Rating:
9.0
Faal - The Clouds Are Burning
10 March 2012


01. My Body Glows Red
02. The Insistance's Wish
03. Tempest
04. The Clouds Are Burning


When is epic fail epic win?

When it's Faal's epic four track full-length The Clouds Are Burning.

Many moons ago, my Doom Pusher, Marcel, sent me a package with a bunch of t-shirts, promo materials, and disks. Faal's Abhorrence - Salvation was probably my favorite of the goodies inside.

A couple years later, they have finally followed up the EP with the monstrous album, The Clouds Are Burning. While early in the year, I imagine this will still be near the top of the ridiculous musical goodie bag that is 2012.

Faal play a blackened form of doom metal - combining the standard low end growls with counterpoint rasps to tweak the mood. Other times sees the slow moving riffs paired against thundering rapid fire drums. Doom is an expansive, stylistically varying genre, and Faal have no problem dooming outside the box and shifting from the thundering glacial creep of most extreme doom acts and into the midpace swagger-driven riffs of traditional doom acts, such as in the opening riff of "Tempest". Hell, they even push the boundaries to, gasp, fast-paced black metal pounding midway through "The Insistance's Wish".

Further factor in some leads, keyboard backing and hellish psychedelia a la Esoteric and you are in for one hell of a ride. (Side note - Esoteric's Greg Chandler was involved in the mixing and mastering of this monstrosity.)

Their willingness to explore beyond formulas A and B (A - 70 minutes, 3 songs, 0.15bpm; B - 70 minutes, 3 songs, shifting to ambient passages then back to crushing doom, all at 0.15bpm), yet with that overwhelming vibe of crushing despair present at all times, makes this a dynamic listen. It does a masterful job of sucking the listener in and dragging them under, with the shifts in approach and speed simply being different currents of the water in which you drown.

So, at least for today, epic Faal is epic win.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Faal
Album: The Clouds Are Burning


 



Written on 27.04.2012 by
BitterCOld
BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.
More reviews by BitterCOld ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 40  
Users visited: 318  
Search this topic:  


Boxcar Willy - 27.04.2012 at 04:54  
Tagging issue in the first paragraph

Seems interesting, I will check this out right now. To Youtube!
strade - 27.04.2012 at 06:38  
BitterCOld's high scores are always to be taken seriously. Will check this out.
-DC-002- - 27.04.2012 at 06:58  
I like this one a lot more then the previous album. Never really got into that one.
Cynic Metalhead - 27.04.2012 at 07:53  
I was introduced to this band by the song " Perpetual Solitude" which struck in my mind for months and indeed that was one hell of great album. From a first listen, i thought it's a intercourse of Ahab and Esoteric( vocally!) and very underrated bunch of dark Doom guys who needs an another good release to grab some really good fans and see...this album came up their best and will do wonders.
Troy Killjoy - 27.04.2012 at 08:22  
Intrigued to say the least.
BitterCOld - 27.04.2012 at 09:13  
Truthfully i was going to score it an 8 based upon first couple listens, but the more i listened to it, the more i found stuff i really enjoyed here and there... with each passing listen i found i appreciated it more. the vast majority of albums seem to go the opposite route for me.
Merchant of Doom - 27.04.2012 at 12:01  
A "must have", this year, for all doom worshippers...
Marcel Hubregtse - 27.04.2012 at 12:10  
Written by -DC-002- on 27.04.2012 at 06:58

I like this one a lot more then the previous album. Never really got into that one.


The previous one was actually their demo. But Vàn Records picked it up and released it as their debut. It was all home recording and such.
!J.O.O.E.! - 27.04.2012 at 12:52  
They have a song up on Bandcamp.

It sounds pretty massive and excellent.
Spirit Molecule - 27.04.2012 at 14:29  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 27.04.2012 at 12:52

They have a song up on Bandcamp.

It sounds pretty massive and excellent.

Yep sounds pretty good. Must remember to check out the full album sometime.
Draugen - 27.04.2012 at 17:09  
It has been a while since I last listened to some extreme doom. I will give this a shot.
Merchant of Doom - 28.04.2012 at 13:29  
Written by Draugen on 27.04.2012 at 17:09

It has been a while since I last listened to some extreme doom. I will give this a shot.



It's not that extreme...
Draugen - 28.04.2012 at 13:38  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 28.04.2012 at 13:29

It's not that extreme...


