ReVamp - Biography


Singer Floor Jansen needs no further introduction after 12 years of loyal service with After Forever. After the break of this band she knew she wanted to continue making metal. To accomplish this she joined forces with two additional songwriters to first compose, then record, a new album - after which the live line-up was completed.

The first composer to join this new collaboration was soon found in Waldemar Sorychta (Grip Inc., Enemy Of The Sun). The second composer is former After Forever colleague Joost van den Broek. The ReVamp sound has become a unique blend of the personal style affiliated with these musicians.

Floor's voice is already known for its wide range and variety. In ReVamp she shows the world she can do even more. From opera to raw screams, from rock to a light and almost whispered sound, she knows how to "master the cords" and takes you along with her on a wild ride through the music.

The word "revamp" literally means to renovate, redo or revise. For Floor it got the symbolic meaning that this band puts new energy into her career as a singer, a next step but at the same time a continuation of her dream. The word "vamp" indicates, with a wink, "woman". No vampires or slutty types, just a strong lady in charge of her passion.

The music is heavier than some of you might expect - bombastic, but with heavy riffing. Complex and pounding drums mixed with melancholic strings. Crazy synth-sounds mixed with a beautiful choir. A wall of sound, yet transparent and versatile. And to finish this cake with a fine icing three special guests made the debut album extra special: Firstly, Russell Allen (Symphony X), who sings a beautiful duet with Floor. The fact their voices mix perfect together was proven before and on the song "Sweet Curse" they show once again they are a magical duo.

Björn "Speed" Strid (Soilwork) brings in power on a different level on the song "Disdain". His raw screams make this song the heaviest on the album and create a nice "battle of the titans" with Floor. On "Here's My Hell" you'll hear Dutch master grunter George Oosthoek (ex-Orphanage). The variety of these guests make the album extra interesting from the first note off to very last.

The (live) band was completed early 2010. The band now consists of Matthias Landes (drums), Jaap Melman (bass), Jord Otto (guitar), Arjan Rijnen (guitar), and Ruben Wijga (keyboard).

The self-titled album has 13 tracks and presents a new dimension in the female-fronted metal scene. It was released in June 2010 (Europe) and July 2010 (US) through Nuclear Blast.