Rating:
9.3
Fell Voices - Untitled
30 September 2011


01. Untitled
02. Untitled


Fell Voices is one of those underground black metal projects that creep up from time to time, drop a nuke of an album, and then disappear behind enemy lines, never to be seen again. Fortunately, these Americans have more than just a few explosives. They've got an entire arsenal of malicious droning ingenuity, and fortunately for us, it seems as though the blitzkrieg will be ongoing. Consider me shell shocked.

So who are these guys? It's a collaborative project between musicians from New York and California, Gilead Media set them up the bomb, and now all your base are belong to them. Basically.

Okay enough with the militaristic analogies. Onto the music.

Fell Voices have constructed a sound made up of traditional raw black and some subtle post-rock reinforced by a tolerable amount of melody, wandering through the plains of despair while searching for sustenance - a miserable path that leads to nowhere... nowhere... nowhere. And it leaves you there at the bottom of the pit. Of nowhere.

It's not the soft lighthearted kind of black metal a la Alcest or Fen, incorporating shoegaze or obnoxious post-rock elements into the mix, but an enticing and engaging form of "Cascadian" black metal that wears its heart on its sleeve while forcing you to dig through layers of rock before reaching the core emotions: sorrow, regret, rage, loss, confusion. All of this negativity bursts forth through the dense foundation, tunneling skyward like a tornado of pain, plaguing the rich soils of the highest heavens with all the fury of a woman scorned.

It isn't in itself a drone metal album; far from it in fact. But there are moments that tend to drag like a cigarette made by Willy Wonka, and the overall repetition between the two songs highlights the minimalism, making for a relaxing - yet formidable - listen. As soon as you feel ready to pass into oblivion, dreaming of waterfalls and wood nymphs frolicking in the distance... the grounds open up and swallow the surrounding beauty in a black pit of fiery death, Hell consuming innocence and charm in mere moments.

This helps separate Fell Voices from the rest of the atmospheric black metal bands that follow the typical slow-paced, synth-heavy, mellow formula. The balance of good and evil is more cohesive, the mixture of love and hate is more encompassing... the ethereal massage is concluded with quite a rough happy ending.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 10


 



Written on 31.12.2011 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 43  
Users visited: 283  
Search this topic:  


Ag Fox - 31.12.2011 at 10:06  
Review style reminds me of BitterCOld =P
Troy Killjoy - 31.12.2011 at 10:07  
I just realized the post-rock bits make me look rather confused.

"...a sound made up of traditional raw black and some subtle post-rock..."
"...not the soft lighthearted kind of black metal a la Alcest or Fen, incorporating shoegaze or obnoxious post-rock elements into the mix..."

Just to clarify, I meant the subtle post-rock elements they incorporate here aren't obnoxious, and the focus isn't completely on the soft lighthearted style that a lot of other bands are known for.
Troy Killjoy - 31.12.2011 at 10:07  
Written by Ag Fox on 31.12.2011 at 10:06
Review style reminds me of BitterCOld =P

First Rozz and now OBC. Dammit, I thought I had my own style.
Mikyz - 31.12.2011 at 10:24  
If you didn't you should check of Gilead Media's 2011 releases, they're all as good as this one, or nearly.
VloRD - 31.12.2011 at 11:33  
A 9.3! Must check out...
Loved the "militaristic analogies"!
Merchant of Doom - 31.12.2011 at 12:36  
listened to it on YouTube... quite liked myself... it has trance-inducing soothing qualities, somehow...
Troy Killjoy - 31.12.2011 at 12:39  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 31.12.2011 at 12:36
listened to it on YouTube... quite liked myself... it has trance-inducing soothing qualities, somehow...

I think this is officially the second time you've agreed with a review of mine.

2/81. Not the best batting average.
Merchant of Doom - 31.12.2011 at 13:50  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 31.12.2011 at 12:39

Written by Merchant of Doom on 31.12.2011 at 12:36
listened to it on YouTube... quite liked myself... it has trance-inducing soothing qualities, somehow...

I think this is officially the second time you've agreed with a review of mine.

2/81. Not the best batting average.


you just need to keep reviewing albums and bands I like... Jokes apart, I must have read about 5 of your reviews in total, so it's a good average...
!J.O.O.E.! - 31.12.2011 at 14:09  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 31.12.2011 at 10:07

Written by Ag Fox on 31.12.2011 at 10:06
Review style reminds me of BitterCOld =P

First Rozz and now OBC. Dammit, I thought I had my own style.

Craig's style always seemed to be a new line for every new sentence which I always found weird.

