Rating:
7.0
Luca Turilli's Rhapsody - Ascending To Infinity
22 June 2012


Disc I
01. Quantum X
02. Ascending To Infinity
03. Dante's Inferno
04. Excalibur
05. Tormento E Passione
06. Dark Fate Of Atlantis
07. Luna [Alessandro Safina cover]
08. Clash Of The Titans
09. Of Michael The Archangel And Lucifer's Fall
    1 - Alma Mundi
    2 - Fatum Mortalis
    3 - Ignis Divinus
10. In The Mirror [Loudness cover] [bonus]
11. March Of Time [Helloween cover] [bonus]

Disc II [limited edition]
+ Dark Fate Of Atlantis [video]
+ Making Of Dark Fate Of Atlantis Video
+ Interview With Sebastian Roeder
+ Interview With Luca Turilli
+ Interview With Alessandro Conti
+ Interview With Dominique Leurquin
+ Interview With Patrice Guers
+ Alex Landenburg [drum improvisation]


The pressure is on for Luca Turilli to stamp his authority as the better of the two "Rhapsody" bands. Luca Turilli's Rhapsody being the first half to release an album since the split, it is time to discover whether this band can justify themselves as a separate entity, or if this is just a faction of the past.

Luca Turilli's Rhapsody hold the distinctive Rhapsody sound, and pull it off almost convincingly. "Ascending To Infinity" and "Clash Of The Titans" are great, classic Rhapsody-sounding songs with excitement, pace, and most of all; very catchy chorus' with lots of lovely layered vocals. The rest of Ascending To Infinity unfortunately falls slightly below expectations.

Luca Turilli's solo albums were always watered down, weak versions of the main Rhapsody albums. Luca Turilli's Rhapsody sound like a band playing up to be something greater than it is. This whole concept of "cinematic metal" has gone too far and has consumed Luca's vision of what a great symphonic/power metal album should be. It sounds like this band are playing to a concept rather than playing their own music.

Luca Turilli's Rhapsody has great talent in its ranks; fellow Italian and Trick Or Treat singer Alessandro Conti gives the performance of his life, but Ascending To Infinity lacks credibility and feels like a hollow attempt to be bigger, more epic, more symphonic, more "cinematic".

On face value, Ascending To Infinity is a good album. Granted, some of the wildly bombastic parts sound great, and there is a lot of quality to be found here. The new band gives a great performance, and a good part of the album can be enjoyed to some degree, but Luca Turilli seems to have lost grip of the fundamentals that helped him put together some of the great Rhapsody albums. Catchy melodies, great chorus', a tune that actually sticks in your mind; surely these are more important than sounding overblown and over the top for the sake of it.

Luca Turilli's Rhapsody have made the first step and are clearly competent together as a band, but let's just go back to basics and put together a catchy and solid album without the silly "film score metal" concept next time, please.

-

Symphonic Power metal
Italy
Length: 57:30
Nuclear Blast

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 8
Production: 10


Band profile: Luca Turilli's Rhapsody
Album: Ascending To Infinity


 



Written on 29.06.2012 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 20  
Users visited: 384  
Search this topic:  


Kamil - 29.06.2012 at 20:19  
This album is very good and 7 /10 is too low in my opinion.
Neroese - 29.06.2012 at 20:30  
Well, Rhapsody. It's THIS rhapsody with Fabio or not?
Kamil - 29.06.2012 at 23:17  
Written by Guest on 29.06.2012 at 20:30

Well, Rhapsody. It's THIS rhapsody with Fabio or not?

I don't know, how about you, but I wasn' t expecting anything else, than Rhapsody style. I am only surprised, that Turilli's new stuff is so refreshing This is good and very promising sign on the future. The best european euro power metal of the year so far

Btw. guy on vocal is damn awesome...as good as Fabio or even better
Lokaeda - 29.06.2012 at 23:52  
Written by Guest on 29.06.2012 at 20:30

Well, Rhapsody. It's THIS rhapsody with Fabio or not?


If you're asking whether Fabio is in this "half" of Rhapsody or not, I suggest you read the review and also, maybe, the news concerning the band.
Biohazard96 - 29.06.2012 at 23:54  
Should listen it
Hyperion - 30.06.2012 at 03:38  
Naaaw its a great album, its true that the songs aren't very catchy and hard to memorize but please, it's obviuos that 7 out of 10 is ridiculusly low, the review isnt even detailed, its just going straight to comparing the two rhapsodies. The reason why they split was cuz Luca wanted to take another direction, a more explosive and complex direction, Ascending to Infinity achieved just that. CINEMATIC METAL FOR THE WIN
Kamil - 30.06.2012 at 09:31  
Written by Hyperion on 30.06.2012 at 03:38

Naaaw its a great album, its true that the songs aren't very catchy and hard to memorize but please, it's obviuos that 7 out of 10 is ridiculusly low, the review isnt even detailed, its just going straight to comparing the two rhapsodies. The reason why they split was cuz Luca wanted to take another direction, a more explosive and complex direction, Ascending to Infinity achieved just that. CINEMATIC METAL FOR THE WIN

Fully agree with this

And only 6 for songwritting is something, what I cmpletely don't understand
Reviewer should listen this stuff more carefully and after listening especially second part of this album he will understant his mistake and will change his rate to at least 8.
Andreas - 30.06.2012 at 13:24  
Written by Kamil on 30.06.2012 at 09:31

And only 6 for songwritting is something, what I cmpletely don't understand
Reviewer should listen this stuff more carefully and after listening especially second part of this album he will understant his mistake and will change his rate to at least 8.

So the reviewer should listen to the album until he has the exact same opinion as you? I'm glad that there's a moderate review in between all the fanboyish behaviour around this album. It saves me a bit from the hype.

