Bandcamp music player

Rating:
7.9
Spawn Of Possession - Incurso
13 March 2012


01. Abodement
02. Where Angels Go, Demons Follow
03. Bodiless Sleeper
04. The Evangelist
05. Servitude Of Souls
06. Deus Avertat
07. Spiritual Deception
08. No Light Spared
09. Apparition


- .... . -. . .-- ... .--. .- .-- -. --- ..-. .--. --- ... ... . ... ... .. --- -. .. ... ... ..- -.-. .... .- .--- .- --. --. . -.. --..-- ..-. .-. .- -. - .. -.-. ..-. --- .-. -- --- ..-. - . -.-. .... -. .. -.-. .- .-.. -.. . .- - .... -- . - .- .-.. --..-- .. - ..-. . .-.. - --- -. .-.. -.-- .- .--. .--. .-. --- .--. .-. .. .- - . - --- .. -. - .-. --- -.. ..- -.-. . .. - - --- -.-- --- ..- .. -. -- --- .-. ... . -.-. --- -.. . .-.-.-

That's right folks, good ol' stop-go-sto...p-go-stop-go techy death metal, think maybe some Necrophagist or Obscura less the melodic moments. You know what? Upon first listen, this album absolutely destroys. Despite being an ever-shifting form of brutal tech-death metal, they still manage to keep a nice groove that transcends any combination of frantic riffs. These grooves make Incurso kind of an album that conflicts itself in a positive way. You see, it's incredibly abrasive and pointy, yet there's something almost completely intangible that gives it a certain level of digestibility you wouldn't expect from an album of this sort. I guess you could say in spite of all the manic riffs flying in every direction, the album still has a nice flow to it.

Clever songwriting paired up with top-notch musicianship would make Incurso damn near perfect, eh? No, not really. It's almost incredible how lacking in variation this album is. "Apparition" and "Spiritual Deception" are two of the few tracks on here that stand out from one another, otherwise it seems to be a steady monotonous onslaught. No track standing on its own is bad at all, but in its entirety, Incurso really fails to offer anything new after the third or fourth track.

Definitely an album that has a short play quality to it. Listened to at a couple tracks at a time is fantastic, trying to sit through the entire thing from start to finish, however, is incredibly tiresome.


Band profile: Spawn Of Possession
Album: Incurso


 



Written on 14.03.2012 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC, now semi-retired.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 40  
Users visited: 499  
Search this topic:  


BitterCOld - 14.03.2012 at 00:17  
Bah was trying to decipher morse code at first...
Troy Killjoy - 14.03.2012 at 00:23  
Forgot this was out. They haven't disappointed thus far so hopefully this isn't the combo breaker. One of my favorite tech death bands.
!J.O.O.E.! - 14.03.2012 at 00:25  
Written by BitterCOld on 14.03.2012 at 00:17

Bah was trying to decipher morse code at first...

At least you didn't try tracing your fingers across the screen as though it were braille. Not that I did that of course.
Mr. Doctor - 14.03.2012 at 00:29  
Written by BitterCOld on 14.03.2012 at 00:17

Bah was trying to decipher morse code at first...


It IS morse code I won't tell what it says of course...
psykometal - 14.03.2012 at 00:34  
I think the album is pretty good, but I'm a tech death fiend so I may be mildly biased here.

And I too thought of baille at first, but I can't read braille so I didn't think to try to run my firngers accross the screen like a certain someone else...
!J.O.O.E.! - 14.03.2012 at 00:36  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 14.03.2012 at 00:29

Written by BitterCOld on 14.03.2012 at 00:17

Bah was trying to decipher morse code at first...


It IS morse code I won't tell what it says of course...

So it is...

"THE NEW SPAWN OF POSSESSION IS SUCH A JAGGED, FRANTIC FORM OF TECHNICAL DEATH METAL, IT FELT ONLY APPROPRIATE TO INTRODUCE IT TO YOU IN MORSE CODE"
Mr. Doctor - 14.03.2012 at 00:39  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 14.03.2012 at 00:36
So it is...


You are such a dick
Mr. Doctor - 14.03.2012 at 00:41  
Written by psykometal on 14.03.2012 at 00:34
And I too thought of baille at first, but I can't read braille so I didn't think to try to run my firngers accross the screen like a certain someone else...


Even if you could put the fingers on the screen and feel the dots... It wouldn't be braille anyway since Braille doesn't use lines, just dots. Not to mention that it's impossible to pretty much everyone on this website to read braille.
!J.O.O.E.! - 14.03.2012 at 00:41  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 14.03.2012 at 00:39


You are such a dick

Most would agree with you ;]
BoxCar Willy - 14.03.2012 at 01:16  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 14.03.2012 at 00:25

Written by BitterCOld on 14.03.2012 at 00:17

Bah was trying to decipher morse code at first...

