Reviews
Pallbearer - Foundations Of Burden

If you could encase within a coffin all that is texturally appealing about doom metal, Pallbearer knowingly carry six of these coffins to their grave in Foundations Of Burden. This is not to suggest that they simply bring the traditional sound of a genre to its untimely end, but, rather, in our modern era they place it respectfully in an ideal and honourable resting place. Ad Memoriam Doom.

Read more ››
Posted: 22.08.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (14)

Reviews
Crimson Shadows - Kings Among Men

Let's face it people, epic metal is fucking dumb when you think about it. Grown men so obsessed with their Dungeons & Dragons adventures they give them life via recording entire albums. Cocaine, expensive tranny hookers and D&D have proven an awful mix, as we usually end up with two outcomes: Either the musician takes their bloated creation waaay too seriously, or they mock it so much they come across as resentful of own musical creations, and their fans in the process. It's always nice to hear some balance between self-aware fun and serious effort. Crimson Shadows epitomize that.

Read more ››
Posted: 22.08.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (11)

Reviews
Last Minute To Jaffna - Volume III

Metal awash with the down-tempo depressions of slowcore; this is Last Minute To Jaffna's relaxing rebuke to unoriginality. The resulting sound in Volume III is hypnotic and psychedelic, breathed into life with Italian acoustic. For a post-metal album, it's an unusual experience.

Read more ››
Posted: 22.08.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (6)

Reviews
Dark Fortress - Venereal Dawn

Tasteful evolution. If there ever was a phrase to describe Dark Fortress, that, right there, is it. They're never ones to reinvent the wheel, but why should they? They've crafted their own sound without any extravagant gimmicks, they don't take risks, but they also never really misstep. With each album, Dark Fortress just defines their sound a little more. Venereal Dawn is another solid step forward in the logical progression of their history.

Read more ››
Posted: 22.08.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (12)

Reviews
Wolf - Devil Seed

Wolf, is and always has been, what this "new wave of the old school style" always tries to accomplish. Creating a new sound from old pieces. So many young(er) bands attempt it, most come across as disposable nostalgia acts. Wolf have always danced that fine line without stepping over completely, giving them their edge. And so it continues with Devil Seed.

Read more ››
Posted: 21.08.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (0)

Reviews
Sorxe - Surrounded By Shadows

Melody and a strong sense of atmosphere can sometimes be hard to come by in the sludge style. The Americans of Sorxe, however, are here to provide us with a fine counterexample to this common rule.

Read more ››
Posted: 20.08.2014 by Apothecary | Comments (3)

Reviews
Opeth - Pale Communion

Opeth have softened their sound. This is old news, and this is also an old sound. Pale Communion is their sophomore in a retrograde and vintage style of progressive rock, yet it remains poised with their distinctive craftsmanship. The question arises as to whether this record builds upon the band's efforts in Heritage. It does.

Read more ››
Posted: 20.08.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (59)

Reviews
Tonic Breed - Outsold

Dear Tonic Breed, I have been challenged to review something not labeled "post" and I am excited to say you have been chosen to be the guinea pig for my little independent excursion. Luckily for me, you play some decent old-school thrash metal that reminds me of the "bang-my-head" days back in the late 1980's. It will be a privilege to write about your latest album, Outsold. Even though it's not the most original thrash metal I've heard, in essence, it's pretty predictable, but I do enjoy your tenaciousness and dedication for creating music that any ancient follower of the classic thrash metal scene will enjoy.

Read more ››
Posted: 20.08.2014 by tea[m]ster | Comments (1)

Reviews
Horrendous - Ecdysis

I know I also have other stuff to review, but really it's hard to stop listening to this album. This is about Horrendous' new album Ecdysis. Weird title, it describes the process of moulting, as Wikipedia tells me as a non-native English speaker. However I didn't know about this band before and to be honest I don't know much about classical death metal in general, but I know that this album rocks your socks. These guys hail from the USA and it's their second record.

Read more ››
Posted: 19.08.2014 by Windrider | Comments (6)

Reviews
Malpractice - Turning Tides

To me, Finland has always been a great country for metal. Between groups like Amorphis, Ensiferum, and the almighty Kalmah, there has always been a wealth of great Finnish metal out there. Turning Tides was my first exposure to Malpractice, a progressive metal group from the same Nordic land. Not surprisingly, the album is very good.

Read more ››
Posted: 19.08.2014 by Mattybu | Comments (2)

Reviews
Keitzer - The Last Defence

Now that, people, is what we call an album cover. Seriously, go give it a closer look and come back...

...Back? Good. Guess what? For once, the music almost matches the quality of the artwork.

Read more ››
Posted: 18.08.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (7)

Reviews
Horned Almighty - World Of Tombs

Marduk, 1349, Goatwhore, Secrets Of The Moon, Deströyer 666, Witchery and Celtic Frost...Would you be surprised to find all of them leaving their fingerprints on this album? Yeah...probably not. What you might be surprised to hear is that the result isn't all too great.

Read more ››
Posted: 17.08.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (2)

Reviews
Profetus - As All Seasons Die

Just lie back and feel yourself decay. Gaze helplessly, thoughtlessly, as the preternaturally odious head of Cthulhu crests over the horizon, blotting out the last scarlet gasps of a moribund sunset, looming over the eerily tranquil and temperate ocean like an antediluvian menhir - massive, silent, mysterious, and unspeakable. As the album tumbles funereally along like boulders being rolled along the muddy underbelly of a tepid river, you may feel your atoms slowly deconstructing one particle at a time.

Read more ››
Posted: 17.08.2014 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (7)

Reviews
Dialectic Soul - We Are Born From The Pain

One of the ideals that is a cornerstone of progressive metal is blending. Taking known elements, mixing them together and producing something new. The Belarusian band Dialectic Soul take this to heart and create something which can only be described as unique.

Read more ››
Posted: 17.08.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (0)

Reviews
Miseo - Lunatic Confessions

If you take generic death metal, generic grind, generic melodeath and generic deathcore, guess what genius concoction is made?

Read more ››
Posted: 14.08.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (0)

Reviews
Reverorum Ib Malacht - De Mysteriis Dom Christii

The cold glimpse of a church. Exactly 20 years after Satan's mysteries were revealed to us, Christ came down and showed us his path. A path which is just as dark and terrifying.

Read more ››
Posted: 14.08.2014 by Mr. Doctor | Comments (30)

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7