Rating:
N/A
Fair To Midland - Arrows & Anchors
11 July 2011


01. Heavens To Murgatroyd
02. Whiskey & Ritalin
03. Musical Chairs
04. Uh-Oh
05. Amarillo Sleeps On My Pillow
06. A Loophole In Limbo
07. Typhoid Mary Sends Her Best
08. Short-Haired Tornado
09. The Upset At Bailey Bridge
10. Rikki Tikki Tavi
11. Golden Parachutes
12. Bright Bulbs & Sharp Tools
13. Coppertank Island
14. Three Foolproof Ways To Buy The Farm
15. The Greener Grass
16. Pour The Coal To 'Er [bonus]


If you like prog, no sorry, if you like any melodic metal then Arrows & Anchors has been waiting for you. Fair To Midland is a band who brings a perfectly large variety of styles, moods, and textures but that's not important. What's important is just how damn good it all is.

Apparently Fair To Midland has been around since 1998 and Arrows & Anchors is their fourth full-length album. Questions such as, "Why have I not heard of Fair To Midland before?" and, "Where have you been all my life?" are swirling around my head.

They released their previous album and EP on Serjical Strike records (ran by System Of A Down mainman Serj Tankian) and did some pretty impressive touring and festival gigs with him. After what looks like several years on the road, the band released their pent up emotions in the form of this beautiful new album.

These are some damn beautiful songs with aching harmonies and a permeating darkness throughout… but I hesitate to focus on that. What I remember when I think of this album is how fun it was, even darkly whimsical at times. Without sacrificing an ounce of sincerity, this album makes me smile.

Musically, the instrumentation is quite heavy while still making accommodations for everything from dreamier, rock-like styles all the way to some pretty hard hitting extreme moments. Of course the vocals are wonderful; singer Darroh Sudderth is responsible for many of the texture changes himself as he is able to subtly bring the extremes of both power and tenderness to his instrument.

If you've already been following Fair To Midland then you're one step ahead of me. If not, then congratulations, you've just been introduced to something great.


Band profile: Fair To Midland
Album: Arrows & Anchors


 



Written on 01.10.2011 by
Susan
Susan appreciates quality metal regardless of genre. Metal Storm Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Susan ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 24  
Users visited: 244  
Search this topic:  


Claus - 01.10.2011 at 02:07  
Wow, this review is SO positive. I'm going to have to check them out!
jhook - 01.10.2011 at 03:17  
I got their last album and it sounded good but for some reason i couldnt get into it
Introspekrieg - 01.10.2011 at 04:11  
Really good album, I love how almost all the lyrics are figures-of-speech

Good addition, very nice and positive review for a deserving album!
Edmund Fogg - 01.10.2011 at 04:13  
One of those right place at the right time kind of moments. Been in a prog mood for the past month or so. Will sure give them a try. thanks for the discovery
Ag Fox - 01.10.2011 at 04:40  
*thumbs up* on both the review and the album
dismaleuphony - 01.10.2011 at 04:56  
Nice review. After checking out their songs on FB, it's not something for me, but certainly recommended for those who'd like the idea of progressive and System Of A Down mixed together ("Rikki Tikki Tavi" for sure). It's quite accessible too, fun, and has a great production. Cool stuff, I'll keep it in mind for those who I know who'd be into it
Susan - 01.10.2011 at 05:15  
Written by dismaleuphony on 01.10.2011 at 04:56

Nice review. After checking out their songs on FB, it's not something for me, but certainly recommended for those who'd like the idea of progressive and System Of A Down mixed together ("Rikki Tikki Tavi" for sure). It's quite accessible too, fun, and has a great production. Cool stuff, I'll keep it in mind for those who I know who'd be into it


Thanks! I'd like to clarify though, not knowing which clips are on FB and which aren't, that Rikki Tikki Tavi is not like any other song on this album, not by a long shot. It illustrates their range but definitely stands out a bit on the album (though not in a bad way at all). Other than that track I don't hear anything System-y, and they are no longer on Serj's label.
BenWasHere - 01.10.2011 at 06:25  
Where has this been all my life
Edmund Fogg - 01.10.2011 at 06:29  
Listening to The Greener Grass right now. A really beautifull and well constructed song. Some transitions are a bit sketchy, but they integrate so many different elements it would be inhuman to have silky smooth progression. Music worth listening to in the dark with headphones on.
Introspekrieg - 01.10.2011 at 07:49  
Written by Susan on 01.10.2011 at 05:15

Written by dismaleuphony on 01.10.2011 at 04:56

Nice review. After checking out their songs on FB, it's not something for me, but certainly recommended for those who'd like the idea of progressive and System Of A Down mixed together ("Rikki Tikki Tavi" for sure). It's quite accessible too, fun, and has a great production. Cool stuff, I'll keep it in mind for those who I know who'd be into it


Thanks! I'd like to clarify though, not knowing which clips are on FB and which aren't, that Rikki Tikki Tavi is not like any other song on this album, not by a long shot. It illustrates their range but definitely stands out a bit on the album (though not in a bad way at all). Other than that track I don't hear anything System-y, and they are no longer on Serj's label.