At least you didn't try tracing your fingers across the screen as though it were braille. Not that I did that of course.

I actually did :/


I'm dumb as fuck...
Daniell - 15.03.2012 at 09:16  
Ooooooohhhhh, tech death. A magnificent array of brilliant riffage, time changes, mindblowing drumming and songwriting genius...

...it is not. Oh how my hate for the most ridiculous of metal subgenres flourishes upon seeing such an album
Void Eater - 15.03.2012 at 09:50  
I thought that my computer was having trouble loading the text at first. But seriously, this album slays, and if it somehow winds up not being the best album of the year, I'll say that I'll do something ridiculous but not actually do anything, but still be amazed that any album this year can beat it.

Oh, and HOLY SHIT THAT IS MORSE CODE!!!
MetalDoomMaster - 15.03.2012 at 17:12  
I don't think this album is better than their other two, but the musicianship warrants a good rating in my opinion, and it is still a good album. It lacks the aggressive sound of their first two, which hurts it a lot.
Spirit Molecule - 15.03.2012 at 17:20  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 14.03.2012 at 00:36

Written by Mr. Doctor on 14.03.2012 at 00:29

Written by BitterCOld on 14.03.2012 at 00:17

Bah was trying to decipher morse code at first...


It IS morse code I won't tell what it says of course...

So it is...

"THE NEW SPAWN OF POSSESSION IS SUCH A JAGGED, FRANTIC FORM OF TECHNICAL DEATH METAL, IT FELT ONLY APPROPRIATE TO INTRODUCE IT TO YOU IN MORSE CODE"


The power of google
I remember I used to use morse code translators a lot a few years back, just to talk to one of my sailor friends.
Oaken - 15.03.2012 at 19:12  
Written by Daniell on 15.03.2012 at 09:16

Ooooooohhhhh, tech death. A magnificent array of brilliant riffage, time changes, mindblowing drumming and songwriting genius...

...it is not. Oh how my hate for the most ridiculous of metal subgenres flourishes upon seeing such an album

That is true to some extent.
theFIST - 15.03.2012 at 19:14  
2003, 2006, 2012,.....
next album in 2024?
!J.O.O.E.! - 15.03.2012 at 19:16  
Written by Oaken on 15.03.2012 at 19:12

Written by Daniell on 15.03.2012 at 09:16

Ooooooohhhhh, tech death. A magnificent array of brilliant riffage, time changes, mindblowing drumming and songwriting genius...

...it is not. Oh how my hate for the most ridiculous of metal subgenres flourishes upon seeing such an album

That is true to some extent.

Most extents. The majority of tech death is garbage.
Oaken - 15.03.2012 at 19:23  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 15.03.2012 at 19:16

Written by Oaken on 15.03.2012 at 19:12

Written by Daniell on 15.03.2012 at 09:16

Ooooooohhhhh, tech death. A magnificent array of brilliant riffage, time changes, mindblowing drumming and songwriting genius...

...it is not. Oh how my hate for the most ridiculous of metal subgenres flourishes upon seeing such an album

That is true to some extent.

Most extents. The majority of tech death is garbage.

It lacks the 'feel'. Sometimes I feel it's just about showing-off and only showing-off.
Troy Killjoy - 15.03.2012 at 19:27  
Written by theFIST on 15.03.2012 at 19:14
2003, 2006, 2012,.....next album in 2024?

Or 2021 depending on what pattern you use.
theFIST - 15.03.2012 at 19:50  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 15.03.2012 at 19:27

Written by theFIST on 15.03.2012 at 19:14
2003, 2006, 2012,.....next album in 2024?

Or 2021 depending on what pattern you use.

i use mine of course
Marcel Hubregtse - 15.03.2012 at 20:35  
Written by Spirit Molecule on 15.03.2012 at 17:20


I remember I used to use morse code translators a lot a few years back, just to talk to one of my sailor friends.


Mmmm, a man talking to his sailor friends.... interesting, reminds me of the The Village People song called In The Navy and somehow also of gay porn
Spirit Molecule - 15.03.2012 at 20:43  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 15.03.2012 at 20:35

Mmmm, a man talking to his sailor friends.... interesting, reminds me of the The Village People song called In The Navy and somehow also of gay porn


Hahahahaha!
Yeah I didn't see it like that But yeah he was in the merchant navy, so morse code was used just for fun and also coz he had an exam coming.
Mr. Doctor - 15.03.2012 at 21:27  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 15.03.2012 at 19:27

Written by theFIST on 15.03.2012 at 19:14
2003, 2006, 2012,.....next album in 2024?

Or 2021 depending on what pattern you use.


Or 2015...
Troy Killjoy - 15.03.2012 at 21:29  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 15.03.2012 at 21:27
Or 2015...

