Rating:
N/A
Cradle Of Filth - Evermore Darkly... [EP]
24 October 2011


Disc I
01. Transmission From Hell?
02. Thank Your Lucky Scars
03. Forgive Me Father (I Have Sinned) [elder version]
04. Lilith Immaculate [extended length version]
05. The Persecution Song [elder version]
06. Forgive Me Father (I'm In A Trance)
07. The Spawn Of Love And War [elder version]
08. Summer Dying Fast ["Midnight In The Labyrinth" breadcrumb trail]

Disc II [Venus Diversa DVD]
+ Lilith Immaculate [video]
+ You Can't Polish A Turd… But You Can Roll It In Glitter [Documentary]
+ Burning Down Graspop [live footage]


Almost a year since Darkly, Darkly, Venus Aversa, and the filthy Englishmen are back with... not much. Evermore Darkly... offers just one original track and a splatter of demos, remixes and fillers.

Following an eerily spooky intro, "Thank Your Lucky Scars" is the only new track here, much in the same vein as the band's last album. The rest of the EP offers little to nothing for non-fanatic obsessive's; "Forgive Me Father (I'm In A Trance)" might be a peculiar but decent trance remix of the original, and the demo version of "The Spawn Of Love And War" gives you the opportunity to hear a rawer version of one of the last album's more promising songs - but there is no reason why you should feel the desire to pick up Evermore Darkly... and play it through again.

Cradle Of Filth have a brilliant track record with EPs, from arguably their absolute best release V Empire, to From The Cradle To Enslave to Bitter Suites To Succubi. Perhaps Evermore Darkly...'s biggest draw is the accompanying DVD with live footage on it, but it just makes the release seem all the more thrown together for the sake of it.

Unfortunately it seems that the band just didn't care to put the effort in to making this a worthwhile release. Only for the masochistic diehards.


Band profile: Cradle Of Filth
Album: Evermore Darkly...


 



Written on 03.11.2011 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 16  
Users visited: 270  
Search this topic:  


Troy Killjoy - 03.11.2011 at 22:36  
Cashgrab 101.
AngelofDeth - 04.11.2011 at 08:17  
Damn... i fuckn loved Godspeed, but it also came with false hope for cradles future.. with these last two releases they seem worse than ever.

In the words of the late, and great Bilbo Baggins..
Cradle of Filth is "Like butter scraped over too much bread"

haha.
Quirin - 04.11.2011 at 16:24  
Ah well... Although Evermore appears to be more of a commercial move, I admit I quite enjoyed the remixes ...except for Forgive me father, which felt like a bad mushroom trip.
It reminds a bit of the Thornography Deluxe post-release, which I enjoyed as well, to be honest.

So, not much new material, that's a fact. Too easy then? Not worthy of people's €? Guess it's a matter of how wealthy and dedicated a fan you are.
Nevertheless, the monumental talent displayed by Dani & co allows me to foresee a potentially bright future for COF.
Warman - 04.11.2011 at 16:27  
Huh? Another version of "Summer Dying Fast"? One of my favourite Cradle tracks, need to check it out.
Daniell - 04.11.2011 at 18:18  
One of my all time favourite bands, the authors of such brilliant releases as "Vempire" are tumbling down towards the rock bottom of crappiness
Cynic Metalhead - 04.11.2011 at 20:39  
I despise the New Cradle of Filth quite honestly!! Old COF was really good and unique!
Koen Smits - 04.11.2011 at 22:15  
I like the live footage: was there when they were "Burning Down Graspop"
Plague_Angel - 04.11.2011 at 23:53  
This review lends the album about as much credit as it is worth.
Really a rather crappy EP from a usually hopeful band. Needless to say, I was gravely disappointed.
bluegreengod - 04.11.2011 at 23:57  
It's probably Roadrunner Records and not necessarily the band that didn't care to put the effort into making this a worthwhile release. (I haven't heard it so that's assuming it's not worthwhile)
Plague_Angel - 06.11.2011 at 03:51  
Written by Guest on 04.11.2011 at 23:57

It's probably Roadrunner Records and not necessarily the band that didn't care to put the effort into making this a worthwhile release. (I haven't heard it so that's assuming it's not worthwhile)


Roadrunner Records had no involvement with this EP.
Cradle was signed to Peaceville Records before DDVA was released.
Troy Killjoy - 06.11.2011 at 03:55  
Written by Plague_Angel on 06.11.2011 at 03:51
Cradle was signed to Peaceville Records before DDVA was released.

Ah Peaceville, masters of unnecessary compilations, meaningless EPs, and pointless re-releases.
Plague_Angel - 06.11.2011 at 19:09  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 06.11.2011 at 03:55

Written by Plague_Angel on 06.11.2011 at 03:51
Cradle was signed to Peaceville Records before DDVA was released.

Ah Peaceville, masters of unnecessary compilations, meaningless EPs, and pointless re-releases.


How unfortunately true. But at least Cradle is now with a label more their style, than one who also signed Nickleback.
bluegreengod - 07.11.2011 at 06:23  
Written by Plague_Angel on 06.11.2011 at 03:51

Written by Guest on 04.11.2011 at 23:57

Roadrunner Records had no involvement with this EP.
Cradle was signed to Peaceville Records before DDVA was released.


Yeah, Peaceville... I think they actually split w/ roadrunner a couple years ago. My bad.
A FREE SPIRIT - 02.12.2011 at 20:48  
I really like COF albums, yet I cannot deny the fact that they like to collect money more than they like to play music
Paradox0 - 04.01.2012 at 12:39  
I surprisingly liked this EP. Sure a little over priced for what where getting but at least they didn't go ahead with the special edition cd thing again and make fans re-buy a more expensive cd with a handful of new(ish) tracks. Thank You Lucky Scars isn't too bad of a song and I find myself actually liking the demos a bit more than their album versions. Strangely the music sounds a bit tighter without the additional production for some reason, although once again, the songs are at best good no overlooked greatness from over-ambitious production here. However despite this being a good song, some decent demos, a bad techno mix and an orchestral version of Summer Dying Fast (seriously why is this here, is this some kind of reference to their previous EP) this is a little underwhelming for a CoF EP which are usually on par with their albums (which is a complement by the way).

I would LOVE to say this is a good new direction for CoF as I liked this EP more so than DDVA but this doesnt have anything new. Looks like where going to get another 10 reconfigerations of The Smoke of Her Burning.
Array - 04.01.2012 at 17:13  
Written by Paradox0 on 04.01.2012 at 12:39

an orchestral version of Summer Dying Fast (seriously why is this here, is this some kind of reference to their previous EP)

They gonna release a symphonic album, which carries the title Midnight In The Labyrinth.

"Is that the final version?"

-> "Actually no, in fact... when we mixed it, I found the really low bass parts, bass drums and some other stuff were missing. I had to reach a deadline to get that on there for the Halloween release, so we figured we'd just go with one that people have heard in our set over the course of the various summer festivals we did in Europe. So we called it a "breadcrumb trail," an example of what's to follow."

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Cradle Of Filth - Godspeed On The Devil's Thunder 9 03.11.2008 by ArcesseEum
Albums Cradle Of Filth - Evermore Darkly... [EP] 7.5 11.01.2012 by PoptartDinosaur
Reviews Cradle Of Filth - Darkly, Darkly, Venus Aversa 7 03.11.2010 by Kennoth
Reviews Cradle Of Filth - Darkly, Darkly, Venus Aversa 7 12.07.2011 by Vonpire
Albums Cradle Of Filth - Darkly Darkly Venus Aversa 6 06.01.2010 by Destructhor



Hits total: 3958 | This month: 25