Yggdrasil - Biography





At the turn of the year 2000-2001 Magnus Wohlfart and Gustaf Hagel decided tocreate a musical project combining the dark and mysterious atmosphere of traditional Scandinavian folk music with the powerful force of metal. And so YGGDRASIL was brought to life.

After having released two demos, YGGDRASIL recorded the debut album"Kvällningsvindar Över Nordrönt Land"("Evening Winds Over Northern Lands") in 2005, which was released via German record label Det Germanske Folket in late 2007.

In 2008 the follow-up album,"Vedergällning"("Vengeance"), was recorded and subsequently released in the summer of 2009, also by Det Germanske Folket. This year saw YGGDRASIL conquering the stage at Germany's Ragnarök Festival, where thousands of fans gave YGGDRASIL two horns up! The year closed with both YGGDRASIL albums being released in digital format for the first time through Swedish label Grand Master Music.

In the fall of 2010, YGGDRASIL once again formed up, this time to enter the recording studio at Grand Master Audio, now with the addition of long time live-members Benny Olsson and Jacob Blecher as full members. The third YGGDRASIL album, titled "Irrbloss" ("Will-o-wisps"), was recorded and subsequently released by Grand Master Music on April 25 2011 together with re-releases of the two previous albums.