Peste Noire - L'Ordure A L'État Pur review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
8.7

57 users:
8.11
Band: Peste Noire
Album: L'Ordure A L'État Pur
Release date: May 2011


01. Casse, Pêches, Fractures Et Traditions
02. Cochon Carotte Et Les Surs Crotte
03. J'avais Rêvé Du Nord
04. Sale Famine Von Valfoutre
05. La Condi Hu


Peste Noire's discography is like a game of Russian roulette. Ever since their debut, every single album has insulted a portion of its fans enough to make them leave the club for good. Insanely bad production, crazy vocals, strange genre experiments, a hard to digest avant-garde approach, you name it. The Kommando's infamous leader, Famine, takes risks every single time... spinning the cylinder and handing you the revolver with a grin on his face. L'ordure à L'état pur is the band's latest bullet, threatening your head more than any other of their albums. Oh boy did I almost blow my brains out with this one.

Only five songs clocking around one hour long (so we are talking about long tracks) where there is a large amount of influences and constant progression. Black, folk, post-punk, funk and even techno can be heard along with instruments such as cello, trumpet, accordion and beautiful acoustic guitars. All this accompanied with Peste Noire's classic features: Famine's high-pitched and filthy shouts, beautiful and well composed solos - everything is mixed with the satiric atmosphere that always surrounds the music of these Frenchmen.

Apart from the ambitious songwriting and Famine's ability to glue everything together, one of my favorite things from the album is the use of Audrey Sylvain's vocals (of Amesoeurs fame). Her voice is pure and sincere; it takes me to a different time. Think of a filthy Paris in a Les Misérables setting, the most helpless girl among the harlots of that god-forsaken place, still believing that everything will be alright in the end. Such a bittersweet feeling, together with Famine's scornful attitude, makes this album an extremely bizarre theatre where you laugh at tragedies and cry at comedies. A surprisingly fun carnival that honours filth and insanity.

In true Peste Noire fashion, this is a love-or-hate album. If anything above interested you in any way, I strongly recommend you to check it out. Don't be afraid, take a chance, look death straight in the eye and pull the trigger. You might discover a ridiculous and fun world... or end up on the floor bleeding from disgust.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 8


 



Written on 24.12.2011 by An extremely lazy reviewer but he's so cute you'd forgive him for it.


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 44   Visited by: 282 users
27.12.2011 - 16:14
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Mr. Doctor on 27.12.2011 at 16:10

Written by Merchant of Doom on 27.12.2011 at 16:03
you write good reviews, shame they are about horrible bands...

Hhahahah well that is bound to happen from time to time.


Your problem is you like crappy bands such as Peste Noire
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
27.12.2011 - 16:16
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 27.12.2011 at 16:14
Your problem is you like crappy bands such as Peste Noire


I'll try to redeem myself by working on a Sonne Adam review.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
27.12.2011 - 16:25
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Mr. Doctor on 27.12.2011 at 16:16

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 27.12.2011 at 16:14
Your problem is you like crappy bands such as Peste Noire


I'll try to redeem myself by working on a Sonne Adam review.


Good boy
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
27.12.2011 - 16:38
Merchant of Doom
Something like this would do...


Loading...
27.12.2011 - 17:21
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Sigh generic extreme doom once again. Nothing special going on there.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
27.12.2011 - 17:34
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Merchant: You really don't want me to do a review of that ahahhahah.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
27.12.2011 - 18:10
Merchant of Doom
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 27.12.2011 at 17:21

Sigh generic extreme doom once again. Nothing special going on there.


ok, you can listen to Peste Noire instead... couldn't find anything else with a slower intro... it was only to annoy our Doctor... I quite like it, though...
Loading...
27.12.2011 - 18:12
Merchant of Doom
Written by Mr. Doctor on 27.12.2011 at 17:34

Merchant: You really don't want me to do a review of that ahahhahah.


no, not really... I'm not THAT nasty...
Loading...
29.12.2011 - 20:26
Unhealer
Eclecticist
Thank god you reviewed this before the year ends. Loving this album, definitely among the bests of the year.
Loading...
02.01.2012 - 14:41
psychofrench
This is my favorite album of 2011, and probably my favorite of the past 5 years or so. So much could be said about it, but one thing is true, Famine takes his music extremely seriously and a lot of thinking was put into that album. Getting into the lyrics is definitively a plus on this album, even the way he spells the words (Which you can't hear while listening anyways) gives you a different perspective on the music. It seems to me that very few bands nowadays are putting that much effort in their creations and I respect Famine for doing it with PN.
Loading...
26.02.2012 - 22:22
Growing
Very good review.
Loading...
02.02.2013 - 19:10
Alex F
yeah man
This review is bad and you should feel bad
I really don't understand the fascination with this album though. It feels like a jumbled mess of incoherent bad black metal. I'd give it around a 4 or 3
Loading...
02.02.2013 - 22:16
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Alex F on 02.02.2013 at 19:10

This review is bad and you should feel bad
I really don't understand the fascination with this album though. It feels like a jumbled mess of incoherent bad black metal. I'd give it around a 4 or 3


I hardly see any black metal in it to be honest. Fuck you man, my review is cute, it's just about an album you don't like.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
02.02.2013 - 22:21
Ellrohir
Heaven Knight
This album is brilliant...dunno, ppl seems to expect just some Immortal-like poses and Mayhem-like music from black metal, but it can have various shapes and forms...the first song itself is priceless and totally worth it

btw: have you noticed this Opeth-like riff in it? around 2:00 and after
----
So behold the flight of the sapphire dragon
soaring through the skies once again


Loading...

Hits total: 6363 | This month: 48