Rating:
5.0
DevilDriver - Beast
22 February 2011


01. Dead To Rights
02. Bring The Fight (To The Floor)
03. Hardened
04. Shitlist
05. Talons Out (Teeth Sharpened)
06. You Make Me Sick
07. Coldblooded
08. Blur
09. The Blame Game
10. Black Soul Choir [16 Horsepower cover]
11. Crowns Of Creation
12. Lend Myself To The Night

Special edition bonus tracks:
13. Lost
14. Fortune Favors The Brave
15. Grinfucked [live]
+ You May Know Us From The Stage [Documentary]


Dez Fafara has done just about everything he can with Devildriver in order to separate his name from Coal Chamber. For those of you who aren't aware, that was his nu metal project that lasted about a decade before meeting its end in 2003, and death metal purists have been riding this guy ever since. Not that this is a death metal band. Devildriver are a heavily groove-influenced thrash/metalcore-ish outfit. Ya, kinda hard to pigeonhole, but it's easier than trying to come up with some new genre.

Oh, and I know you saw it too. Metalcore. And it's a Roadrunner release. You've gotta be thinking either "oh shit this is gonna rock my world" or "Nickelback labelmates LOL". To be honest, it has a lot of rocking elements for fans of straight-up headbanging. But, typical of most Roadrunner releases, its edges have been sanded down and the suggestions box is covered in cobwebs, making for a very structured, formulaic, generic, boring listen. The songs come and go but don't leave you with anything. It's totally inoffensive.

That being said, the groove factor saves this album from being a total dud. I mean, oftentimes "jump da fuck up" riffs all but destroy a band's sound, but on Beast they're quite literally the only worthwhile aspect of the music. Because of those riffs the listener is able to tap into some sort of aggression, albeit a very limited amount. The mundane drumming doesn't help in any way, Dez screaming and ... growling (if that's the appropriate term) like a ... oh man I'm running out of comparisons. He's getting weaker, let's put it that way. (Bonus points for lyrics enthusiasts.) Quite frankly it's beginning to sound like an old man uploaded some Cannibal Corpse vocal covers on his Youtube account.

It's hard to say what this album is supposed to do. Usually what you look for in a Devildriver release is fast-paced, aggressive, edgy, alternative thrash metal. Songs like "Clouds Over California" or "Hold Back The Day". Nothing lyrically stunning, nothing pushing boundaries, but something most definitely worth beating your neighbor's door in with a sledgehammer. Beast, however, is the runt of the litter in that respect. This would make for a better soundtrack to The Notebook while I curl up with a nice feather pillow and eat a tub of Ben & Jerry's.

Performance: 7
Songwriting: 4
Originality: 4
Production: 5


Band profile: DevilDriver
Album: Beast


 



Written on 16.11.2011 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 36  
Users visited: 302  
Search this topic:  


!J.O.O.E.! - 16.11.2011 at 20:39  
Lol metalcore indeed....

Have to say I'm rather in disagreement mode with you recently m'boy. I find this and the recent Burzum to be pleasantly listenable little numbers, far better than some this year.
Diamonds - 16.11.2011 at 20:41  
Agreed. 100% agreed.
Troy Killjoy - 16.11.2011 at 21:07  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 16.11.2011 at 20:39
I find this and the recent Burzum to be pleasantly listenable little numbers, far better than some this year.

You, the master of all things underground/obscure/experimental/extreme. You continue to surprise me Joe.
!J.O.O.E.! - 16.11.2011 at 21:11  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 16.11.2011 at 21:07

You, the master of all things underground/obscure/experimental/extreme. You continue to surprise me Joe.

Truth be told I'm a big nu-metal fan, I grew up with it and frankly don't understand how people don't see the fun in it and all it brings. What I like about DevilDriver is how Dez took that fun element that's found in nu-metal and injected it into a more extreme style that results in that great, danceable and emphatic pseudo-heaviness that's present here.
Troy Killjoy - 16.11.2011 at 21:13  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 16.11.2011 at 21:11
...that's present here.

I was on board with all of the above until this. I didn't find this fun at all. This and Pray For Villains are in my opinion incredibly bland albums.
!J.O.O.E.! - 16.11.2011 at 21:16  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 16.11.2011 at 21:13

I was on board with all of the above until this. I didn't find this fun at all. This and Pray For Villains are in my opinion incredibly bland albums.

