Rating:
6.9
Antropophobia - Scream In Emptiness
2011


01. Antropophobia (Thoughts Of An Angel)
02. Lucifer's Scream
03. Suicide Of Genius
04. When The Dark Angel Cried
05. Beauty Of Chaos
06. Scream In Emptiness
07. In The Night
08. Light Kills
09. It's All Over


BadMoodMan music hails one man musical project Antropophobia (I guess if you are afraid of people, as the choice in band name infers, it makes sense to be a solo project) as dark metal. I guess that makes sense.

Scream In Emptiness sees Dmitry Konovalov cull various elements of different genres and fuse them into one cohesive sound. Within you'll find the misanthropic lyrics and rasped vocals of black metal, the melancholy of doom, even occasional Gilmour-era Pink Floyd-style solos, combined with mid-paced distorted riffing, all drenched in an atmospheric keyboard cocoon.

The sound and feel is what you could expect with the above description - songs plod along, driven by some fuzzed out distorted guitars (I dig the tone), with keyboards providing mood enhancement. DK rasps lyrical negativity over what is only perhaps slightly depressive music. Think "my favorite sports team just lost a regular season game" dismay, as opposed to "my entire family died in a fiery car accident, crashing into my bride-to-be's limo on the way to our wedding, killing her and her family as well" full blown despair. Throw the remote at the TV sadness as opposed to throw yourself off a bridge woe.

This is likely the result of taking some elements of hostile, negative music and mashing it all into a clean sounding, synth-swathed package… During the distillation process, they effectively diluted the emotional impact of those elements. It sounds great, the songs are good, but the whole effect is muted.

Scream In Emptiness has been referred to as "Luciferian" dark metal, so to drive my impression home, I will paraphrase another diabolic antagonist, Doctor Evil.

The vibe "is semi-evil. It's quasi-evil. The margarine of evil. It's the Diet Coke of evil. Just one calorie, not evil enough."

But hey, I enjoy a Diet Coke from time to time, and I did enjoy this album.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 6
Production: 8


 



Written on 02.11.2011 by
BitterCOld
BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.
More reviews by BitterCOld ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 10  
Users visited: 102  
Search this topic:  


Troy Killjoy - 02.11.2011 at 08:50  
Hm. You bring up a lot of negative points but sometimes those points are exactly what I like in my black metal so this is definitely going on the watchlist.
Cynic Metalhead - 02.11.2011 at 10:59  
I hate Diet Coke as I am already weighing around 45-50 Kg!! Btw I'll definitely check it out what's so "quasi-evil, evil or mashed evil in this"!!
Mr. Doctor - 02.11.2011 at 11:15  
Iremember I checked it out quite some time ago... I remember I didn't like it so much to even stay in my computer so I don't think this review will make me change my mind.
Good review anyway.
Ag Fox - 02.11.2011 at 19:25  
I like the album quite a lot, but I do think the review is very fair (=
wormdrink414 - 03.11.2011 at 05:16  
Quote:

Think "my favorite sports team just lost a regular season game" dismay, as opposed to "my entire family died in a fiery car accident, crashing into my bride-to-be's limo on the way to our wedding, killing her and her family as well" full blown despair.


First, lol. Second, pretty sure that's not a distinction most Blazer fans know how to make.
!J.O.O.E.! - 03.11.2011 at 10:31  
I kinda like it.
Merchant of Doom - 03.11.2011 at 15:32  
It's a 5 for me... fuzzy, mid-paced guitars, toy drums, BM-ish vocals... the ideas are good, the execution abysmal... a couple of good tracks, though, but not enough to make this interesting...
Troy Killjoy - 06.11.2011 at 08:02  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 03.11.2011 at 10:31
I kinda like it.

I like it quite a bit actually. Just got through my second listen and I think it sits at about a 7 or 7.5. The vocals threw me off at first but after a full song they weren't an obstacle.
BitterCOld - 06.11.2011 at 08:25  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 06.11.2011 at 08:02

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 03.11.2011 at 10:31
I kinda like it.

I like it quite a bit actually. Just got through my second listen and I think it sits at about a 7 or 7.5. The vocals threw me off at first but after a full song they weren't an obstacle.


i like it as well, but perhaps it was repeated and repeated listens that helped me develop a tolerance. it is a pleasant listen, well constructed songs with good production... but didn't leave me with a significant impact.
omjaimes - 05.02.2012 at 00:23  
I like an album is not memorable, but by far one can observe that it is a good art project even though production has been made without much technological or economic resources, hopefully a label put on eye on it.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Antropophobia - Scream In Emptiness 6 05.02.2012 by InnerSelf
Reviews Enth - Enth 3.5 04.10.2011 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Indian - Guiltless 3.5 07.06.2011 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews The Great Old Ones - Al Azif 3 17.04.2012 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews The Prestige - Black Mouths 3 13.07.2012 by Ag Fox



Hits total: 2162 | This month: 44