Rating:
10
Porcupine Tree - Deadwing
28 March 2005


01. Deadwing
02. Shallow
03. Lazarus
04. Halo
05. Arriving Somewhere But Not Here
06. Mellotron Scratch
07. Open Car
08. The Start Of Something Beautiful
09. Glass Arm Shattering
10. Shesmovedon [american edtion bonus]


Deadwing is a shivering experience that will immediately combine all kind of emotions in both the atmosphere and in your mind; the minute you push play in your stereo you'll start feeling thrilled, excited, angry, stunned, besieged, and mostly any sensation the human can experience will appear instantly no doubt.

The music is beautiful, every instrument works harmonically in both separate and combined ways; everything is structured in a very deep way, the arpeggios the moderatos, the allegros, the melodies, etc. emerge in the song in the exact moment; this is certainly an evidence of the amazing songwriting "Porcupine Tree" has and executes, every song has a lot of incredible timings and paces as you can appreciate from what I just wrote; believe me, not many bands around manage to combine that amount of layers and paces creating outstanding music in the end.

There are 2 perfect songs in "Deadwing", one is "Arriving Somewhere But Not Here", this fifth track is a Progressive instance of Porcupine Tree, and an amazing one by the way. "Arriving Somewhere But Not Here" is a tune wrapped in a lot of scales and musical shades, it creates a really chilling atmosphere…almost depressing, it's a marvelous tune that will shock more than one for sure. The second song is "Lazarus"; this song is actually a whole new face of "Deadwing". Most tracks in this CD are ferocious and fast paced, but "Lazarus is the opposite way, this tune is a mellow experience that can either make you extremely happy or extremely sad, a beautiful tune indeed.

This album is certainly a masterpiece, some might say it's not as good as "In Absentia", but please do not compare this release with anything, just hear "Deadwing" individually and you'll find one of the best and most interesting releases in 2005. I really recommend everyone to get this record, the music is so great that will suit any kind of tastes, so I'll give this one a 10 because it is actually flawless, I found no stain in the music or the production…even the artwork is perfect for the concept, so an unblemished album this is no doubt.

Best Tracks: The whole album is more than amazing


Band profile: Porcupine Tree
Album: Deadwing


 


written by Herzebeth | 07.11.2005



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 15  
Users visited: 239  
Search this topic:  


Passenger - 13.09.2006 at 01:39  
This may well be one of the most underrated bands in the whole World.
Spyroid - 22.10.2006 at 02:36  
True, true.
I love this review, it is just so right ^^
Best release from 2005 togehter with Ghost Reveries of course
And great album overall indeed, one of their most even and best.
Talvi - 11.01.2007 at 23:23  
One hell of an amazing album. Porcupine Tree it's a genious band.
JohnDoe - 25.01.2007 at 13:39  
An excellent album, I'll even say a "masterpiece". A must-have for any rocker and prog-rocker. A musical superlative, that's what this album is!
BloodTears - 02.05.2007 at 00:00  
This is beyond wonderful, beyond words. This pulls your skin and burns it afterwards.
Lucas - 02.05.2007 at 00:21  
Herzebeth, did you really rate an album of this genre with an 9.9? Then I must definitely hear it!
duyhung - 14.05.2007 at 16:08  
Great album,now I'm really into Porcupine Tree can't stop playing 'Lazarus',a perfect song indeed
lazarus - 31.05.2007 at 02:49  
I agree with the review, definitely an amazing album, excellent choice of the perfect songs from the album. I'm Lazarus...
doosh - 16.06.2007 at 05:02  
it's really difficult to find bands like this one. i can't describe how much i love Porcupine Tree.

great review, Herzebeth. couldn't have wrote it better myself.
Panterica - 26.08.2009 at 16:37  
Wow, I never thought I will ever see something like that: An album which has the highest rate and no one disagree, I must get that one.
Elio - 26.08.2009 at 17:56  
Written by Panterica on 26.08.2009 at 16:37

Wow, I never thought I will ever see something like that: An album which has the highest rate and no one disagree, I must get that one.


Well, it doesn't deserve a perfect rating maybe, but it is indeed a hell of an album
Dangerboner - 23.09.2009 at 13:33  
This album is one of the biggest growers I've ever heard. I went from thinking it was mediocre to having it become one of my favorite albums of all time. Not quite perfect, but close
BloodTears - 23.09.2009 at 16:56  
Written by Dangerboner on 23.09.2009 at 13:33

This album is one of the biggest growers I've ever heard. I went from thinking it was mediocre to having it become one of my favorite albums of all time. Not quite perfect, but close


Oh come on, it's perfect and you know it!
Argônio - 24.01.2010 at 13:45  
Certainly a masterpiece, I never get tired of listening.
Jaeryd17‍ - 21.11.2012 at 16:25  
Strangely enough, I actually like the Incident more than this album. I don't think it has anything to do with the musical quality, it just doesn't resonate with me the same way The Incident does, which is especially funny because it seems like a lot of people were disappointed with The Incident.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Porcupine Tree - Deadwing 6 28.09.2011 by musicalkaratekid
Albums Porcupine Tree - Anesthetize [DVD] 4.5 18.04.2010 by Roro
News Porcupine Tree - Live Track Available For Streaming And Download 4.5 24.10.2012 by Milena
News Porcupine Tree - New Video Online 4.5 26.04.2007 by Spyroid
News Porcupine Tree - New Album Title Revealed 4.5 07.01.2007 by Talvi



Hits total: 8487 | This month: 5