Antigama - Biography




Antigama formed in Warsaw, Poland in 2000 by guitarist Sebastian Rokicki and drummer Krzysztof Bentkowski, later joined by Lukasz Myszkowski on vocals and Macio Moretti on bass guitar. The band soon entered the studio to write and record material. Their first full length album, Intellect Made Us Blind was released in early 2002 by The Flood Records. Following its release, Antigama toured with multiple bands including Deformed, Pignation, and Nefas. They released multiple split EPs with bands such as Openwound and Deranged Insane. Macio Moretti left the band and was replaced by Michal Pietrasik on bass, who would later leave the band as well. The band recorded their second full-length album for Extremist Records, entitled Discomfort, which was released on April 15, 2004. In support of the album, Antigama performed at 2004's Obscene Extreme Music Festival in the Czech Republic.

Less than a year later Antigama recorded their third full-length studio album, entitled Zeroland, for Selfmadegod Records. Along with the release of Zeroland, Selfmadegod also re-released Discomfort with a bonus song and music video for the song "Flies". The band released more splits in 2006 and 2007 and toured to different countries, making appearances at multiple festivals, including Metalmania in Katowice, Poland and the Grindcore Syndicate Tour in Germany.

The band signed with Relapse Records in May 2006. Their fourth full-length album Resonance was recorded in December of that year at Studio X in Olsztyn, Poland by producer Szymon Czech. The album was released on May 15, 2007 in the U.S. and May 21 internationally. Antigama hosted a record release show in their hometown on June 17, 2007 at the Aurora Club in support of the album. The band toured again after its release and performed at the 2007 Mind Eaters Tour. In June 2008 vocalist Lukasz Myszkowski left the band and was replaced by ex-Blindead vocalist Patryk Zwolinski.

Antigama recorded their fifth album entitled Warning, also released by Relapse on March 3, 2009. The band was part of the first European edition of Relapse Records' Contamination Tour alongside Origin, Skinless, Obscura, and Man Must Die. They then played in the 2009 Maryland Deathfest in Baltimore, Maryland from May 22 to May 24. In late 2009, it was announced that Zwolinski had been replaced by previous vocalist Lukasz Myszkowski.