I really like the album so far, though.
DieH@rd - 30.06.2012 at 14:35  
I also really like the album.
Kamil - 30.06.2012 at 14:54  
Written by Andreas on 30.06.2012 at 13:24

Written by Kamil on 30.06.2012 at 09:31

And only 6 for songwritting is something, what I cmpletely don't understand
Reviewer should listen this stuff more carefully and after listening especially second part of this album he will understant his mistake and will change his rate to at least 8.

So the reviewer should listen to the album until he has the exact same opinion as you? I'm glad that there's a moderate review in between all the fanboyish behaviour around this album. It saves me a bit from the hype.

And we should agree with reviewer no matter, how much he is wrong?
Andreas - 30.06.2012 at 16:00  
Written by Kamil on 30.06.2012 at 14:54

And we should agree with reviewer no matter, how much he is wrong?

Then you tell me when a reviewer is wrong, especially in this case.

And there's a distinction between disagreeing and saying someone is wrong. Just that YOU disagree with him, doesn't mean he is wrong. A reviewer has to screw up badly to be wrong. And I wouldn't say this reviewer screwed up.
Kamil - 30.06.2012 at 16:22  
Written by Andreas on 30.06.2012 at 16:00

Written by Kamil on 30.06.2012 at 14:54

And we should agree with reviewer no matter, how much he is wrong?

Then you tell me when a reviewer is wrong, especially in this case.

I've told this already - only 6 for songwriting.
farfaramir - 30.06.2012 at 18:07  
Production? 10???????

Did you hear the drums? Of course you didn't, cause they don't even sound. I agree with the rest of the review, but I don't think that "Clash Of The Titans" is the highlight of the album (maybe Dante's Inferno).
Troy Killjoy - 30.06.2012 at 18:24  
Written by Kamil on 30.06.2012 at 09:31
Reviewer should listen this stuff more carefully and after listening especially second part of this album he will understant his mistake and will change his rate to at least 8.

Just because you personally believe this album features great songwriting doesn't mean somebody else personally believes the same thing. An 8 for you may be a 6 for someone else - get over it. It has nothing to do with being right or wrong, and everything to do with different opinions and standards.
Empyror - 01.07.2012 at 02:37  
This singer is AMAZING! I assumed when they split up that no matter how good Lucca's songs were, the other half were going to have the better singer since Fabio is my favorite power metal singer. I was wrong. This dude is just as good. I need to ask Lucca if I can have one of the singers off his "Amazing Vocalists" tree that he clearly has in his back yard. Allasandro and Tommy Karevik are two new singers that I was unaware of that have come to my attention recently and floored me.
The Norseman - 02.07.2012 at 13:22  
The album is not amazing but it's not disappointing either. I like it and the more I hear it, the more I like it.
Sirihar - 02.07.2012 at 17:34  
"Luca Turilli's solo albums were always watered down, weak versions of the main Rhapsody albums."

Having never listened to The Infinite Wonders of Creation, I can't comment on how that sounds in relation to the main Rhapsody albums. I can comment, however, on the other two albums. I'll grant you that Kings of the Nordic Twilight does sound similar to the main Rhapsody albums, but I would be interested to know which main Rhapsody album you think Prophet of the Last Eclipse sounds like?

"Catchy melodies, great chorus', a tune that actually sticks in your mind; surely these are more important than sounding overblown and over the top for the sake of it."

I've had the album only for a week, and in that short space of time it has become one of my all time favourite albums. I love everything about it. It doesn't sound overblown or over the top for the sake of it, at least not to my ears. The only song I'm not really keen on is Luna, but even so, I still find it enjoyable to listen to. Have you listened to any of the interviews with Luca where he talks about what he wanted to achieve with this album?
YoreLore - 04.07.2012 at 18:18  
You can't really complain about the style and tell the main songwriter to change the style for the next album. This is his band and it follows his progression. It's like complaining about DTs albums being about showing off technical ability instead of good songwriting. It's a silly thing to complain about because this "film score" stuff is what Luca has been doing for years. Harsh to lower the rating of an album because of a desire to hear Legendary Tales or Symphony of Enchanted Lands again.
Cronomaster - 24.07.2012 at 13:54  
I also agree, that vote should be a bit higher, but hey, this is HIS review. If you want, you can write your own too.

In opossition to reviewer, I like that "film score metal" concept and I hope they will keep that direction. Of course, there's still some things that could be done better, but I like this album.
Daggon - 31.08.2012 at 17:24  
I think the rating and the review are quite accurate. As a hardcore fan of everything with the name of Luca Turilli on it, I think that this work is polluted with that pretentious music Luca did on previous albums working alone like his awfully boring "Dreamquest" and the barely enjoyable "The Infinite Wonders Of Creation". I really understand what he is trying to achieve with this kind of music, but he is losing the objective of making some memorable music. It's kinda hard to express with words my disappointment while listening to this, but I haven't lost my expectations about getting something better with his next album.
Oh well.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Luca Turilli's Rhapsody - Ascending To Infinity 9 14.02.2012 by BMR Monkey
News Luca Turilli's Rhapsody - Announce Collaboration With Orchestra And Choir 6 24.01.2013 by
News The Secret Revealed Part I - About Rhapsody's Lyrics And Luca Turilli's Life 6 17.03.2014 by R Lewis
Reviews Rhapsody Of Fire - The Cold Embrace Of Fear - A Dark Romantic Symphony 6 28.09.2010 by csiga
News Luca Turilli's Rhapsody - Three New Songs Streaming Online 6 27.06.2012 by Stabby



Hits total: 6811 | This month: 72