For me it's the oddly lauded 'The Fury of Our Maker's Hand' that I like the least. It tried to be too much and lost that childlike simplicity.
Troy Killjoy - 16.11.2011 at 21:18  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 16.11.2011 at 21:16
For me it's the oddly lauded 'The Fury of Our Maker's Hand' that I like the least. It tried to be too much and lost that childlike simplicity.

Once again we prove to the world that even fans of similar music still disagree on everything.
!J.O.O.E.! - 16.11.2011 at 21:18  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 16.11.2011 at 21:18

Once again we prove to the world that even fans of similar music still disagree on everything.

I disagree!
Slayer666 - 16.11.2011 at 21:53  
You mentioned Nickleback in your review. Again. I'm begging to think you've a serious case closet-fandomness.
Troy Killjoy - 16.11.2011 at 21:54  
Written by Slayer666 on 16.11.2011 at 21:53
You mentioned Nickleback in your review. Again. I'm begging to think you've a serious case closet-fandomness.

The first time was because of the similarities sound-wise, this time only because I mentioned Roadrunner.
Angelic Storm - 16.11.2011 at 22:18  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 16.11.2011 at 21:07
You, the master of all things underground/obscure/experimental/extreme. You continue to surprise me Joe.


It does seem to be a very rare thing to be "what you just said" but also not some elitist who bashes any metal which doesn't fall into those categories. Joe's attitude is definitely very unqiue and refreshing.
!J.O.O.E.! - 16.11.2011 at 23:13  
Written by Angelic Storm on 16.11.2011 at 22:18

Joe's attitude is definitely very unqiue and refreshing.

^_^
Yojimbo - 17.11.2011 at 02:01  
I have to say I'm not into these guys at all. I saw them live a couple of times because of bands they were touring with and they sucked. At one show the singer was calling the audience pussies because we weren't thrashing about hard enough. I was thinking "fuck you, get off the stage so I can see Danzig already."

Oh yeah, and their music blows. It's way too tame and meant for a -dammit, I can't think of that mall store for "edgy" kids- audience.
Mattybu - 17.11.2011 at 02:14  
Written by Yojimbo on 17.11.2011 at 02:01

Oh yeah, and their music blows. It's way too tame and meant for a -dammit, I can't think of that mall store for "edgy" kids- audience.


Hot Topic? Watch out for the kids walking out of there. They're tough. Bring Me The Horizon tough.
Yojimbo - 17.11.2011 at 02:47  
Written by Mattybu on 17.11.2011 at 02:14

Written by Yojimbo on 17.11.2011 at 02:01

Oh yeah, and their music blows. It's way too tame and meant for a -dammit, I can't think of that mall store for "edgy" kids- audience.


Hot Topic? Watch out for the kids walking out of there. They're tough. Bring Me The Horizon tough.

Haha, yeah that's it. Thanks
Angelic Storm - 17.11.2011 at 02:48  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 16.11.2011 at 23:13
^_^


Haha, I just speak as I find.
psykometal - 17.11.2011 at 04:30  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 16.11.2011 at 20:39

Have to say I'm rather in disagreement mode with you recently m'boy. I find this and the recent Burzum to be pleasantly listenable little numbers, far better than some this year.

Agreed

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 16.11.2011 at 21:11

Truth be told I'm a big nu-metal fan, I grew up with it and frankly don't understand how people don't see the fun in it and all it brings. What I like about DevilDriver is how Dez took that fun element that's found in nu-metal and injected it into a more extreme style that results in that great, danceable and emphatic pseudo-heaviness that's present here.

And agreed here too. Nu-metal was the first form of metal I got into, t'was my "gateway drug" into real metal. There is a very youthful fun inducing groove that is inherent in a lot of nu-metal bands (or at least back when I was a nu-kid; I don't even know if nu-metal exists anymore outside of KoRn, lol)...
psykometal - 17.11.2011 at 04:30  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 16.11.2011 at 20:39

Have to say I'm rather in disagreement mode with you recently m'boy. I find this and the recent Burzum to be pleasantly listenable little numbers, far better than some this year.

Agreed

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 16.11.2011 at 21:11

Truth be told I'm a big nu-metal fan, I grew up with it and frankly don't understand how people don't see the fun in it and all it brings. What I like about DevilDriver is how Dez took that fun element that's found in nu-metal and injected it into a more extreme style that results in that great, danceable and emphatic pseudo-heaviness that's present here.

