to expose again the kind of ridiculous you are. Thanks for proving me right.
You are so influenced that you did exactly what I wanted you too, you couldn't even differenciate a joke from serious talking.
That is seriously a case of dumbness.

I won, a bottle of darkside cookies, yeah! Lol
Slayer666 ,you have issues XD You want to be elite also to be invited to those train parties don't you??

See the thread is alive again. How easy was that?

Please continue feeding.

I'd love to see discussion about the album though instead of your ridiculous dissection of anything I write.

Before throwing flames aimed at me at least think a bit before doing so. I seriously dont give a f**** either you like the album or not. You guys are completely "at spiders".

"Yes, a storm is certanly coming.../
Troy Killjoy - 16.10.2011 at 20:18  
Since when is it dumb to reference The Price Is Right? Bob Barker would beat the shit out of you for saying that.

Slayer666 - 16.10.2011 at 22:33  
Written by Vonpire on 16.10.2011 at 18:16


Slayer666 ,you have issues XD You want to be elite also to be invited to those train parties don't you??



Yup, that's exactly it. You've got me all figured out. Congrats, champ.

Vonpire - 16.10.2011 at 22:33  
To Troy.

First it wasn't for you. Second what I relate to dumbness is the fact that none of you get that the sentence of "I win" was a joke, I even put the lol in front of it .. Still 3 people have taken that seriously and saw that as an oportunity to "attack".
Troy Killjoy - 17.10.2011 at 00:16  
Written by Vonpire on 16.10.2011 at 22:33
none of you get that the sentence of "I win" was a joke

I don't think you understand the rest of us are all joking with you. :/

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=trolling
Vonpire - 17.10.2011 at 00:50  
Oh really? So how were we going to make your wish?

;X

This is a multiple trolling. Everyone got that. I launched the wood you guys put it on fire.


Then red wine some smoke and a nice piece of music (Draconian for.ex.)

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Draconian - A Rose For The Apocalypse 10 02.09.2011 by Marcel Hubregtse
Albums Draconian - A Rose For The Apocalypse 9 16.03.2010 by Roro
General metal forum A song for the apocalypse day 4.5 07.12.2012 by Hallford9000
Reviews Epica - Requiem For The Indifferent 4 11.06.2012 by Unhealer
News Amon Amarth - Cover Art For "Twilight Of The Thunder God" Revealed! 3 28.07.2008 by Warman



Hits total: 5221 | This month: 105