Reviews
The Agonist - Eye Of Providence

Simplifying a style is typically seen to be a detrimental process. The Agonist would prove otherwise with Eye Of Providence, their first effort without Alissa White-Gluz, who moves on to Arch Enemy fame and fortune. As good fortune favours The Agonist, they aren't at a loss but a difference with a new vocalist in Vicky Psarakis, who finds her own zone and fronts the band's most direct and focused record to date.

Read more ››
Posted: 18.02.2015 by R'Vannith | Comments (6)

Reviews
CDC - End

"God is in the detail".

Read more ››
Posted: 17.02.2015 by Ilham | Comments (1)

Reviews
Subterranean Masquerade - The Great Bazaar

I had an idiotic smile on my face as I was listening to The Great Bazaar for the first time. The reason was simple. It was a smile of relief that the fears of this album being a disappointment were unfounded. Following up on something as brilliant as is Suspended Animation Dreams, is no easy feat. To some extent, Subterranean Masquerade have succeeded even though it took them 10 years to accomplish that. However, there's a but. There's always a but in such cases...

Read more ››
Posted: 15.02.2015 by Ivor | Comments (14)

Reviews
Hacavitz - Darkness Beyond

Careful what you wish for.

Read more ››
Posted: 15.02.2015 by Ilham | Comments (16)

Reviews
Keep Of Kalessin - Epistemology

Everyone's favorite EuroVision contestants are back for the first time in nearly five years with Epistemology, playing more of that epic extreme metal or whatever it is they do so, uh, doingly.

Read more ››
Posted: 14.02.2015 by BitterCOld | Comments (21)

Reviews
Wells Valley - Matter As Regent

Leaving an individual impression in post-metal is often a considerable challenge for many bands that attempt to navigate a genre prone to influence and avoid direct derivation. Portugal's Wells Valley manage this admirably for a fresh outfit, pursuing sounds that are of original design in a debut entitled Matter As Regent.

Read more ››
Posted: 13.02.2015 by R'Vannith | Comments (2)

Reviews
Aktor - Paranoia

Two Finns and an American walk into a time warp…

Read more ››
Posted: 13.02.2015 by R'Vannith | Comments (0)

Reviews
Unrest - Grindcore

When a band gets the official "NASUM GRIND SEAL OF APPROVAL", you know you have to check it out.

Read more ››
Posted: 11.02.2015 by Ilham | Comments (6)

Reviews
Ensiferum - One Man Army

We all know how Unsung Heroes turned out (probably best left… unsung). Such a reception always creates a great deal of apprehension over the successor. Now, I don't want to become embroiled in a hype war and claim irresponsibly that Ensiferum really put their noses to the grindstone and hit one out of the park… but let's just say that One Man Army shows a marked improvement.

Read more ››
Posted: 10.02.2015 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (24)

Reviews
Torche - Restarter

I'd really like to share a cup of coffee with the lads from Torche. Actually, I'd really like to share a coffee plantation with them. Yes, an entire plantation.

Read more ››
Posted: 10.02.2015 by BitterCOld | Comments (9)

Reviews
Fimbulvet - Frostbrand - Eines Bildnis Tracht

Frostbrand - Eines Bildnis Tracht comes straight from the mouths of Fimbulvet, who themselves come from the mouth of Germany - home of many fabulous black-ish, pagan-ish, folk-ish bands like Black Messiah, Finsterforst, and Falkenbach. Fimbulvet's fourth installment is no masterpiece, but it stacks up to their countrymen pretty well.

Read more ››
Posted: 09.02.2015 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (0)

Reviews
Apostle Of Solitude - Of Woe And Wounds

Don't ask me why, but I've been listening to a hell of a lot of doom metal lately. Perhaps that is why, after such an extended period of complete blankness since I picked up this album, I decided to finally approach Of Woe And Wounds and give Apostle Of Solitude a fair shot.

Read more ››
Posted: 09.02.2015 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (0)

Reviews
Solefald - World Metal. Kosmopolis Sud

World Metal is an open letter to metal conventions. It reads thus: HA!

Read more ››
Posted: 09.02.2015 by R'Vannith | Comments (8)

Reviews
Death Engine - Mud

Words continue to elude me as I keep getting lost in this album rather than concentrating on writing about it.

Read more ››
Posted: 08.02.2015 by Ilham | Comments (19)

Reviews
Angra - Secret Garden

The Japanese were the first to witness this surprising stabilisation of a band that seemed beyond saving. In late 2014 an all new Angra first flourished, and the turn over to a new year demonstrated to the rest of the world an earnest progressive growth in the repertoire of Brazil's leading light in power metal. The secret they revealed in their latest record is that Angra aren't finished just yet.

Read more ››
Posted: 06.02.2015 by R'Vannith | Comments (4)

Reviews
Battle Beast - Unholy Savior

Battle Beast are back with their third release, the second with Noora Louhimo leading the charge.

Read more ››
Posted: 05.02.2015 by R Lewis | Comments (6)

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5