Rating:
8.4
Continuo Renacer - The Great Escape
28 October 2011


01. The Great Escape
02. Give Up Tomorrow
03. For Those Things To Come
04. Facing Fears
05. The Newborn


This is some wanky, jazzy, death-injected prog that doesn't suck.

But before all but two of you leave, The Great Escape is also one of those albums that's so quirky it's kind of a must listen.  Thing is, Continuo Renacer aren't "hey look how clever we are, now you see me, now you don't", Criss Angel chilling with Herman Li, overly-indulgent kind of douchebags.  They might really be batshit insane.  Just speculating, of course, but the psychosis audible on this seems genuine.
 
The Great Escape is basically what you'd get if you took a slab of Primus, a pinch of Obscura, and a handful of Gary Busey telepathically communicating with an umbrella, then mixed them in an old industrial-strength blender. With almond milk. It's a loony. It consists mostly of dissonant, polyrhythmic whateverthefucks from the guitars, getting a lot of its melody from its bass. Excluding the brief phone recording bits during the first track, there aren't any vocals either (a good decision). The instruments coast and hiccup then shatter then coast then explode then coast together, and so on. It does seem pretty aimless by the end, but, strangely enough, aimless in a good way.

The band's myspace page says they're stuff is part death metal, which is true to an extent. A bit like how Subway sandwiches can be good for you.  If you took out all of the parts that make this tasty, yeah, there'd be some death metal left.  But, last time I checked, half a footlong on whole wheat bread with lettuce and vinegar isn't really a rewarding thing to chew on.  The weird synthy, jazzy, wtf injections on it are what make this album fun.  Despite the decent number of solid death riffs, it's an offbeat, proggy sort of deal first and foremost. One that just happens to get a little brutal sometimes. Nevertheless, the death metal injections were necessary too. A hoagie without bread and lettuce is a piece of shit.
 
This is some prog strangeness to melt into when, after a hard day not having a job and lurking on the old MS, you've got nothing better to do than zone out and enjoy a flashback or five. One more inane comparison: Listening to it is like kicking back in some surreal, Rocko's Modern Life-esque living room, watching Decapitated jam with Silvio Berlusconi on T.V., with someone babbling distorted riffs at you from behind the couch, and having one of Herbie Hancock's jazz fusion groups laying down fills from the kitchen for when commercials come on.  Sometimes a pretty sweet setup, for sure.

Standout tracks: "The Newborn" and "Give Up Tomorrow"


 



Written on 10.11.2011 by
wormdrink414
Wormdrink's real name is George and he works at a convenience store in the Eugene/Springfield area.
More reviews by wormdrink414 ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 25  
Users visited: 198  
Search this topic:  


Susan - 10.11.2011 at 06:31  
I. Must. Listen. To. This
Troy Killjoy - 10.11.2011 at 07:57  
Written by Susan on 10.11.2011 at 06:31
I. Must. Listen. To. This

OMG Lyr spot the problem: "The band's myspace page says they're stuff is part death metal..."

Just pullin' your leg.

Nice review again worm, there's a chance I might actually listen to this based on your write-up.
Susan - 10.11.2011 at 08:04  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 10.11.2011 at 07:57

Written by Susan on 10.11.2011 at 06:31
I. Must. Listen. To. This

OMG Lyr spot the problem: "The band's myspace page says they're stuff is part death metal..."

Just pullin' your leg.

Nice review again worm, there's a chance I might actually listen to this based on your write-up.


Well if you actually READ the review smart ass......
Troy Killjoy - 10.11.2011 at 08:11  
Written by Susan on 10.11.2011 at 08:04
Well if you actually READ the review smart ass......

Are you implying I'm one of those people that only look into reviews for the overall score and then comment?
Susan - 10.11.2011 at 08:14  
No, no, I mean the part about death metal being the bread and lettuce Anyway, this review made me a little hungry but what it REALLY did was make me want to hear an interesting band that wormy doesn't think is all that death-y.

Either that or it'll turn me into a giant death metal fan overnight
Susan - 10.11.2011 at 08:17  
I just can't resist a review with words like wanky, jazzy, prog that doesn't suck, Rocko's Modern Life, sandwiches, loony, weird synthy, distorted riffs, etc. I just can't!!
silenius - 10.11.2011 at 08:57  
Love this band^^ makes me extremely happy by just listening to this album, its fucking retarded and i love it xD
BloodTears - 10.11.2011 at 11:14  
You had me at "eath-injected prog that doesn't suck", so to speak.
Milena - 10.11.2011 at 11:14  
'Listening to it is like kicking back in some surreal, Rocko's Modern Life-esque living room, watching Decapitated jam with Silvio Berlusconi on T.V., with someone babbling distorted riffs at you from behind the couch, and having one of Herbie Hancock's jazz fusion groups laying down fills from the kitchen for when commercials come on.'

Well how the fuck do you come up with stuff like this *nerd rage*

Sweet review. I bet the album is sweet too. "Before all but you two leave"... when it comes to prog, I'm always one of those two

Written by BloodTears on 10.11.2011 at 11:14

You had me at "eath-injected prog that doesn't suck", so to speak.