Well compared to the doom releases I've listened to so far this year I would consider it at least more extreme.
Marcel Hubregtse - 28.04.2012 at 13:43  
Written by Draugen on 28.04.2012 at 13:38

Written by Merchant of Doom on 28.04.2012 at 13:29

It's not that extreme...


Well compared to the doom releases I've listened to so far this year I would consider it at least more extreme.


It is extreme dom though not extremely extreme but a lot more extreme than what some people deem extreme doom or what was nominated in the MS Awards extreme doom category.

Faal you could classify as black doom hence extreme doom.
InnerSelf - 28.04.2012 at 15:14  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 28.04.2012 at 13:43

It is extreme ....... extremely extreme ....... extreme ........ extreme........... extreme doom ........

Faal ....... extreme .......


I've only heard the debut and it was .... arrgh extreme I still need to check this one out asap
Mr. Doctor - 28.04.2012 at 15:31  
^ Hahahahahahahaha
koob - 28.04.2012 at 18:08  
*yawn*
BitterCOld - 28.04.2012 at 19:16  
Written by InnerSelf on 28.04.2012 at 15:14

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 28.04.2012 at 13:43

It is extreme ....... extremely extreme ....... extreme ........ extreme........... extreme doom ........

Faal ....... extreme .......


I've only heard the debut and it was .... arrgh extreme I still need to check this one out asap


be careful, it might be...
InnerSelf - 28.04.2012 at 19:37  
Written by BitterCOld on 28.04.2012 at 19:16

be careful, it might be...

Hahahahaha somehow I saw that coming
Merchant of Doom - 29.04.2012 at 09:46  
I was talking about the music itself, not the genre. Just because they were put in the extreme doom category at the MS Awards doesn't mean they have to be that extreme. The album is quite melodic, actually.
Troy Killjoy - 01.05.2012 at 18:30  
Probably some of the best Esoteric worship I've come across to date.

But I'm thinking that's because I don't often come across Esoteric worship at all, unfortunately. Hopefully Chandler lends his expertise to a few more bands...
InnerSelf - 02.05.2012 at 00:19  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 01.05.2012 at 18:30

Probably some of the best Esoteric worship I've come across to date.

But I'm thinking that's because I don't often come across Esoteric worship at all, unfortunately. Hopefully Chandler lends his expertise to a few more bands...

sorry for going off-topic but this intrigued me :
Only band I know that falls under this category is Arcana Coelestia, any other bands I should know about ?
Ernis - 02.05.2012 at 01:06  
Does the name Faal rhyme with the English verb "fail"? I assumed it would be like adding an "l" to the word "far"...
BitterCOld - 02.05.2012 at 01:23  
Written by Ernis on 02.05.2012 at 01:06

Does the name Faal rhyme with the English verb "fail"? I assumed it would be like adding an "l" to the word "far"...


faal is actually closer to "fahl", but it means fail.
Troy Killjoy - 02.05.2012 at 05:34  
Written by InnerSelf on 02.05.2012 at 00:19
...any other bands I should know about ?

Probably, and when you know about them you should report back to me!
Marcel Hubregtse - 02.05.2012 at 15:09  
Written by Ernis on 02.05.2012 at 01:06

Does the name Faal rhyme with the English verb "fail"? I assumed it would be like adding an "l" to the word "far"...


nope Faal doesn't rhyme with fail.
Like BitterCOld said it is close to fahl the way Faal is pronounced and faal is the Dutch word for fail.
Ernis - 02.05.2012 at 16:50  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 02.05.2012 at 15:09

nope Faal doesn't rhyme with fail.
Like BitterCOld said it is close to fahl the way Faal is pronounced and faal is the Dutch word for fail.

Thanks, now the wordplay does make sense indeed : )
Marcel Hubregtse - 02.05.2012 at 16:53  
Written by Ernis on 02.05.2012 at 16:50


Thanks, now the wordplay does make sense indeed : )


yes it does. But then again Faal have been confronted by that sort of wordplay ever since their first ever gig midway 2008
BitterCOld - 02.05.2012 at 19:58  
Damnit. you mean i'm not the first to play with the obvious?
Marcel Hubregtse - 02.05.2012 at 20:30  
Written by BitterCOld on 02.05.2012 at 19:58

Damnit. you mean i'm not the first to play with the obvious?


