Rating:
9.0
Judas Priest - Ram It Down
17 May 1988


01. Ram It Down
02. Heavy Metal
03. Love Zone
04. Come And Get It
05. Hard As Iron
06. Blood Red Skies
07. I'm A Rocker
08. Johnny B. Goode [Chuck Berry cover]
09. Love You To Death
10. Monsters Of Rock

2001 Re-Release Bonus Tracks:
11. Night Comes Down [Live at Long Beach Arena, Long Beach, California, USA in May 5, 1984]
12. Bloodstone [Live at Mid-South Coliseum, Memphis, Tennessee, USA in December 12, 1982]


As Painkiller is possibly Priest's most popular album, Judas Priest must have had an era which lasted for at least three albums in a row, and had quite a same style. Taking a listen through Judas Priest's whole discography is a very interesting experience when you notice how the style, sound and melodies have changed during the years. Ram it Down was the album before Painkiller and these two do really have same kind of sound in them, Painkiller gained a lot more publicity and the band just succeeded better on that one.

I know that there are many people out there who have only heard Painkiller and not many other albums of Judas Priest. Well, here is a recommendation! Most likely the album won't be able to compare Painkiller in your ears but musically the experience is definitely more or less needed.

Some of the choirs on the chorus' of the songs remind me of older power metal, however that part of the songs is only less than one percent and musically Judas Priest are 100% heavy metal. This album definitely is not special anyhow; it is pure rocking from start to end. The opening track ''Raw it Down´´ alone proves that. There is no need for who-is-the-fastest-guitar-player-in-this-world competitions, which is an excellent thing for a heavy metal album. Double-bass is used only on one song, ''Hard as Iron´´ and this is one of the things that makes such an extra for drums so powerful. No abusement! Even many fans of the band don't know that Judas Priest have made covers here and there on their albums - on Ram it Down there is also one, ''Johnny B. Goode´´ originally by Chuck Berry.

There is no need to continue this review anymore. All I can say that Ram it Down by Judas Priest has totally been forgotten no matter how good it is after all. I could claim it a must-buy for any heavy metal/Priest fan, with this album the Metal Gods truly have started preparing the ultimate rising of Painkiller!


Band profile: Judas Priest
Album: Ram It Down


 


written by Immortalist | 06.10.2005


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
Spyroid

Rating:
6.8
Judas Priest has always been a band that have changed their style a lot - from the early rock albums to harder stuff, then more or less inventing heavy metal before putting out some quite cheesy stuff in the eighties. This resulted, at least in my opinion, that Judas Priest put out many albums that only feel like a transport to the next classic album. 'Ram It Down' is such an album, and I imagine Judas Priest didn't really know where they wanted to go when they wrote the songs for this album. Still - there is no Priest album without good songs and 'Ram It Down' is not an exception.

Read more ››
published 11.06.2008 | Comments (21)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 9  
Users visited: 65  
Search this topic:  


Baz Anderson - 31.08.2006 at 04:22  
YEEEESS!! someone else thinks the same about the albums as i do!
this is one of my favorite Judas Priest albums actually. i really love this album
it has really been forgotten and not given enough credit
it also does have the same style as 'Painkiller' just when i said that in the thread a while ago everyone couldnt understand what i was saying

almost every track on this album is superb!
'Love Zone' 'Hard As Iron' 'Blood Red Skies' and 'Love You To Death' are my favorites

if there is anyone who overlooked this album - listen to it!!! it is worth it!
Dirt pride - 01.09.2006 at 01:45  
this review was perfect, i love the drum sound on this album and i think it was one of dave hollands last albums. blood red skies is a legendary song, and the song metal monster is awesome
Dangerboner - 01.09.2006 at 02:20  
I"m in the process of buying their discography, and this one is next on my list. The first track on this album is definitely boner time.
Baz Anderson - 01.09.2006 at 02:55  
haha! and that isnt even the best track!
yeh - it was the last album with Dave Holland and he went out with probably his best drumming album
i am so glad other people like this album as well

i got all of Judas Priest's albums a while back and my collection of them all is one of my favorite i have. they are well worth it
i ever got 'Jugulator' and 'Demolition' haha
Demonizer - 01.09.2006 at 18:25  
About the drums on this album: there have been rumors that Dave wasn't playing at all, but it was a drum machine!! When the album was released the band denied those rumors, but in a 2006 interview with KK Downing he said:

Q:What's the truth behind Dave Holland's involvement on Ram it Down? He told me himself he didn't play on it. So did he?
A:"Not a lot! Ha Ha!"
Q:Does that mean not a lot or not at all?
A:"Not a lot. Let's stick to that shall we?"

for the entire interview: http://www.rockdetector.com/interviews/artist,33344.sm?id=80

As for the album itself: it is (imo) one of the weakest 80's releases from Priest, eventhough it has some killer solo's and Halford's voice is in good shape. The pop metal element from Turbo aren't completely gone, but that doesn't bother me as I like Turbo, but in general this one just isn't as good as the other albums...
Lokomotiv - 01.09.2006 at 18:34  
Even although I consider myself a fan of some NWOBHM bands, I think Judas is the most overrated bands on earth... I can't stand this album.
Baz Anderson - 01.09.2006 at 22:43  
ha! wow, well thats interesting about the drumming!

Streetcleaner: dont listen to it then.
Spyroid - 10.11.2006 at 01:51  
It's totally okay but for me there's a lot of fillers, or tracks which I don't care much for. But well, it's a great mix between the old and the new Judas Priest! Blood Red Skies is definately the best song.
IronBlackZepp - 19.02.2009 at 06:38  
Good review, I gave it an 8/10. While their are a lot of filler tracks, the album is still holds up very well. Judas Priest is the type of band who can have filler in their albums, but still make em work. Songs like Blood Red Skies, Hard as Iron and the title track make this album a very good release.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Judas Priest - Ram It Down 8.5 19.07.2009 by Fat & Sassy!
Albums Judas Priest - Ram It Down 7.5 16.11.2011 by Metalex
Reviews Judas Priest - Angel Of Retribution 5.5 02.05.2008 by IronBlackZepp
Albums Judas Priest - Redeemer Of Souls 4.5 28.04.2014 by J. N.
Albums Judas Priest - The Complete Albums Collection [Boxset] 4.5 29.02.2012 by Dedcalm



Hits total: 8191 | This month: 134