Spawn Of Possession - Incurso review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
7.9

152 users:
8.29
Band: Spawn Of Possession
Album: Incurso
Release date: March 2012


01. Abodement
02. Where Angels Go, Demons Follow
03. Bodiless Sleeper
04. The Evangelist
05. Servitude Of Souls
06. Deus Avertat
07. Spiritual Deception
08. No Light Spared
09. Apparition


- .... . -. . .-- ... .--. .- .-- -. --- ..-. .--. --- ... ... . ... ... .. --- -. .. ... ... ..- -.-. .... .- .--- .- --. --. . -.. --..-- ..-. .-. .- -. - .. -.-. ..-. --- .-. -- --- ..-. - . -.-. .... -. .. -.-. .- .-.. -.. . .- - .... -- . - .- .-.. --..-- .. - ..-. . .-.. - --- -. .-.. -.-- .- .--. .--. .-. --- .--. .-. .. .- - . - --- .. -. - .-. --- -.. ..- -.-. . .. - - --- -.-- --- ..- .. -. -- --- .-. ... . -.-. --- -.. . .-.-.-

That's right folks, good ol' stop-go-sto...p-go-stop-go techy death metal, think maybe some Necrophagist or Obscura less the melodic moments. You know what? Upon first listen, this album absolutely destroys. Despite being an ever-shifting form of brutal tech-death metal, they still manage to keep a nice groove that transcends any combination of frantic riffs. These grooves make Incurso kind of an album that conflicts itself in a positive way. You see, it's incredibly abrasive and pointy, yet there's something almost completely intangible that gives it a certain level of digestibility you wouldn't expect from an album of this sort. I guess you could say in spite of all the manic riffs flying in every direction, the album still has a nice flow to it.

Clever songwriting paired up with top-notch musicianship would make Incurso damn near perfect, eh? No, not really. It's almost incredible how lacking in variation this album is. "Apparition" and "Spiritual Deception" are two of the few tracks on here that stand out from one another, otherwise it seems to be a steady monotonous onslaught. No track standing on its own is bad at all, but in its entirety, Incurso really fails to offer anything new after the third or fourth track.

Definitely an album that has a short play quality to it. Listened to at a couple tracks at a time is fantastic, trying to sit through the entire thing from start to finish, however, is incredibly tiresome.


 



Written on 14.03.2012 by Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 41   Visited by: 570 users
06.05.2012 - 18:31
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Guest on 06.05.2012 at 17:06

Yeah I agree, the score is way too high.


Totally agreed Would rate it a 6.5 myself and only because of their technical prowess.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
06.05.2012 - 18:32
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 06.05.2012 at 18:31


Totally agreed Would rate it a 6.5 myself and only because of their technical prowess.

I heard a few of the preview songs myself and that was enough alone to keep me away.
Loading...
06.05.2012 - 18:33
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Guest on 06.05.2012 at 18:32

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 06.05.2012 at 18:31


Totally agreed Would rate it a 6.5 myself and only because of their technical prowess.

I heard a few of the preview songs myself and that was enough alone to keep me away.


I'd even take Cerebral Bore over this....
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
06.05.2012 - 18:34
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 06.05.2012 at 18:33


I'd even take Cerebral Bore over this....

Whoa! Calm down there Marcel. There's joking around and then there's just plain crazy talk
Loading...
06.05.2012 - 18:35
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Guest on 06.05.2012 at 18:34

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 06.05.2012 at 18:33


I'd even take Cerebral Bore over this....

Whoa! Calm down there Marcel. There's joking around and then there's just plain crazy talk


Okay, I should have said "I'd take my fellow country woman Som Pluijmers"
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
06.05.2012 - 18:36
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 06.05.2012 at 18:35


Okay, I should have said "I'd take my fellow country woman Som Pluijmers"

Eww....
Loading...
20.07.2012 - 02:40
Coconut Racecar
Making fun of Cerebral Bore... Pft, techeads <,<
Loading...
09.05.2013 - 22:08
Mario Montes
The whole album is not a masterpiece in my opinion. This guys are talented, no doubt, but technical death metal needs more melody and passion, not only a demostration of technic. There's one song in this album wich is one of my favourite songs ever: Apparition. It's an amazing mind blowing song, seriously, but the rest of the album is not as amazing as that song.

Anyway I would rate this a 7. Probably people who are more into Tech Death than me may find it a very good album.
Loading...
19.07.2013 - 00:56
Mario Montes
This is an OK album for me and maybe is a very good album for tech death fans. I like well executed tech death, not that wanker bands with no feeling. This album is not bad, except one song: Apparition. That song is not an OK song, that song is a fucking amazing masterpiece, one of my favourute metal songs ever. If the entire album were as good as that song it would be the best tech death album ever.
Loading...
12.04.2014 - 19:21
matia
People give this a little more time and listens and u will be surprised, Apparition's grandeur is the perfect closing argument of this neo-classic tech death mastepiece.
Loading...
22.08.2014 - 00:26
Stunning Cactus
I'm really digging on the layering, panning tricks and the general composition of this as a whole. A fine release!
----
"I always knew metal would live on. I was right."
~Me, 2013
Loading...

Hits total: 7236 | This month: 31