Gates Of Winter - Lux Aeterna

8.4 | 20 votes |
Release date: 1 January 2008
Style: Symphonic progressive metal


22 have it
10 want it

01. Life Force Rapture
02. Burning Kingdom I: A Dark Affliction
03. Burning Kingdom II: Heavenly Insurgence
04. Burning Kingdom III: Lux Aeterna
05. The Wildwood Pariah
06. Winter Flight
07. Gates Of Winter
08. From The Flesh
09. Omega

Additional info
Symphonic Progressive metal
Country: Canada
Length: 49:43

Staff review by
Baz Anderson
Gates Of Winter are an inspired group of young Canadians playing the music they like and presenting it in a very professional manner. "Lux Aeterna" officially released the first day of the year, is the band's first full-length release after testing the water with a demo back in 2005.

These Canadians play a symphonic form of metal with lots of keyboards and layers of compositions but as well as clean vocals we have the addition of some more extreme, growling vocals from time to time. It would not be misguiding to call this progressive metal, although it is not exactly the most progressive, innovative or complex music to have been born into the world. Gates Of Winter are not afraid of using the double bass drums either, which is one of the main plus-points to this effort.

published 20.01.2008 | Comments (5)

Hits total: 3983 | This month: 11