Rating:
8.5
Cloak Of Altering - The Night Comes Illuminated With Death
2011


01. I Diabolus, Fallen And Vengeful
02. Cloak Of Altering
03. The Night Comes Illuminated With Death
04. The Lustful Farçade Of The Madrigals
05. Veil Of Stars
06. Golden Radiation Fills The Void


Mories de Jong is hyperactive this year, no one can deny it. After De Magia Veterum, Gnaw Their Tongues and Aderlating the time has arrived for Cloak Of Altering to come to the surface. The Night Comes Illuminated With Death is the title of the debut and the cover artwork is actually very tempting, it holds a tattoo-like aesthetic in shades of gold and crimson that leave an intense and royal impression at the same time.

This time Mories depicts a more structured work through his black metal hallucinations. He still holds some chaotic components that are the main characteristic of his infidel art, but on this very record it's chaos within borders. He's set a line which he can't surpass because otherwise it would sound (more or less) like his other works. I mean, there's still the trademark sound of Mories, but it's a bit different this time, proving that he can actually dominate the abstract and set some rules. Disharmony and order pace together hand in hand and forge an ever-conflicting yet ever-cooperating conservative-liberal oxymoron that actually works.

The production isn't crystal clear, and properly so; once again it holds a blurry yet ever-floating and in-depth vibe with some sort of echo being omnipresent through the whole duration of The Night Comes Illuminated With Death. In other words, Mories offers the ideal production the album was asking for so as to let most of the ideas be noticed but at the same time keeping a cryptic aesthetic within the majestic mist. Cloak Of Altering possess a majestic vibe and it's quite obvious through the keyboards that play a primary role and depict quite an affected work. They float all over the place and they never forget to present quality ideas either in fast tempo or by taking their time to unfold. Apart from the renowned black metal riffing - that is actually more present this time rather than the chaotic "something" of other works - Mories offers some beautiful solos and melodic chords/ideas from time to time so as to enrich and strengthen the structural character of this project. The vocals are either volcanic eruptions through recitations or semi-grunting fumes, or they move in ecstatic shouting and screaming pathways from beyond that dance at the scissors' edge. FXs, electronics, clinical drumming, etc complete the scenery that will accompany you for about 36 minutes of bizarre evocations.

A murky sense of melody, a surrounding ambiance and a beautified sense of extremity is everything you should expect from Cloak Of Altering. Mories de Jong is a black metal/dark ambient machine that is not willing to give up his dissonant mission. And who knows, there are 2 months left until 2011 reaches completion, so stay tuned, another strike could take place any time.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 9


Band profile: Cloak Of Altering
Album: The Night Comes Illuminated With Death


 



Written on 29.10.2011 by
DerRozzengarten
"It is myself I have never met, whose face is pasted on the underside of my mind."
More reviews by DerRozzengarten ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 29  
Users visited: 235  
Search this topic:  


Mr. Doctor - 29.10.2011 at 23:47  
I'm going to get all fanboy up in this bitch so you've been warned:

Mories de Jong is a GENIUS... A mastermind in what can be labeled as extreme music.
!J.O.O.E.! - 30.10.2011 at 15:05  
Kinda sad this excellent album will only appeal to about 1% of the MS demographic.
DerRozzengarten - 30.10.2011 at 15:15  
"us, the real Cloak Of Altering fans... ... ... ..."

Start your tube propaganda G.I. Joe

Now let's worship Mories all the three of us, triarchy of the lost lovers
!J.O.O.E.! - 30.10.2011 at 15:32  
It shall be done...


DerRozzengarten - 30.10.2011 at 15:33  
You Diabolus
!J.O.O.E.! - 30.10.2011 at 15:38  
I'm feeling fallen and vengeful, what can I say?
DerRozzengarten - 30.10.2011 at 15:40  
Say just words to me
vezzy - 30.10.2011 at 15:51  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 30.10.2011 at 15:05

Kinda sad this excellent album will only appeal to about 1% of the MS demographic.


You can count me in because I loved it.

Thanks, German name dude!
!J.O.O.E.! - 30.10.2011 at 15:52  
This band just became 0.01% less cool and exclusive.
Troy Killjoy - 30.10.2011 at 19:03  
I still have to look into all these weird psychedelic/noise/drone/ambient black metal bands... I guess this is just another album to add to the list of stuff I wish I could tell people I listened to and loved but really I have no idea what it sounds like. Maybe tonight I'll actually listen to some of this stuff instead of saying I will and putting it off as usual.

Plus, it's not like the review is turning me off the idea of trying.
Hybreda - 30.10.2011 at 22:43  
I'm so glad this album's got high review. I saw the cover before the point and immediately fell in love! I hope I do love the music too, can't wait to add this beauty to my collection!
Troy Killjoy - 30.10.2011 at 22:47  
Written by Hybreda on 30.10.2011 at 22:43
I saw the cover before the point and immediately fell in love!

Likewise, that's an amazing cover. Made me interested in the band before I even read the review.
Daniell - 30.10.2011 at 23:30  
It's great to hear that Mr De jong has finally started to pay attention to something called song structure. Definitely his best project.
!J.O.O.E.! - 30.10.2011 at 23:32  
Written by Daniell on 30.10.2011 at 23:30

It's great to hear that Mr De jong has finally started to pay attention to something called song structure. Definitely his best project.

