Reviews
Elvenking - The Pagan Manifesto

For fans of Elvenking's early days, what's written in The Pagan Manifesto is guaranteed to bring back some fond memories, as much as create new ones. Their latest album is a welcome return to their roots whilst offering something entirely fresh and promising.

Read more ››
Posted: 09.06.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (4)

Reviews
Dust Bolt - Awake The Riot

Dust Bolt are a relatively new German thrash band looking to further chisel a place into the metal landscape with their new album Awake The Riot. As a part of the "revivalist" thrash scene, as usual, originality will be a concern for some. I'll go ahead and say right now these guys aren't the ones to go outside the box of what you would be expected from the genre. But within that proverbial box, Awake The Riot is a very enjoyable piece of work.

Read more ››
Posted: 08.06.2014 by Mattybu | Comments (3)

Reviews
Delain - The Human Contradiction

Beware! Accessible melodic metal alert!

Now that the wrist-slitting kvlt readers are gone, we can focus on Delain, which hardly needs introducing as one of the more popular female-fronted symphonic metal bands around as an offshoot of sorts from Within Temptation. Loyal readers may recall my scathing review of their previous release We Are The Others, but being a fan of their first two albums, my expectations were still there.

Read more ››
Posted: 07.06.2014 by Ag Fox | Comments (10)

Reviews
Voyager - V

I discovered Australia's Voyager some years ago and my first thought after hearing them was this is some spacey, tricked-out prog metal. I couldn't quite put my finger on the formula but I also couldn't stop listening. So it's great news for me that Voyager has released their fifth studio LP simply titled V. Although there isn't much difference in sound from previous albums, V enhances Voyager's reputation for putting out quality material and vaults them high into prog metal hierarchy if they weren't there already.

Read more ››
Posted: 05.06.2014 by tea[m]ster | Comments (6)

Reviews
Cloak Of Altering - Plague Beasts

As some of you know, I'm a shameless "Mories" fanboy. I always end up having huge expectations for all his new releases and the latest Cloak Of Altering was not an exception. The previous album, Ancient Paths Through Timeless Voids, as well as the NONE EP were turning points for this project as it showed a different side of Mories' works in which electronic elements where heavily used. It seems like Cloak Of Altering got a solid identity and could easily be separated from the rest of his projects. So how does Plague Beasts compare? Is it better or worse? Nah, it's just a bit different.

Read more ››
Posted: 03.06.2014 by Mr. Doctor | Comments (41)

Reviews
Conorach - Through The Ages

Six long years after their debut, Tales From The Tavern, the Dutch band Conorach make their comeback with their sophomore album, Through The Ages.

Read more ››
Posted: 02.06.2014 by R Lewis | Comments (1)

Reviews
Below - Across The Dark River

Fresh from the Swedish school of doom come Below, a band whose simple name reflects their simple approach to the genre.

Read more ››
Posted: 02.06.2014 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (6)

Reviews
Pet Slimmers Of The Year - Fragments Of Uniforms

I am always on the lookout for unique and ambitious post metal and Fragments Of Uniforms is a terrific addition for my post/sludge/atmospheric metal collection. The genre has become a bit stagnant lately, not to say there hasn't been quality releases, but it seems the music follows the same formula over and over and is afraid to take any chances.

Read more ››
Posted: 01.06.2014 by tea[m]ster | Comments (4)

Reviews
Bloody Hammers - Under Satan's Sun

Let's face it: we've all been guilty of complaining about originality in music at one point or another. Many people (self included) have proudly boasted an "if it aint new, it aint true" type of outlook, rejecting many bands that recycle old formulas and don't push boundaries. Pretentious elitism aside, however, there are admittedly a good number of bands that stick to more orthodox approaches and still get the job done, and Bloody Hammers are on the scene this year as one of them.

Read more ››
Posted: 01.06.2014 by Apothecary | Comments (35)

Reviews
Adrenaline Mob - Men Of Honor

Adrenaline Mob have lost their drummer, Russell Allen has lost a portion of his dignity, and many people who somehow stuck around after Omertá have lost interest. Not that Mike Portnoy really strained himself on Omertá, but the band still suffers from his absence.

Read more ››
Posted: 31.05.2014 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (4)

Reviews
Hexis - Abalam

Hexis's first full-length continues musically in the same vein as their debut EP XI, which has since been parceled out in fragments over a steady stream of EPs and splits. Abalam boasts an arsenal of all-new tracks to signal Hexis's move into a better-established position as a band.

Read more ››
Posted: 30.05.2014 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (4)

Reviews
Necros Christos - Triune Impurity Rites

When your list of personnel consists of members named "Mors Dalos Ra (vocals, guitarist, keyboards)", "The Evil N. (guitars)", "Black Shepherd Ov Doom (bass)" and "Mister Raelin (drums)", it is hard for me not to dismiss you as a retarded joke band. My silly prejudices, perhaps, but I simply have encountered too many of these bands. Attach the band name Necros Christos to those stage nicknames, however, and you've got a whole different story. Because Necros Christos rules as fuck. Triune Impurity Rites is their first full-length.

Read more ››
Posted: 28.05.2014 by Lucas | Comments (11)

Pages: 1 2 3 [4]