Slice The Cake - Ink Deal With Myriad, New Album Details

UK progressive deathcore band Slice The Cake have had their hands full this year. Having released their debut full length album, The Man with No Face in March, the band is now preparing to release their second album entitled Other Slices. The new album, out December 21st, will be released by Myriad Records with whom the band just signed a deal. In addition to this, the band is also planning on releasing two EPs in the near future.

The band detailed what they have been up to in the following post: "First off, we're proud to announce our signing to Myriad Records! Myriad is a great independent label with some real ethics fuelling them, rather than being an exploitative machine that destroys artistic expression. Some other great bands that have worked/are currently working with Myriad are The Schoenberg Automaton, Bleeding Skies and Friend for a Foe. Myriad's a great little family of musicians and we're stoked to be joining them!

Leading on from that, we shall be releasing our next album Other Slices through them, first through all good digital distributors and on CD + 10" vinyl Picture-disc soon after. For this album, we wanted a release from the thematic intensity of our previous work, an opportunity to bring in some guest musicians, and a chance to show people what gets left on the cutting room floor. Though that's not to say we think these songs are somehow lesser works than anything we have released to date, but rather this album is a collection of songs we felt were great that just didn't fit into our previous releases for a variety of reasons. Some of it was written after the release of The Man with No Face, some of it before, some of it is a drastic departure from what we'd usually do, some of it is more traditional, but we think you'll find it all equally delicious."

Other Slices tracklist:

01. Blow Up Voodoo Doll
02. False Illumination
03. Nebulayer Cake
04. The Siren's Song
05. Fractal Exam Sequence
06. A Dance with Dragons
07. 4th Dimensional Obversation
08. Cleansed
09. Genghis Tron, Come Home, We Miss You!
10. The Great Migration
11. Kow Otani's Castle in the Sky

"The Siren's Song", a new track off the upcoming album can be streamed below:

The band continues: "Since Other Slices is mostly about looking back, we felt it important to give our fan base some insight into where we're headed, so we are also happy to announce our next conceptual pieces The Man of Ash and Rust and The Man of Stone and Silver. This duo of EPs will expand upon themes we have flirted with before, while adding to our own conceptual cosmology that was given life with The Cleansed and The Man with No Face. Musically, they will be a big departure from anything you have heard from us previously and will have far more organic production (and real drumming!)."

Band profile: Slice The Cake
Posted: 20.11.2012 by BudDa


‹‹ Back to News
Comments: 1   Visited by: 12 users
21.11.2012 - 06:51
Fart Enthusiast
Good song! Their last album was not bad either. More intelligent deathcore than most.

Hits total: 3093 | This month: 17