Advertise on Metal Storm
Magnitude 9 - Reality In Focus

7.9 | 19 votes |
Release date: 2001
Style: Progressive metal, Power metal


25 have it
4 want it

01. No Turning Back
02. End Of Days
03. What My Eyes Have Seen
04. Far Beyond Illusion
05. Mind Over Fear
06. Flight Of Icarus [Iron Maiden cover]
07. Afterlife
08. Lost Along The Way
09. Temples Of Gold
10. Quiet Desperation
11. Man On The Silver Mountain [Rainbow cover]

Guest review by
The sophomore effort from prog metalists Magnitude 9 is quite an improvement over the debut Chaos to Control. Most of the potential that Chaos to Control alluded to has been fulfilled with Reality In Focus. Of course, its hard to go wrong when the team is built around all-star guitarist Rob Johnson. While there is the occasional tendency to riff off into oblivion, the listener can tolerate the occasional overplaying due to the enormous talent Johnson showcases throughout the disc. Now, this is not to say that Johnson's bandmates aren's heard from. On the contrary, the keyboard textures provided by Joseph Anastacio Glenn are a great complement to Johnson's guitar work. The rhythm section is anchored in superior fashion by bassist Kevin Chown and drummer John Homan . In Corey Brown the band has both a capable vocalist and a truly stellar lyricist.

published 20.09.2003 | Comments (0)

Hits total: 3282 | This month: 8