Rating:
8.8
Trepalium - H.N.P.
8 June 2012


01. Heic Noenum Pax
02. Prescription Of Crisis
03. S(l)ave The World
04. Order The Labyrinth
05. Insane Architect
06. Let The Clown Rise
07. (A) I Was (S)
08. The Worst F(r)iend
09. Raining Past
10. I'm Broken [Pantera cover]


You've heard a couple hundred death metal albums, you think you've heard them all, aside from maybe some of those death-[insert gimmick sound here] type bands. Meet Trepalium, a band of considerable ingenuity without resorting to gimmicky bullshit. Just really offbeat death metal.

What makes H.N.P. such an impressive piece of work is just how well-rounded the whole thing is. It's aggressive yet clear, catchy but not dumbed-down, and intelligent without breaching pretentiousness. Basically, take some of the technical proficiency of Obscura, then throw in some Gojira-worthy groove. That's just scratching the surface, the variation and eclecticism is almost immeasurable here. Such a wide array of combinations almost demands a prog-like delivery, and that's where things get really weird. This isn't a prog album, nor is it one of those constantly shifting mathcore type albums. This album is basically the antithesis of repetition, yet the riffs always resonate, and they always wrap things under 5 minutes.

Variety meets brevity, that's what this album is about; "Heic Noenum Pax" is that groovy tech-death mentioned earlier, the main riff from "Order Of The Labyrinth" sounds like something that would be at home on Opeth's Blackwater Park, "I'm Broken" sounds like something Down would put out, while "Insane Architect" has its own brand of funkiness. Yet despite being so eclectic, H.N.P. is an incredibly cohesive album. Though they do borrow a few different sounds, it never sounds like imitation, but rather interpretation.

Death metal as varied as this only comes around once in a while, don't miss out!


Band profile: Trepalium
Album: H.N.P.


 



Written on 29.08.2012 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 27  
Users visited: 359  
Search this topic:  


Mr. Doctor - 29.08.2012 at 03:42  
Hella interested. Your review sells this baby perfectly.
Alex Fenger - 29.08.2012 at 04:38  
Original groovy tech-death.... sounds fucking brilliant. When you say Obscura, do you mean the album or the band?
Doc Godin - 29.08.2012 at 04:50  
Written by Alex Fenger on 29.08.2012 at 04:38

Original groovy tech-death.... sounds fucking brilliant. When you say Obscura, do you mean the album or the band?

The band.
Unhealer - 29.08.2012 at 06:49  
Quote:
"I'm Broken" sounds like something Down would put out


What do you mean by this? Like if Down covered Pantera?
Anyway, just learned this is the main band of the guy of Step In Fluid. That band was rich in awesome riffing, I might want to check this out.
bloodwrage - 29.08.2012 at 06:50  
Is it better than Necrovation?
Void Eater - 29.08.2012 at 08:01  
Listening to Insane Architect; gives me a strong urge to get jiggy with it on the dance floor. A rare feeling for death metal to evoke. I like it.
Jaeryd - 29.08.2012 at 10:48  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 29.08.2012 at 03:42

Hella interested. Your review sells this baby perfectly.


Totally agree with this. Read the review, listened to some of the tracks, and the album sounds fucking great.
Spirit Molecule - 29.08.2012 at 11:31  
Man, Trepalium are awesome fun. I still haven't heard the album yet, the promo cd is just lying on my desk. Really nice of Harun (guitarist) to send me a copy.
I was really looking forward to checking out the album after Step in Fluid, coz I wanted to see if any more of the jazz funk influence slipped into Trepalium.
Trepalium are one groovy band though, I don't know what it is about the French death scene, but they really do churn out some great bands.
!J.O.O.E.! - 29.08.2012 at 19:13  
Yeah this is a kickass album. Haven't given it its due attention this year though,
Unna Med - 29.08.2012 at 19:24  
Okay, I'm interested. This review does indeed sell this album perfectly.
Tristus Scriptor - 30.08.2012 at 01:56  
Ya sold me, Doc. Listening now- and I LOVE it!
oblong - 30.08.2012 at 03:16  
Interesting indeed - looking forward to hearing this !
silenius - 30.08.2012 at 17:30  
Awesome album, totaly hooked xD!
JD - 30.08.2012 at 19:51  
This is sound really interesting. Added to my cheking list.
psykometal - 01.09.2012 at 08:24  
Written by Unhealer on 29.08.2012 at 06:49

What do you mean by this? Like if Down covered Pantera?

I was wondering this same thing...:lol:
Maxx666 - 01.09.2012 at 21:30  
Dude i'm hooked.. Im totally hooked to this vinyl which i got just a few hours ago. H.N.P. is just the right thing at the right time, what else can be said. Its just one of those few antiquities that must be present in the collection of an avid death fans. 10/10 couldn't help it...
-DC-002- - 05.09.2012 at 03:35  
I enjoy this competent musics.
demonsarising - 05.09.2012 at 16:56  
I checked out Insane Architect. I'm very intrigued.
Jaeryd - 06.09.2012 at 02:11  
Listened to the whole album on YouTube because of this review. It was definitely awesome, I loved every bit of it. Gonna buy it as soon as I have the extra money.
TrollandDie - 07.09.2012 at 21:58  
Very good review. I'm usually put off by anything groove-based but it might have a colourful enough palette to keep me interested. Definetely worth a listen anyways.
Syk - 09.09.2012 at 13:58  
Written by Jaeryd on 06.09.2012 at 02:11
Listened to the whole album on YouTube because of this review...
Was (and right now, still is) streaming in full legally for the past month or two ... I didn't go crazy about it like you guys have, but yeah, liked it more with more listens. Good album
sladetroityer - 18.09.2012 at 04:21  
This more Metal rather than Death Metal wouldn't you say?
Doc Godin - 18.09.2012 at 08:14  
Written by sladetroityer on 18.09.2012 at 04:21

This more Metal rather than Death Metal wouldn't you say?

.........

............

..........What?
sladetroityer - 22.09.2012 at 00:45  
What do you mean What? How is this Death Metal? Their other CD's may lean towards the DM genre but this one? I think not.
!J.O.O.E.! - 22.09.2012 at 11:53  
I think so.
Evil Chip - 24.09.2012 at 06:43  
Good stuff, I dig a lot the guitar tone and the raw production in this one.
Jaeryd - 03.01.2013 at 08:09  
This album deserves an average rating of at least 8.

8.8 is a good rating, sadly the average is only 7.7. But fuck the average.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Hail! Hornet - Disperse The Curse 4.5 09.08.2011 by Xnoybis
Reviews Cadaveria - Horror Metal 4.5 10.01.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews El Caco - Hatred, Love & Diagrams 4.5 04.02.2012 by Milena
Reviews Proghma-C - Bar-Do Travel 4.5 15.08.2010 by Edmund Fogg
Reviews Spellbound Dazzle - Unreal Fairy Tales 4.5 29.06.2011 by Fat & Sassy!



Hits total: 6035 | This month: 40