3, 6, 3, 6?
Mr. Doctor - 15.03.2012 at 21:30  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 15.03.2012 at 21:29

Written by Mr. Doctor on 15.03.2012 at 21:27
Or 2015...

3, 6, 3, 6?


Yup, math is delicious.

Only time will tell who is right
Protostar - 16.03.2012 at 09:58  
I bought their last album and nearly blew a blood vessel that i took this over Gojira's "From Mars To Sirius." I figured Spawn Of Possession is harder to find so, may as well go for it. bad idea.. i'm not picky but, this band sucks in the worst kind of way in my opinion. i'm not sure what does it for me but just for the sake of the decent review this got, i'll look into the new album... without buying it so as not to take the risk of wasting my money again.
Maxx666 - 24.03.2012 at 13:46  
Im actually starting to like this release... it may not be cabinet or noctambulant but it surely got its strong point...9/10
Maxx666 - 06.05.2012 at 09:25  
7.8 are you kidding me... it deserves at least 9.5. The album is fucking brilliant, packed with layers after layers of atonal bliss and twisted basslines. You need a high fidelity headphones and an original CD to see this through..Although i liked the review, its just that i think this album deserves better.. it gets 10/10 from me anyways
Troy Killjoy - 06.05.2012 at 17:05  
Ya Doc, come on. Get a better set of headphones so you can rate this properly. >>
!J.O.O.E.! - 06.05.2012 at 17:06  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 06.05.2012 at 17:05

Ya Doc, come on. Get a better set of headphones so you can rate this properly. >>

Yeah I agree, the score is way too high.

*Peter Griffin laugh*
Marcel Hubregtse - 06.05.2012 at 18:31  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 06.05.2012 at 17:06

Yeah I agree, the score is way too high.


Totally agreed Would rate it a 6.5 myself and only because of their technical prowess.
!J.O.O.E.! - 06.05.2012 at 18:32  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 06.05.2012 at 18:31


Totally agreed Would rate it a 6.5 myself and only because of their technical prowess.

I heard a few of the preview songs myself and that was enough alone to keep me away.
Marcel Hubregtse - 06.05.2012 at 18:33  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 06.05.2012 at 18:32

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 06.05.2012 at 18:31


Totally agreed Would rate it a 6.5 myself and only because of their technical prowess.

I heard a few of the preview songs myself and that was enough alone to keep me away.


I'd even take Cerebral Bore over this....
!J.O.O.E.! - 06.05.2012 at 18:34  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 06.05.2012 at 18:33


I'd even take Cerebral Bore over this....

Whoa! Calm down there Marcel. There's joking around and then there's just plain crazy talk
Marcel Hubregtse - 06.05.2012 at 18:35  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 06.05.2012 at 18:34

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 06.05.2012 at 18:33


I'd even take Cerebral Bore over this....

Whoa! Calm down there Marcel. There's joking around and then there's just plain crazy talk


Okay, I should have said "I'd take my fellow country woman Som Pluijmers"
!J.O.O.E.! - 06.05.2012 at 18:36  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 06.05.2012 at 18:35


Okay, I should have said "I'd take my fellow country woman Som Pluijmers"

Eww....
Protostar - 20.07.2012 at 02:40  
Making fun of Cerebral Bore... Pft, techeads <,<
musikaxtrema - 09.05.2013 at 22:08  
The whole album is not a masterpiece in my opinion. This guys are talented, no doubt, but technical death metal needs more melody and passion, not only a demostration of technic. There's one song in this album wich is one of my favourite songs ever: Apparition. It's an amazing mind blowing song, seriously, but the rest of the album is not as amazing as that song.

Anyway I would rate this a 7. Probably people who are more into Tech Death than me may find it a very good album.
musikaxtrema - 19.07.2013 at 00:56  
This is an OK album for me and maybe is a very good album for tech death fans. I like well executed tech death, not that wanker bands with no feeling. This album is not bad, except one song: Apparition. That song is not an OK song, that song is a fucking amazing masterpiece, one of my favourute metal songs ever. If the entire album were as good as that song it would be the best tech death album ever.
matia - 12.04.2014 at 19:21  
People give this a little more time and listens and u will be surprised, Apparition's grandeur is the perfect closing argument of this neo-classic tech death mastepiece.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Christian Mistress - Possession 6 26.02.2012 by !J.O.O.E.!
News Spawn Of Possession - Guitarist Suffer Focal Dystonia, Announce Tour Replacement 4.5 01.02.2012 by Alex Fenger
Reviews The Green Evening Requiem - Decomposer 4.5 11.06.2010 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Last Call Chernobyl - Drowning Beneath The Sound Of Change 4.5 07.09.2010 by Moose
Reviews Deadly Remains - Severing Humanity 4.5 10.08.2012 by Crucifux



Hits total: 5463 | This month: 46