Yeah Rikki Tikki Tavi is probably the reason I would give this a 9 and not a 10. It is an older song of theirs that they decided to plop in the middle of this album, kind of ruins the flow...
silenius - 01.10.2011 at 10:26  
Okey, just got my hands on it and its pewpew mega amazing! Spot on review aswell. Fuck im gonna be listening to this for a loong time^^
BloodTears - 01.10.2011 at 11:50  
This album is a beast Really huge surprise that I found out about this one a while ago.

"Rikki Tikki Tavi" is my favourite song on the album, hands down.

The review is great btw. Passionate! People need to listen to this craziness.
Risto - 01.10.2011 at 13:21  
Fables from a Mayfly wasn't really my thing... no wonder "Dance of the Manatee" got that radio airplay though.

EDIT: Right... this band has seriously grown up. Some very good songs in there!
Merchant of Doom - 01.10.2011 at 13:43  
Great surprise... the album has some fillers (not many), but overall it's pretty consistent. Great tunes. Best track "Short-haired Tornado"... reminds me of Dredg, "Catch Without Arms" era...
MeloDeathViking - 03.10.2011 at 18:49  
I only have Fable From a Mayfly, which I used to really like, but haven't listened to in a while. I'll have to go back and give that a listen and then check this one out. I knew it was released, but have been very hesitant to get it. There seems to be a lot of positive feedback from members that I usually trust for recommendations, so it looks like I'll probably end up checking this one out!
neonxaos - 05.10.2011 at 23:25  
This is an ASTOUNDING piece of work. I don't even know where to begin. I need to give it many more spins.
Daniell - 06.10.2011 at 00:17  
Your great review made me check out this band. There is some seriously crazy stuff going on in some songs. Highly recommended to anyone who is into bands that stand a bit apart.
R'Vannith - 06.10.2011 at 11:39  
Written by Daniell on 06.10.2011 at 00:17

Your great review made me check out this band. There is some seriously crazy stuff going on in some songs. Highly recommended to anyone who is into bands that stand a bit apart.


That's exactly how I'd describe them, a unique band flying in the face of convention, some really interesting twists and turns on this album.
neonxaos - 07.10.2011 at 02:44  
I have listened to this album ten times in a row today. That has never happened before. This is one of the best things I have ever heard in my entire life.
Darkside Momo - 14.01.2012 at 18:03  
Some great tunes in there. Really catchy, maybe dark but so uplifting!
7thSlave - 29.01.2012 at 21:50  
Having just listened to this again (and re-realising how much fun it is!), the only proper thing to do was to come back here and thank Lyrinan for the recommendation! Ta muchly.
ChampionOfPower - 12.03.2012 at 19:59  
This band performs live as well as anyone I've seen. Great to see them getting some notice.
Druss - 12.03.2012 at 22:38  
I absolutely love this album, beat all the other progressive releases of last year by a country mile for me (though I admit I normally don't like progressive metal). Like the reviewer said, its overall just fun and whimsical, and for me has some of the best lyrics I've ever heard, both full of meaning and amibigious enough for a listener to inject personal meaning.
R Lewis - 28.11.2012 at 19:28  
I discovered them only because of your review. Thank You a lot for writing this

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Fair To Midland - Arrows & Anchors 7.5 01.10.2011 by Edmund Fogg
Reviews Fair To Midland - Fables From A Mayfly: What I Tell You Three Times Is True 5.5 14.02.2013 by neonxaos
Albums Fair To Midland - The Carbon Copy Silver Lining 4.5 11.12.2012 by Kuroboshi
Interviews Fair To Midland interview 4.5 17.07.2012 by Introspekrieg
Albums Fair To Midland - Fables From A Mayfly: What I Tell You Three Times Is True 4.5 01.10.2011 by malaikat



Hits total: 4044 | This month: 43