Advertise on Metal Storm
Akercocke - Words That Go Unspoken, Deeds That Go Undone review


211 users:
Band: Akercocke
Album: Words That Go Unspoken, Deeds That Go Undone
Release date: October 2005

01. Verdelet
02. Seduced
03. Shelter From The Sand
04. Eyes Of Dawn
05. Abbadonna, Dying In The Sun
06. Words That Go Unspoken, Deeds That Go Undone
07. Intractable
08. Seraphs And Silence
09. The Penance
10. Lex Talionis

Well, Akercocke are one of those bands in the extreme metal scene that reached their fourth full-length release without having any shameful moments in their course, up to date, in the darkness.

When the Salem Orchid withered, from its ashes arose Akercocke and shook the foundations of the extreme metal scene with the magnificent "Rape Of The Bastard Nazarene". "Goat Of Mendes" followed, a personal favorite and a hymn to the beauty of the night and whatever comes forth from it, and two years later the wonderful "Choronzon" came out.

Two years later, loyal to their appointment, Akercocke keep on wandering in the everlasting darkness and the name of their fourth masterpiece is "Words That Go Unspoken, Deeds That Go Undone", with the band unleashing their avant-garde black/death metal dismal melodies in the air. Having the intensity and technique of black metal, the groove and some passages from the death metal scene, avant-garde passages that come from personal elements but also from the glorious days of Ved Buens Ende, oriental musical ideas that make their sound more affected and intellectual and, above all, personality and inspiration, "Words That Go Unspoken, Deeds That Go Undone" has all the ideal elements to haunt your CD-player and paint your souls with the colours that lie in Hell's eerie palette.

With "Words That Go Unspoken, Deeds That Go Undone", Akercocke make their overall feeling and atmosphere more affected and vivid and they take their sound a few steps further for sure, something they achieve every time with every album they release, reaching higher levels of maturity and innovation in the composing part. In the big plus of the album, as well, is the fact that Akercocke have reached a higher level not only in the composing part but in the interpreting part, making you wonder how much further the members of the band can take their playing abilities. Whoever won't recognise the fact the fact that they are wonderful musicians is just deaf and needs to pay a visit to the nearest doctor!

Compositions like "Eyes Of Dawn", "Words That Go Unspoken (Part I)", "Seraphs And Silence", "The Penance" etc are, objectively and subjectively, take it as you wish, fabulous and deeply inspired, making you want to listen to them again and again, coming from an album that is here to make the darkness more alive than ever.

Concluding, the brand new work of Akercocke is a must-have album for the adorers of extreme, and at the same time, elegiac music, just don't miss it!


Written on 26.11.2005 by "It is myself I have never met, whose face is pasted on the underside of my mind."

Guest review by
With the enhanced version of this release fans are treated to a free DVD disc, the contents of which are an absurd interview conducted by a mock-Italian metal head who apparently was "the first on the scene."

As the DVD progresses, one realizes that Akercocke are a band with an immense sense of humor; a band who are comfortable with what they are.

published 05.07.2006 | Comments (10)

Hits total: 2785 | This month: 25