And agreed here too. Nu-metal was the first form of metal I got into, t'was my "gateway drug" into real metal. There is a very youthful fun inducing groove that is inherent in a lot of nu-metal bands (or at least back when I was a nu-kid; I don't even know if nu-metal exists anymore outside of KoRn, lol)...
Troy Killjoy - 17.11.2011 at 04:33  
Written by psykometal on 17.11.2011 at 04:30
I don't even know if nu-metal exists anymore outside of KoRn, lol)...

Limp Bizkit and Sevendust are both active as far as I know.
BlueMobius - 17.11.2011 at 07:44  
I agree 100% with your review, but what's up with these reviews lately of albums that have been out for months?
Troy Killjoy - 17.11.2011 at 07:46  
Written by BlueMobius on 17.11.2011 at 07:44
I agree 100% with your review, but what's up with these reviews lately of albums that have been out for months?

I just felt like reviewing some popular albums that haven't been reviewed by our Staff already. That way when 2012 rolls around (and the 2011 Awards) people aren't all Y U NO REVIEW DIS BAND WIF 200 VOTES and whatnot.
BlueMobius - 17.11.2011 at 07:49  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 17.11.2011 at 07:46

Written by BlueMobius on 17.11.2011 at 07:44
I agree 100% with your review, but what's up with these reviews lately of albums that have been out for months?

I just felt like reviewing some popular albums that haven't been reviewed by our Staff already. That way when 2012 rolls around (and the 2011 Awards) people aren't all Y U NO REVIEW DIS BAND WIF 200 VOTES and whatnot.


Gotcha. I had seen the Scar Symmetry, Burzum and Within Temptation reviews and was like, "uh wtf, why are they bringing up these releases nobody cared about." lol
BudDa - 17.11.2011 at 08:38  
The first time I listened to this. I liked the first half of it. Songs like "Dead To Rights", "Hardened" and "Shitlist" are really good. But all that is followed up with the aptly titled "You Make Me Sick" which conjures up images of P!nk in that flattering bed of roses. And then it gets really boring..really fast. I still find myself continously going back to "Dead To Rights". I love the song.

Oh, and "But, typical of most Roadrunner releases, its edges have been sanded down and the suggestions box is covered in cobwebs, making for a very structured, formulaic, generic, boring listen."? Lol
Troy Killjoy - 17.11.2011 at 08:42  
Written by BudDa on 17.11.2011 at 08:38
Oh, and "But, typical of most Roadrunner releases, its edges have been sanded down and the suggestions box is covered in cobwebs, making for a very structured, formulaic, generic, boring listen."? Lol

I've never been a fan of Roadrunner. Earlier today I was at their website looking at their list of "highlighted artists". What a joke roster that is.
BudDa - 17.11.2011 at 08:50  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 17.11.2011 at 08:42

I've never been a fan of Roadrunner. Earlier today I was at their website looking at their list of "highlighted artists". What a joke roster that is.

Well, Mastodon is on their list..and while I haven't yet listened to their new album, I don't think it would be that bad
Troy Killjoy - 17.11.2011 at 08:52  
Written by BudDa on 17.11.2011 at 08:50
Well, Mastodon is on their list..and while I haven't yet listened to their new album, I don't think it would be that bad

There's an exception to every rule.

PS go listen to it, even I liked it
BudDa - 17.11.2011 at 09:01  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 17.11.2011 at 08:52

There's an exception to every rule.

PS go listen to it, even I liked it


Deicide?
Troy Killjoy - 17.11.2011 at 09:04  
Written by BudDa on 17.11.2011 at 09:01
Deicide?

Not an exception.

Now go listen to Mastodon.
BudDa - 17.11.2011 at 09:06  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 17.11.2011 at 09:04

Not an exception.
Now go listen to Mastodon.


Shit, they are actually on Century Media. lol. Ok, Mastodon then.
psykometal - 17.11.2011 at 16:14  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 17.11.2011 at 04:33

Written by psykometal on 17.11.2011 at 04:30
I don't even know if nu-metal exists anymore outside of KoRn, lol)...

Limp Bizkit and Sevendust are both active as far as I know.

