Three - Biography





The band was founded as a three piece: Joey Eppard on Guitar and Lead Vocals, Josh Eppard on Drums and Chris Bittner on Bass. They came to the attention of Universal Records after well-received performances at the Woodstock festival in 1994, eventually getting signed in 1998, but following an unstable relationship with the label through its series of corporate mergers, the band was left with little prospect of releasing their album. Eventually, the band decided to release it on Planet Noise Records, a small indie label, and thenceforth managed themselves independently, until their 2005 signing with Metal Blade, on whose label they re-released Wake Pig in late 2005. Their career has been marked by several line-up changes, most notably Josh Eppard's departure to join Coheed and Cambria (of which he is no longer a member); the two bands are now regular touring partners. The band has toured nationally several times, and have appeared on radio stations throughout the United States. Joey Eppard also has an active solo career, and released a solo album, Been to the Future, in 2002.

When questioned about the band's name in an interview with Rock Something, Joey Eppard stated that they considered changing the name of the band several times, but always decided to keep the name 3. According to the same interview, the name of the band originally stems from Joey Eppard's own "fascination" with the number: "It is a reference to the construct of our reality as having predominantly 3 aspects. For example, we live in a 3 dimensional universe on the 3rd planet from the sun, experiencing time as past, present and future in a form that consists of mind, body and spirit." [1]

In May 2007, the band toured with the British progressive rock group Porcupine Tree, on the first leg of their North American Fear of a Blank Planet tour.

3 finished touring with 80's rock legends Scorpions, and later finished up the second leg of the Fear of a Blank Planet tour with Porcupine Tree on October 29th.

The music video for the song "All That Remains" was voted the Number 16 Video of 2007 on MTV2's Headbanger's Ball. It was directed, shot and animated by David Brodsky.

They will be part of "Progressive Nation '08" along with Dream Theater, Opeth, and Between the Buried and Me