Sean Reinert


1987-2015 Cynic - drums  
1991-1992 Death - drums  
1994-1995 Portal [USA] - drums, percussion  
2000- Æon Spoke - drums, vocals, keyboards  
2007- C-187 - drums  

Studio musician

1997-2000 Aghora - drums  
2006 Aghora - drums  
2009-2010 Levi/Werstler - drums  

Live musician

2012 Death - drums  
2014- Death - drums  

Guest musician

1996 Sean Malone - drums  
1999 Gordian Knot - drums  
2003 Gordian Knot - drums  

Personal information

Born on: 27.05.1971

Sean Reinert (born in 1971) is the drummer of Cynic and Æon Spoke. He is known for his technical, original and creative drumming technique.

In 1991, Reinert and Paul Masvidal (also of Cynic) joined the band Death to record the Human album. After touring with Death, he returned to Cynic.

1993 saw the release of Focus, (regarded as a landmark release in the field of technical/progressive metal) on the Roadrunner Records label. Roadrunner re-released it in 2005 as a special collector's edition due to high demand. After Cynic's disbandment Reinert has been a member of the Cynic spin-off band, Portal, and more recently his current band, Æon Spoke, which features Reinert's lifelong friend Paul Masvidal, also from Miami. It was also announced, via the Cynical Sphere web site in Autumn 2006, that Cynic would be reforming for a tour, featuring Masvidal and Reinert. This took place in the summer of 2007.

Based in Los Angeles, Æon Spoke have been described as "progressive ethereal rock" and had a full-length release in 2007 on SPV Records. In 2004, the band received some airplay in the UK for the single "Silence", including BBC Radio 2 and XFM, leading to a week of London gigs and radio appearances. The following year, the track Emmanuel appeared in the film What the Bleep Do We Know!? and the band returned to the UK. One of their tracks also appeared on the Warner Brothers television series Smallville. Reinert also writes and performs music for television and motion pictures.