Aaaand, I'd say you're the other part of those two.
MechanisT - 10.11.2011 at 12:02  
"This is some wanky, jazzy, death-injected prog that doesn't suck."

I'm sold.
BloodTears - 10.11.2011 at 12:22  
Written by Milena on 10.11.2011 at 11:14

'Listening to it is like kicking back in some surreal, Rocko's Modern Life-esque living room, watching Decapitated jam with Silvio Berlusconi on T.V., with someone babbling distorted riffs at you from behind the couch, and having one of Herbie Hancock's jazz fusion groups laying down fills from the kitchen for when commercials come on.'

Well how the fuck do you come up with stuff like this *nerd rage*

Sweet review. I bet the album is sweet too. "Before all but you two leave"... when it comes to prog, I'm always one of those two

Written by BloodTears on 10.11.2011 at 11:14

You had me at "eath-injected prog that doesn't suck", so to speak.


Aaaand, I'd say you're the other part of those two.


You mean wanky and jazzy? lol
Milena - 10.11.2011 at 14:01  
Written by BloodTears on 10.11.2011 at 12:22

You mean wanky and jazzy? lol

Nah, I mean the only other person that frequents the site that isn't scared off when prog is mentioned
Oh, and Lyrinan too. There's actually three of us, that horrible mistake in the review must be corrected
BloodTears - 10.11.2011 at 14:03  
Written by Milena on 10.11.2011 at 14:01

Written by BloodTears on 10.11.2011 at 12:22

You mean wanky and jazzy? lol

Nah, I mean the only other person that frequents the site that isn't scared off when prog is mentioned
Oh, and Lyrinan too. There's actually three of us, that horrible mistake in the review must be corrected


Ah, mind you, there's plenty of us out here, you just have to look carefully

I know a bunch!
Milena - 10.11.2011 at 14:25  
Written by BloodTears on 10.11.2011 at 14:03

Ah, mind you, there's plenty of us out here, you just have to look carefully

I know a bunch!

Yeah, but I don't see them around commenting a lot and it's always a good feeling to have a girl-power group. "Babes For Prog" or something.
Ag Fox - 10.11.2011 at 14:33  
I like being the only guy in a group of ladies =P[/offtopic]

nice job again, worm. Another album that I need to check out
Rulatore - 10.11.2011 at 15:07  
Seems nice.
Susan - 10.11.2011 at 17:23  
Written by Milena on 10.11.2011 at 14:25

Written by BloodTears on 10.11.2011 at 14:03

Ah, mind you, there's plenty of us out here, you just have to look carefully

I know a bunch!

Yeah, but I don't see them around commenting a lot and it's always a good feeling to have a girl-power group. "Babes For Prog" or something.


Babes for Prog!! Mora, you're a genius Can we get jackets like we're a biker gang?
Milena - 10.11.2011 at 17:45  
Written by Susan on 10.11.2011 at 17:23

Babes for Prog!! Mora, you're a genius Can we get jackets like we're a biker gang?

I have a huge jacket I can customize, but I think my friends would refuse any contact with me if I wore the word 'PROG' anywhere on my clothing, I bore them with it enough anyway
Mr. Doctor - 10.11.2011 at 18:13  
Worm had me with this:

Written by Susan on 10.11.2011 at 08:17
Rocko's Modern Life


wormdrink414 - 10.11.2011 at 23:16  
Written by Milena on 10.11.2011 at 11:14

Well how the fuck do you come up with stuff like this *nerd rage*

Extreme sleep deprivation mostly.
Spirit Molecule - 10.11.2011 at 23:50  
Definitely going to check this one out. I really liked their debut album, didn't know they were still around.
Nice review by the way. I'm sure there are a lot of guys into prog as well, at one point I used to listen to only proggy jazzy stuff.
Gelati - 11.11.2011 at 02:50  
This is wildly interesting. Awesome find!
Panterica - 12.11.2011 at 13:15  
Written by Susan on 10.11.2011 at 08:17

I just can't resist a review with words like wanky, jazzy, prog that doesn't suck, Rocko's Modern Life, sandwiches, loony, weird synthy, distorted riffs, etc. I just can't!!


Same here!
BloodTears - 16.11.2011 at 17:03  
Written by Milena on 10.11.2011 at 17:45

Written by Susan on 10.11.2011 at 17:23

Babes for Prog!! Mora, you're a genius Can we get jackets like we're a biker gang?

I have a huge jacket I can customize, but I think my friends would refuse any contact with me if I wore the word 'PROG' anywhere on my clothing, I bore them with it enough anyway


If you come up with a logo, I'll happily be part of Babes For Prog. PROUDLY
Slinky666 - 25.11.2011 at 03:12  
I am looking for something experimental. I listen to this album and just when I want to say no I say yes.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Continuo Renacer - The Great Escape 9 21.11.2011 by Butters49
Reviews The Body - I Shall Die Here [Collaboration] 4.5 09.07.2014 by Mr. Doctor
Albums Seventh Wonder - The Great Escape 4.5 26.09.2010 by Valaskjalf
Reviews Shores Of Sheol - Eternal Sin - The Great Conquest 4 26.02.2009 by AncientOrigins
Reviews Phideaux - The Great Leap 4 08.10.2006 by Spyroid



Hits total: 3996 | This month: 62