Rating:
7.7
Falconer - Armod
3 June 2011


01. Svarta Änkan
02. Dimmornas Drottning
03. Griftefrid
04. O, Tysta Ensamhet
05. Vid Rosornas Grav
06. Grimborg
07. Herr Peder Och Hans Syster
08. Eklundapolskan
09. Grimasch Om Morgonen
10. Fru Silfver
11. Gammal Fäbodpsalm
12. Black Widow [English version] [Limited edition bonus]
13. Grimborg [English version] [Limited edition bonus]
14. By The Rose's Grave [English version] [Limited edition bonus]
15. O, Silent Solitude [English version] [Limited edition bonus]


A significant problem for any band attempting to release a fresh batch of material after having imprinted their own indelible stamp to their sound is the risk of falling into a redundant slump. You know the story, successful band releases new album, this album is simply more of the same which gives you nothing over previous work and this album falls into obscurity. This may, I fear, be the case for Falconer's latest effort.

We've got the trademark folk/power metal combination that's only to be expected from the band and they deliver the goods. Hammering away in an all too familiar fashion on tracks like "Svarta Ankan" and "Rosornas Grav", things are given a really traditional feel with the entirely Swedish lyrics. Slowing up for the wistful yet heavy "O, Tysta Ensamhet" or the swift changes of pace which mark "Herr Peder Och Hans Syster" with Matthias' unique voice enhanced with some well placed feminine vocal accompaniment. That being a highlight, as well as one of the longer tracks on album, it is possessive of a terrific folk swagger which is a great deal of fun to listen to. There are also some shorter tracks which lean more towards the folk metal side of things than Falconer has ever strayed before such as "Eklundapolskan", based on a Swedish folk tune, which follows a simple drum beat letting the fiddle do all the work and power metal guitar work falling in place behind.

This all sounds very refreshing but when Falconer resort to their more usual power metal driven tracks they don't really offer something you haven't heard from the band already. Many fairly standard and unremarkable songs litter this album which might initially give the impression of something new given the language of the lyrics yet in all other aspects fail to leave all that much of an impression.

So while there are some new ideas present in this album, which is evidently carefully produced, there are also many moments that if you are familiar with the band will sound like the same old Falconer. Not that this is particularly a problem, the songs are of course far from stale and will offer some enjoyment, if only for the first few listens.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 9


Band profile: Falconer
Album: Armod


 


written by R'Vannith | 26.01.2012


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 9  
Users visited: 60  
Search this topic:  


oLjud - 26.01.2012 at 21:24  
I just love this album and the swedish lyrics/vocals, great felling to it. Northwind were and still are a great album but I find Armod even greater... 9p
Susan - 27.01.2012 at 04:55  
Exactly how I feel about this band/album! They make great music but I already have this same album under 4 different names. Change it up already, guys!!! I rarely listen to them at all anymore... it's just gotten tedious.

Great review
R'Vannith - 27.01.2012 at 15:42  
Written by Susan on 27.01.2012 at 04:55

Exactly how I feel about this band/album! They make great music but I already have this same album under 4 different names. Change it up already, guys!!! I rarely listen to them at all anymore... it's just gotten tedious.

Great review


I enjoyed this one a bit more than the last few albums they dished out but I can only agree, they don't seem to be able to vary things enough to maintain interest. I'm just a sucker for their folk/power blend though, these guys and Wuthering Heights more than meet my needs from that department.
And thanks!
Milena - 06.02.2012 at 00:54  
I remember not liking this band's style a lot (it will probably work when I'm in a better mood for it) but I was thoroughly impressed with Mathias' voice, he's a wonderfully talented chap. Nice review too!
R'Vannith - 06.02.2012 at 03:16  
Written by Milena on 06.02.2012 at 00:54

I remember not liking this band's style a lot (it will probably work when I'm in a better mood for it) but I was thoroughly impressed with Mathias' voice, he's a wonderfully talented chap. Nice review too!