For some reason I haven't actually listened to this record since way back when it was first mentioned (and you said it was a top 5 album or something). Listening to it again and it's pretty boss. Instant gratification. It's a bit Arizmenda-rish to my ears too.
BlueMobius - 31.12.2011 at 14:11  
Just thought I would point out the first two sentences of the review contradict each other
Milena - 31.12.2011 at 14:29  
Is the album untitled or they titled it Untitled?
Marcel Hubregtse - 31.12.2011 at 14:42  
Isn't this album actually called *nothing*
BloodTears - 31.12.2011 at 14:52  
Both of the songs are untitled, that is unusual and now I'm curious.
Marcel Hubregtse - 31.12.2011 at 15:20  
Written by BloodTears on 31.12.2011 at 14:52

Both of the songs are untitled, that is unusual and now I'm curious.


it happens quite a few times in black metal
InnerSelf - 31.12.2011 at 15:58  
I've seen it in your list a while ago but haven't checked it out until now, the review is awesome and I'll be checking it as soon as possible
metaleaterr - 31.12.2011 at 16:25  
Nice review. You really choose some unique albums. Must say your taste is unique. Gonna check it out now!!
metaleaterr - 31.12.2011 at 16:32  
BTW just checked out their profile. How come they have no members added and yet a review. This is odd.
!J.O.O.E.! - 31.12.2011 at 16:39  
Written by metaleaterr on 31.12.2011 at 16:32

BTW just checked out their profile. How come they have no members added and yet a review. This is odd.

Not really, staff often add the barebones of a band profile for the sake of adding a review on here.
metaleaterr - 31.12.2011 at 16:51  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 31.12.2011 at 16:39

Written by metaleaterr on 31.12.2011 at 16:32

BTW just checked out their profile. How come they have no members added and yet a review. This is odd.

Not really, staff often add the barebones of a band profile for the sake of adding a review on here.

Ya. Found many times that reviews were added for incomplete profiles. But this was the first one i found with no members.
TrollandDie - 31.12.2011 at 16:58  
Written by metaleaterr on 31.12.2011 at 16:51

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 31.12.2011 at 16:39

Written by metaleaterr on 31.12.2011 at 16:32

BTW just checked out their profile. How come they have no members added and yet a review. This is odd.

Not really, staff often add the barebones of a band profile for the sake of adding a review on here.

Ya. Found many times that reviews were added for incomplete profiles. But this was the first one i found with no members.


Adds to the eeriness I guess.
metaleaterr - 31.12.2011 at 17:15  
Written by TrollandDie on 31.12.2011 at 16:58

Written by metaleaterr on 31.12.2011 at 16:51

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 31.12.2011 at 16:39

Written by metaleaterr on 31.12.2011 at 16:32

BTW just checked out their profile. How come they have no members added and yet a review. This is odd.

Not really, staff often add the barebones of a band profile for the sake of adding a review on here.

Ya. Found many times that reviews were added for incomplete profiles. But this was the first one i found with no members.


Adds to the eeriness I guess.

Ya...must be really unique. Just checked out the members. No official sources except the blog. MA also does not mention the full names. Lately read that some bands don't want to reveal themselves a lot. Don't know the reason why. Desire to stay underground yet releasing hidden gems is a unique feature among black metal bands. Makes life difficult for the editor though. Truly, adds to the weirdness of avant-garde/black metal.
Mr. Doctor - 31.12.2011 at 17:51  
Would drop a full point but otherwise I agree, this is damn fine piece of album.
Boxcar Willy - 31.12.2011 at 19:00  
( no matter how hard I try I can't get into black metal...
Troy Killjoy - 31.12.2011 at 21:34  
Written by BlueMobius on 31.12.2011 at 14:11
Just thought I would point out the first two sentences of the review contradict each other

I suppose I worded that poorly too. I meant that they fit in with those other underground bands that drop and album and you never hear from them again, but thankfully they decided to stick around.

Admittedly this review is a lot sloppier than intended. I can only write late at night and sometimes you can really tell.
Troy Killjoy - 31.12.2011 at 21:52  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 31.12.2011 at 19:00
:(( no matter how hard I try I can't get into black metal...

Obviously try harder.
Troy Killjoy - 31.12.2011 at 21:57  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 31.12.2011 at 17:51
Would drop a full point but otherwise I agree, this is damn fine piece of album.

I'd drop you a full point, and I think you're a damn fine piece of Swede.
Troy Killjoy - 31.12.2011 at 22:11  
Written by Milena on 31.12.2011 at 14:29
Is the album untitled or they titled it Untitled?

Not sure to be honest. The only official information that exists is Gilead's Bandcamp site, which has it as "Untitled" - but they don't specify if it's entitled Untitled or if it's just an untitled album.
Mr. Doctor - 01.01.2012 at 00:17  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 31.12.2011 at 21:57

Written by Mr. Doctor on 31.12.2011 at 17:51
Would drop a full point but otherwise I agree, this is damn fine piece of album.

I'd drop you a full point, and I think you're a damn fine piece of Swede.