3 examples of nu-metal bands that were good but all turned to shit when the nu-metal "revolution" started dieing down; yet they held out because even though they lost a lot of fans like me to real metal they still gained a lot of new teeny boppin' mallrunner fans. I'll still go back and listen to these band's older stuff from 90s and turn of the century but nothing newer than about 2001. Limp Bizkit's Significant Other still gets occasional play on the iPod because of it's nostalgic links to some very fond memories of my past.
psykometal - 17.11.2011 at 16:17  
Written by BudDa on 17.11.2011 at 09:06

Shit, they are actually on Century Media. lol. Ok, Mastodon then.

Deicide were on Roadrunner like 15 years ago. I'm not a fan of Mastodon at all but there is one song off of the new album I've heard a few times on Onslaught Radio that I thought was really good (can't recall the name) and makes me want to check out The Hunter.
Troy Killjoy - 17.11.2011 at 20:02  
Written by psykometal on 17.11.2011 at 16:14
Limp Bizkit's Significant Other still gets occasional play on the iPod because of it's nostalgic links to some very fond memories of my past.

I think a lot of nu metal, and even metalcore, works like that with fans who moved on from that kind of sound. They'll listen to the same stuff again for nostalgic purposes, but not usually for pure enjoyment factor. I listen to old DevilDriver still because I like their first three albums, but Beast and PFV are just not worth the time for me.
psykometal - 17.11.2011 at 20:19  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 17.11.2011 at 20:02

I think a lot of nu metal, and even metalcore, works like that with fans who moved on from that kind of sound. They'll listen to the same stuff again for nostalgic purposes, but not usually for pure enjoyment factor. I listen to old DevilDriver still because I like their first three albums, but Beast and PFV are just not worth the time for me.

I'd have to agree. There is only one metalcore band I still follow because I feel that they are still releasing good material and that's As I Lay Dying, I honestly think they keep getting better (The Powerless Rise was awesome imo); otherwise no I don't really listen to metalcore much. As for enjoyment factor I would agree but I think your wording is a bit wrong/off, the nostalgia gives that music an enjoyment factor; I don't still listen to Limp Bizkit just because I want to remember a memory attached to it I honestly still enjoy it but only because it's nostalgic, if I were listening to Limp Bizkit for the first time today I would hate it.

As for DevilDriver the only album of theirs I ever really jammed frequently was the eponymous debut, I checked out the next 2 albums but never really jammed them much because by the time the 2nd had come out I had become a full on black metal fanboy and if it wasn't black metal I didn't really pay it much attention and now I've transitioned into death metal (especially tech death) so a band like DevilDriver doesn't even really register on my interest-o-meter these days.
Baz Anderson - 17.11.2011 at 21:18  
Not the best album, but I didn't remember it as weak.
theFIST - 30.11.2011 at 21:13  
Actually it isn"t that bad, it just has the problem that the good songs are ruined by overlong intros
cut the first seconds off those songs:
(-7) Dead to Rights
(-20) Shitlist
(-45) You Make me Sick
(-19) Blur
(-24) Lost
(-20) Fortune Favors the Brave
and remove the ones not mentioned, maybe keeping Coldblooded as a filler track you"d get a really awesome (at least for DevilDriver standards) album
bloodface - 29.01.2012 at 23:15  
Quote:
Truth be told I'm a big nu-metal fan, I grew up with it and frankly don't understand how people don't see the fun in it and all it brings. What I like about DevilDriver is how Dez took that fun element that's found in nu-metal and injected it into a more extreme style that results in that great, danceable and emphatic pseudo-heaviness that's present here.


i completely agree with this.....and even if you don't agree it's not like coal chamber had any impact on darkthrone's world. i would much rather hear mudvayne on the radio over katy perry. i am going to listen to korn now and bounce, bounce bounce....later i might close my self in my bedroom and listen to burzum and dakthrone (wondering if i should clarify the works of those two artists that i find most satisfying to embellish my integrity).

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Burzum - Umskiptar 5 11.05.2012 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Sombres Forêts - La Mort Du Soleil 4.5 03.12.2013 by Draugen
Reviews John Haughm - +46 17' 36​.​30", -124 4' 20​.​13" 4.5 05.12.2011 by malaikat
Reviews Dauden I Mørke - Nephilim 4.5 16.01.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Thulcandra - Under A Frozen Sun 4.5 18.11.2011 by Troy Killjoy



Hits total: 4340 | This month: 43