Thanks! And I very much agree, he's one of my favourite vocalists. And if you haven't already I would suggest giving Falconer's first two albums a try, they are definitely their best. Probably best to avoid 'Sceptre Of Deception' and 'Grime Vs. Grandeur' as they don't have Mathias.
If you like the whole folky feel to it I would recommend Wuthering Heights though, more suited to your tastes with their progressive touch I think.
Milena - 06.02.2012 at 12:52  
Written by R'Vannith on 06.02.2012 at 03:16

Thanks! And I very much agree, he's one of my favourite vocalists. And if you haven't already I would suggest giving Falconer's first two albums a try, they are definitely their best. Probably best to avoid 'Sceptre Of Deception' and 'Grime Vs. Grandeur' as they don't have Mathias.
If you like the whole folky feel to it I would recommend Wuthering Heights though, more suited to your tastes with their progressive touch I think.

Hm, I tried one Wuthering Heights album since it's heavily recommmended, I think it was the latest... but I didn't sit with it a lot... must try again, I like that kind of thing usually.
R'Vannith - 06.02.2012 at 16:21  
Written by Milena on 06.02.2012 at 12:52

Written by R'Vannith on 06.02.2012 at 03:16

Thanks! And I very much agree, he's one of my favourite vocalists. And if you haven't already I would suggest giving Falconer's first two albums a try, they are definitely their best. Probably best to avoid 'Sceptre Of Deception' and 'Grime Vs. Grandeur' as they don't have Mathias.
If you like the whole folky feel to it I would recommend Wuthering Heights though, more suited to your tastes with their progressive touch I think.

Hm, I tried one Wuthering Heights album since it's heavily recommmended, I think it was the latest... but I didn't sit with it a lot... must try again, I like that kind of thing usually.


If 'The Shadow Cabinet' doesn't win you over I don't what will, one of my favourite albums ever, I couldn't recommend it enough!
Joodicator - 18.03.2014 at 03:51  
<twoyearbump>

I haven't heard the entire album, but from the songs I've heard, it's definitely not 'more of the same'. The guitar work seems slightly less orientated towards power/folk metal and more towards melodic death and Griftefrid even contains blastbeats. Overall, I guess it just seems a bit 'edgier'. Oh, and it's all in Swedish of course.

Perhaps I'd have to hear the whole thing to judge whether it's subtly going in another direction or just same old Falconer.

</twoyearbump>
R'Vannith - 18.03.2014 at 04:58  
Written by Joodicator on 18.03.2014 at 03:51

<twoyearbump>

I haven't heard the entire album, but from the songs I've heard, it's definitely not 'more of the same'. The guitar work seems slightly less orientated towards power/folk metal and more towards melodic death and Griftefrid even contains blastbeats. Overall, I guess it just seems a bit 'edgier'. Oh, and it's all in Swedish of course.

Perhaps I'd have to hear the whole thing to judge whether it's subtly going in another direction or just same old Falconer.

</twoyearbump>


It's been a while since I gave this one a listen but I would agree that it isn't 'more of the same' in it's entirety. More melodeath than power/folk? I can't say I reached the same conclusion, although I assume you mean it's not a radical jump into melodeath territory, just a slight shift in that direction while remaining a power/folk record. If I remember rightly I would agree that it's a bit edgier as well, but I wouldn't say a stylistic turn to melodeath is a requirement for that, seems like they made a few small changes in sound to give that impression.

Being all in Swedish is a significant difference too, and to me it seems to increase the "folk factor" somewhat. What I got from all this was that it generally keeps to what the band have always been doing, and although there were some new changes to their sound in there for sure(most obvious to me being lyric wise), but in the context of the album as a whole they just didn't seem to stand out as something remarkably different from previous stuff to me.

This bump is timely, with their new one dropping in a few months, so thanks. Would be good to catch up with this one again before "Black Moon Rising." It'll be interesting to see the direction they're taking.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Falconer - Black Moon Rising 6 09.06.2014 by Mattybu
Albums Falconer - Armod 4.5 03.06.2011 by Sr Tumnus
Reviews Turisas - Turisas2013 3 19.10.2013 by Blakheim
Reviews Darkest Era - Severance 3 15.06.2014 by Ag Fox
Reviews The Ocean - Pelagial 3 05.05.2013 by Frodd



Hits total: 2131 | This month: 41