I'm not even a swede
Troy Killjoy - 01.01.2012 at 00:18  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 01.01.2012 at 00:17
I'm not even a swede

You're Spanwedish.
Mr. Doctor - 01.01.2012 at 00:19  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 01.01.2012 at 00:18

Written by Mr. Doctor on 01.01.2012 at 00:17
I'm not even a swede

You're Spanwedish.


I preffer Skandino.
strade - 01.01.2012 at 01:02  
How about an untitled band releasing untitled albums with untitled songs? I might listen to the band then. Band names are just so damn pretentious.
Troy Killjoy - 01.01.2012 at 01:06  
Written by strade on 01.01.2012 at 01:02
How about an untitled band releasing untitled albums with untitled songs? I might listen to the band then. Band names are just so damn pretentious.

http://rateyourmusic.com/release/ep/untitled_musical_project/untitled_musical_project/

Unfortunately the songs are titled.
strade - 01.01.2012 at 01:31  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 01.01.2012 at 01:06

Written by strade on 01.01.2012 at 01:02
How about an untitled band releasing untitled albums with untitled songs? I might listen to the band then. Band names are just so damn pretentious.

http://rateyourmusic.com/release/ep/untitled_musical_project/untitled_musical_project/

Unfortunately the songs are titled.


Pfft. Titled songs? Commercial bullshit.
Susan - 01.01.2012 at 03:08  
I'm listening to this album for the first time while reading the review. It's a fun experience I don't often have So far in my listening I agree with what you've written. The pit of nothingness, etc, is definitely one accurate metaphor. The post-y elements are nice.. more than I was expecting I'll say, but it does set up one hell of an atmosphere. BM like this has a tendency to bore me but Fell Voices are just too mesmerizing to be boring.

Fuck the haters. Your first two sentences make perfect sense and set up the review nicely. And this doesn't feel ANYTHING like a BitterCOld review. For one thing the paragraphs are far too long for his style Stupid Ag, not paying attention again.

Fell Voices is one of the coolest band names. Just sayin.
Troy Killjoy - 01.01.2012 at 03:11  
Written by Susan on 01.01.2012 at 03:08
Fell Voices is one of the coolest band names. Just sayin.

Thanks Lyr, always nice to have one of the prog babes on my side.

I'm a big fan of the band name too. Fell Voices... Makes me think of the "dead men tell no tales" saying.
Susan - 01.01.2012 at 03:16  
Oooh creepy! I hadn't thought of that one. It always makes me think of Lord of the Rings when Legolas says, "there is a fell voice on the air."
Troy Killjoy - 01.01.2012 at 03:18  
That's probably where it's taken from. Can't believe I didn't even think of that.
bluegreengod - 01.01.2012 at 17:41  
For the most part I couldn't possibly disagree with your taste in metal any more, but this band seems like they might be worth checking out. Always enjoy the reviews, though.
Void Eater - 02.01.2012 at 04:34  
Troy, y u only give positive reviews to unknown black metal bands!? ლ(ಠ益ಠლ)
Troy Killjoy - 02.01.2012 at 04:41  
Written by Void Eater on 02.01.2012 at 04:34
Troy, y u only give positive reviews to unknown black metal bands!? ლ(ಠ益ಠლ)

It's funny how it works out that way... I suppose it's because a lot of the big-name black metal bands attract other people (Wolves in the Throne Room for instance) or they release something not worth a positive score (Burzum for instance).
-DC-002- - 03.01.2012 at 00:40  
I wish I could find this someplace besides Youtube, There's a vinyl copy online but, eh, Vinyl ain't my thing.
Troy Killjoy - 03.01.2012 at 00:53  
Written by -DC-002- on 03.01.2012 at 00:40
I wish I could find this someplace besides Youtube, There's a vinyl copy online but, eh, Vinyl ain't my thing.

http://gileadmedia.bandcamp.com/album/untitled-ii
-DC-002- - 03.01.2012 at 11:32  
Written by -DC-002- on 03.01.2012 at 00:40

I wish I could find this someplace besides Youtube, There's a vinyl copy online but, eh, Vinyl ain't my thing.


Ah, yes, that worked beautifully. Kudos Troy, the Killjoy. The jokes on you though, the joy you've killed has only been spread

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Fell Voices - Regnum Saturni 9 06.12.2013 by mz
Reviews Grisâtre - Esthaetique 4.5 17.06.2012 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Grey Heaven Fall / Twilight Is Mine - The Original Seed Of Decadence / Age Of Aquarius [Split] 4.5 15.12.2013 by
Reviews Vesperian Sorrow - Stormwinds Of Ages 4.5 06.12.2011 by Unhealer
Reviews Dødsengel - Imperator 4.5 16.05.2012 by Mr. Doctor



Hits total: 3531 | This month: 53