Immolation - Providence review



Reviewer:
N/A

84 users:
8.57
Band: Immolation
Album: Providence
Release date: October 2011


01. What They Bring
02. Illumination
03. Still Lost
04. Providence
05. Swallow The Fear


With eight albums to their name and the respect of the death metal genre, Immolation have now been ploughing their way forward for over twenty years. Providence is a new release in celebration of this milestone. Much in the same fashion as Immolation's twenty year history, Providence comes to us without any big fuss or overblown estimations; Providence is for the core of fans, the unholy cult themselves.

Consistently bulldozing their way forward through the metal underground, Immolation have only gotten better over the years. Last year's Majesty And Decay saw the band peak once more, and the material here on Providence is easily on the same tier. Crushing vocals, pulverizing guitars, an offensive assault of drums, Immolation once again provide everything you could expect and wish for.

Just under twenty minutes; five songs with no interludes or fillers, Providence is the perfect soundtrack to your next dinner break. Immolation don't mess about; while many could have opted for a mini-disc of demos or B-sides, these Americans offer five new and original pieces that would hold their own on any of their top albums. "What They Bring" and "Still Lost" especially are absolute tomes of brutality, that while celebrating the longevity of this great band also illustrate how much poorer the scene would be without them.


 



Written on 27.10.2011 by Member of Staff since 2006.


Comments

Comments: 8   Visited by: 234 users
27.10.2011 - 21:08
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Pretty decent this.
Loading...
27.10.2011 - 21:16
Misfit74
I love this album and think their use of unique sounds to enhance the depth of the music is masterful. This is quality death-metal that makes me intent on hearing the entire EP start to finish. Just so much power, heaviness, and complexity with a pace that's almost groovy. This is a perfect example of a band that's has talent, execution, and originality within their genre in spades. Bravo.
Loading...
27.10.2011 - 21:42
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
I'm a big fan of Immolation and I love their sound, but this is probably my least favorite release of theirs. I had negative thoughts about it after the video they released and sadly the rest of the songs didn't do anything to change my opinion.

Probably a 6/10 from me, unfortunately. Although it is just an EP so I'm not overly concerned about their future.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
06.11.2011 - 13:47
Kass
St. Anger
Such a decent short review, pretty much like the EP.
----
"The Bees Made Honey In The Lion's Skull"
Loading...
14.01.2012 - 02:46
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
This is ok, not amazing, but not bad.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
29.01.2012 - 01:42
Kurty Wurty
Amatsu Mikaboshi
Does anyone have this EP on as a physical CD?/ Or could help direct me to finding one or did it never exist?
----
Loading...
04.07.2012 - 17:05
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Kurty Wurty on 29.01.2012 at 01:42

Does anyone have this EP on as a physical CD?/ Or could help direct me to finding one or did it never exist?

I think this was a Scion A/V digital only release, but I'm not sure.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
10.12.2014 - 17:16
AnyrbanGhosh
EP Artwork ww2 inspired?
Loading...

Hits total: 4883 | This month: 16