Rating:
9.0
Verwüstung - Beyond The Watercolor Sunset, We Feel New Life [EP]
11 April 2011


01. Beyond The Watercolor Sunset, We Feel New Life


Wow.

Not much more can be said*, Verwüstung's …Watercolor… is that… Wow. Listening takes you on almost a journey; it's emotional, melodic, heavy, dark, atmospheric, ambient and everything in between.

You wake up; it's early… too early, just after dawn. It's the middle of fall, the air is cool and the ground is frosted, you're just about to fall back asleep again when you hear shouting, fighting. You know what's going on and you try to hide from it, you put the pillow over your ears to try and block out the noise, but to no avail. The yelling turns to screaming, you can hear things breaking, glass shattering on the floor, paintings and heirlooms being thrown up at the wall, and then… Silence. A single warm tear flows down the side of your face onto your pillow.

That's this album in a nutshell. A calm fall morning, erupts into the worst feeling of your life. The intro meanders slowly through highs and lows, the synth begins to carry you into the world of Verwüstung, the sample (taken from the film "Dolores Claiborne") begins to show the inner turmoil. It sets the mood for what you are about to receive.

As if being pushed over the edge, the tremolo starts, searing, tearing, ripping through the wall of ambiance. The riff annihilates the warm, fuzzy ambiance. The hate filled riff carries on like a neglected child exploding with the rage of being overlooked and pushed aside. The riffs pans out… the intense burst of rage has drained all the energy… the song fades into a ballad of acoustic guitar and ambiance. Almost like a lullaby the music flows and flows until, once more, it explodes into a fury of noise. The sound envelops you, as if standing in an open beach, just as a tsunami breaks at the shore.

But as soon as it arrives, it's gone again. And we, the listeners, are left in awe.


*as it turns out, a lot more could be said.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 8
Production: 7


Band profile: Verwüstung
Album: Beyond The Watercolor Sunset, We Feel New Life


 


written by Boxcar Willy | 17.08.2012


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 6  
Users visited: 67  
Search this topic:  


Milena - 20.08.2012 at 20:05  
Not bad. This is on bandcamp, I presume? Might give it a spin.
Boxcar Willy - 20.08.2012 at 20:09  
Written by Milena on 20.08.2012 at 20:05

Not bad. This is on bandcamp, I presume? Might give it a spin.



Milena - 20.08.2012 at 20:15  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 20.08.2012 at 20:09

*vid*



I prefer bandcamp
Boxcar Willy - 20.08.2012 at 20:24  
Written by Milena on 20.08.2012 at 20:15

Written by Boxcar Willy on 20.08.2012 at 20:09

*vid*



I prefer bandcamp

It's on there too, just thought that would be easier

vrwstng.bandcamp.com/
IronAngel - 21.08.2012 at 00:20  
You overuse and misuse the ellipsis; it's not a punctuation mark to indicate mere pause. They're rarely necessary at all, so try to avoid them in the future. As a result, your text will be much more readable.

If I hadn't heard this record, I would have no idea what the hell it is they play. Strict labelling isn't that important, but giving the reader some idea what kind of music you're reviewing is generally a good idea.

Other than that, nice job. This album is quite good, and way better than this year's LP.
Boxcar Willy - 21.08.2012 at 01:00  
Written by IronAngel on 21.08.2012 at 00:20

You overuse and misuse the ellipsis; it's not a punctuation mark to indicate mere pause. They're rarely necessary at all, so try to avoid them in the future. As a result, your text will be much more readable.

If I hadn't heard this record, I would have no idea what the hell it is they play. Strict labelling isn't that important, but giving the reader some idea what kind of music you're reviewing is generally a good idea.

Other than that, nice job. This album is quite good, and way better than this year's LP.

I use the ellipsis as how I'd read it, whenever I pause for moment and think, I put them, I think they fit better than commas, but I'll try to use them less next time . I know I do overuse them though, same with commas.

As for defining a style. I generally do, but it's pretty hard for Verwustung, so I just decided to leave it out, and let the reviewer find out on their own.

EDIT: "Ellipsis is a series of dots that usually indicate an intentional omission of a word, sentence or whole section from the original text being quoted."
I always thought they meant a pause, thanks for bringing it to my attention and thanks for reading!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Verwüstung - Beyond The Watercolor Sunset, We Feel New Life 13.5 15.03.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Chron Goblin - Life For The Living 7.5 09.09.2013 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Bring Me The Horizon - Sempiternal 6 10.05.2013 by tea[m]ster
Reviews Carnifex - The Diseased And The Poisoned 6 02.01.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Woods Of Ypres - Woods IV: The Green Album 6 02.01.2012 by Troy Killjoy



Hits total: 2041 | This month: 46