All his projects have structure, and they're not even that difficult to follow. For all the noise he makes almost everything he does has a discernible underlying harmony of some sort. Otherwise his music would be pure noise, which it most certainly isn't.
Mr. Doctor - 30.10.2011 at 23:53  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 30.10.2011 at 23:32

All his projects have structure, and they're not even that difficult to follow. For all the noise he makes almost everything he does has a discernible underlying harmony of some sort. Otherwise his music would be pure noise, which it most certainly isn't.


I can definitely hear structure ins tuff like Gnaw Their Tongues as well
!J.O.O.E.! - 30.10.2011 at 23:55  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 30.10.2011 at 23:53


I can definitely hear structure ins tuff like Gnaw Their Tongues as well

I remember a few years ago when I stumbled on him/it, the first thing I thought about was how it managed to make ultra chaotic, terrifying music yet nail it down to a very followable structure. So many bands trying to do this would trail off into vague, random territory but his ability to keep it somehow contained is what makes him the modern genius he is.
Marcel Hubregtse - 30.10.2011 at 23:58  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 30.10.2011 at 23:32

Written by Daniell on 30.10.2011 at 23:30

It's great to hear that Mr De jong has finally started to pay attention to something called song structure. Definitely his best project.

All his projects have structure, and they're not even that difficult to follow. For all the noise he makes almost everything he does has a discernible underlying harmony of some sort. Otherwise his music would be pure noise, which it most certainly isn't.



Yeah all of hsi music is structured. I never understand why there are people around who find his music unstructured, even Aderlating is structured although live it is less structured than on album
!J.O.O.E.! - 31.10.2011 at 00:00  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 30.10.2011 at 23:58



Yeah all of hsi music is structured. I never understand why there are people around who find his music unstructured, even Aderlating is structured although live it is less structured than on album

Yeah Aderlating is probably the closest he gets to being "unstructured" 'coz of the dark ambient elements in it but it's still relatively confined music.
Daniell - 31.10.2011 at 10:36  
As usual, I stand alone
Well, maybe it's only my impression. After all, apart from Cloak of Altering, I only know a few releases of Gnaw Their Tongues and 1 album by De Magia Veterum.
Ag Fox - 01.11.2011 at 14:21  
Wow. never heard of this guy or any of his projects, but the track Joe posted is great. Thanks Der for the review. Really need to dig this album out soon and enjoy the chaos
Slayer666 - 01.11.2011 at 14:48  
This sounds like Bon Jovi compared to Mories' other works.
DerRozzengarten - 01.11.2011 at 17:28  
Written by Slayer666 on 01.11.2011 at 14:48

This sounds like Bon Jovi compared to Mories' other works.

You so kvlt you shit corpsepaint.
Mr. Doctor - 01.11.2011 at 17:33  
Written by Slayer666 on 01.11.2011 at 14:48

This sounds like Bon Jovi compared to Mories' other works.


Oh my god I want to be like you when I grow up...
Like totally pretend-to-be-kvlt-like and stuff. You are so like...cool and stuff.
Slayer666 - 01.11.2011 at 18:42  
Written by DerRozzengarten on 01.11.2011 at 17:28

Written by Slayer666 on 01.11.2011 at 14:48

This sounds like Bon Jovi compared to Mories' other works.

You so kvlt you shit corpsepaint.


Not all the time, only during winter at full moon. If there is a virgin sacrifice involved.

In all seriousness though, this is indeed really much less chaotic and harsh than, say, Gnaw Their Tongues.
Which works great for me, because I could listen to this one all the time, but I can only put on some GTT when I'm in the mood.

Written by Mr. Doctor on 01.11.2011 at 17:33

Oh my god I want to be like you when I grow up...
Like totally pretend-to-be-kvlt-like and stuff. You are so like...cool and stuff.


Why so butthurt, bro?
Mr. Doctor - 01.11.2011 at 19:25  
Written by Slayer666 on 01.11.2011 at 18:42

Why so butthurt, bro?


Why can't I be like you?
Slayer666 - 01.11.2011 at 19:41  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 01.11.2011 at 19:25

Why can't I be like you?


Mr. Doctor - 01.11.2011 at 19:48  
Written by Slayer666 on 01.11.2011 at 19:41
troll


Fucking a thread of a good band with a troll face hurts my soul.
You win this round.
-DC-002- - 27.02.2012 at 02:17  
Chaotic, intense and awesome. Really interesting album, and, Cloak of Altering is one of the best Band names/album titles/song titles I've heard in a while
3rdWorld - 28.04.2012 at 19:57  
I loved The Divine Antithesis. Gonna check this out now..

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Desire - Locus Horrendus - The Night Cries Of A Sullen Soul... 6 08.10.2010 by Damnated_Soul
Reviews ShamRain - Deeper Into The Night 6 24.09.2006 by
Reviews Death Breath - Stinking Up The Night 5.5 23.04.2009 by
Albums Young And In The Way - When Life Comes To Death 4.5 18.03.2014 by Góral
News The Nulll Collective - Sign With Aesthetic Death Records 4.5 16.04.2010 by Black Conundrum



Hits total: 5750 | This month: 121