Nope

I remember at their debut gig when they opened for Officium Triste who had their try out gig with their latest drummer, the following conversation between Pim and me "well, hopefully this Faal won't be a fail"
Mr. Doctor - 02.05.2012 at 20:48  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 02.05.2012 at 20:30
the following conversation between Pim and me "well, hopefully this Faal won't be a fail"


Did one of you smack the face of the other who said that for such a lame pun?
Marcel Hubregtse - 02.05.2012 at 20:51  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 02.05.2012 at 20:48

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 02.05.2012 at 20:30
the following conversation between Pim and me "well, hopefully this Faal won't be a fail"


Did one of you smack the face of the other who said that for such a lame pun?


nah. Pim had to check the band out because it would be a possible opener for Dutch Doom Days that year. Well, their first gig impressed us both and he booked them to open the Saturday of Dutch Doom Days 2008 (see report on it by Lucas, Collin and me)
strade - 11.05.2012 at 02:13  
Considering my recent doom obsession, this is one I would do well to check out. Any other notable doom releases this year, BitterCOld?
BitterCOld - 11.05.2012 at 02:26  
Written by strade on 11.05.2012 at 02:13

Considering my recent doom obsession, this is one I would do well to check out. Any other notable doom releases this year, BitterCOld?


Profetus - funeral doom.

Tort and Lurk are sludge/doom that are awesome. Doc Godin reviewed those. he preferred Lurk, I prefer Tort.

Process Of Guilt comes out next month, and is a mix of doom and Neurosis/Cult of Luna stay post...

Solitude sent me a bunch of stuff, apparently, that should arrive soon so i am likely to have more to report. Most of the doom i've listened to this year was put out by them late last year.
Troy Killjoy - 11.05.2012 at 02:49  
Written by strade on 11.05.2012 at 02:13
Considering my recent doom obsession, this is one I would do well to check out. Any other notable doom releases this year, BitterCOld?

In addition to the OBC's suggestions, I'd also go with Monolithe (reviewed by Joe), Ea (reviewed by Bitter), Anhedonist (no profile here but awesome evil-sounding death doom), and Inverloch (members of diSEMBOWELMENT... so... old school plodding crunchy death doom).
strade - 11.05.2012 at 05:12  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 11.05.2012 at 02:49

Written by strade on 11.05.2012 at 02:13
Considering my recent doom obsession, this is one I would do well to check out. Any other notable doom releases this year, BitterCOld?

In addition to the OBC's suggestions, I'd also go with Monolithe (reviewed by Joe), Ea (reviewed by Bitter), Anhedonist (no profile here but awesome evil-sounding death doom), and Inverloch (members of diSEMBOWELMENT... so... old school plodding crunchy death doom).


Oh yeah, I already bought that Anhedonist album from Dark Descent due to glowing reviews. Haven't listened to it enough, but my first impression was definitely positive. Inverloch and Process of Guilt will probably be my net stops after that. Thanks the for suggestions, guys.
Marcel Hubregtse - 11.05.2012 at 08:26  
Album release gig tonight in 013, Tilburg together with monsters Ophis and Ataraxie. Hell, psyched for it. Nice oozing into the weekend with Dordrecht Doom Day tomorrow which features Heavy Lord, Akelei, Seal Of Beleth, Ophis, Mythological Cold Towers and headliner Saturnus.
IronAngel - 01.06.2012 at 01:50  
I wasn't blown away by this album at first. But damn, it's growing on me by the day. Probably my favorite new metal album discovery, together with Pike. It indeed reminds me a lot of Esoteric, and probably Arcana Coelestia even more. They do that post-rockish tremolo picking very stylishly, better than Explosions in the Sky themselves.

The middle two tracks are maybe a little weaker, but the opener and especially the closer are just immense.
Oaken - 15.06.2012 at 15:13  
This is excellent. So damn atmospheric, and not as slow as funeral doom (Which is a taste I haven't acquired yet). And the post-rock tremolo picking that IronAngel mentioned is stellar to say the least, especially in "Tempest". The tracks are all equally good, with "The Insistance's Wish" a very little bit behind.
Any other bands that play the same style?
Lit. - 31.08.2013 at 07:21  
I can't stop reading the first sentence in the Riddler's voice.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Faal - The Clouds Are Burning 9 26.04.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Who Dies In Siberian Slush - Bitterness Of The Years That Are Lost 6 19.02.2011 by MechanisT
Reviews The Death Of Her Money - You Are Loved 6 25.05.2011 by Fat & Sassy!
Reviews Melechesh - The Epigenesis 4.5 05.11.2010 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews The Undergrave Experience - Macabre - Il Richiamo delle Ombre 4.5 28.11.2011 by Troy Killjoy



Hits total: 5137 | This month: 8