Trepalium - H.N.P. review



Reviewer:
8.8

32 users:
7.69
Band: Trepalium
Album: H.N.P.
Release date: June 2012


01. Heic Noenum Pax
02. Prescription Of Crisis
03. S(l)ave The World
04. Order The Labyrinth
05. Insane Architect
06. Let The Clown Rise
07. (A) I Was (S)
08. The Worst F(r)iend
09. Raining Past
10. I'm Broken [Pantera cover]


You've heard a couple hundred death metal albums, you think you've heard them all, aside from maybe some of those death-[insert gimmick sound here] type bands. Meet Trepalium, a band of considerable ingenuity without resorting to gimmicky bullshit. Just really offbeat death metal.

What makes H.N.P. such an impressive piece of work is just how well-rounded the whole thing is. It's aggressive yet clear, catchy but not dumbed-down, and intelligent without breaching pretentiousness. Basically, take some of the technical proficiency of Obscura, then throw in some Gojira-worthy groove. That's just scratching the surface, the variation and eclecticism is almost immeasurable here. Such a wide array of combinations almost demands a prog-like delivery, and that's where things get really weird. This isn't a prog album, nor is it one of those constantly shifting mathcore type albums. This album is basically the antithesis of repetition, yet the riffs always resonate, and they always wrap things under 5 minutes.

Variety meets brevity, that's what this album is about; "Heic Noenum Pax" is that groovy tech-death mentioned earlier, the main riff from "Order Of The Labyrinth" sounds like something that would be at home on Opeth's Blackwater Park, "I'm Broken" sounds like something Down would put out, while "Insane Architect" has its own brand of funkiness. Yet despite being so eclectic, H.N.P. is an incredibly cohesive album. Though they do borrow a few different sounds, it never sounds like imitation, but rather interpretation.

Death metal as varied as this only comes around once in a while, don't miss out!


 



Written on 29.08.2012 by Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.


Comments

Comments: 25   Visited by: 363 users
29.08.2012 - 03:42
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Hella interested. Your review sells this baby perfectly.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
29.08.2012 - 04:38
Alex F
Slick Dick Rick
Original groovy tech-death.... sounds fucking brilliant. When you say Obscura, do you mean the album or the band?
Loading...
29.08.2012 - 04:50
Doc Godin
Obnoxious
Written by Alex F on 29.08.2012 at 04:38

Original groovy tech-death.... sounds fucking brilliant. When you say Obscura, do you mean the album or the band?

The band.
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
29.08.2012 - 06:49
Unhealer
Eclecticist
Quote:
"I'm Broken" sounds like something Down would put out


What do you mean by this? Like if Down covered Pantera?
Anyway, just learned this is the main band of the guy of Step In Fluid. That band was rich in awesome riffing, I might want to check this out.
Loading...
29.08.2012 - 06:50
bloodwrage
Pagan Angel
Is it better than Necrovation?
Loading...
29.08.2012 - 08:01
Void Eater
Account deleted
Listening to Insane Architect; gives me a strong urge to get jiggy with it on the dance floor. A rare feeling for death metal to evoke. I like it.
Loading...
29.08.2012 - 10:48
Jaeryd
Nihil's Maw
Written by Mr. Doctor on 29.08.2012 at 03:42

Hella interested. Your review sells this baby perfectly.


Totally agree with this. Read the review, listened to some of the tracks, and the album sounds fucking great.
----
Loading...
29.08.2012 - 11:31
Spirit Molecule
spirit molecule
Man, Trepalium are awesome fun. I still haven't heard the album yet, the promo cd is just lying on my desk. Really nice of Harun (guitarist) to send me a copy.
I was really looking forward to checking out the album after Step in Fluid, coz I wanted to see if any more of the jazz funk influence slipped into Trepalium.
Trepalium are one groovy band though, I don't know what it is about the French death scene, but they really do churn out some great bands.
----
If you never wake up from a dream does it become reality?

Last fm
Don't click here
Loading...
29.08.2012 - 19:13
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Yeah this is a kickass album. Haven't given it its due attention this year though,
Loading...
29.08.2012 - 19:24
Unna Med
Okay, I'm interested. This review does indeed sell this album perfectly.
----
Hello?
Is there anybody in there?
Just nod if you can hear me.
Is there anyone at home?
Loading...
30.08.2012 - 01:56
Tristus Scriptor
Rancid Reviewer
Ya sold me, Doc. Listening now- and I LOVE it!
Loading...
30.08.2012 - 03:16
oblong
Account deleted
Interesting indeed - looking forward to hearing this !
Loading...
30.08.2012 - 17:30
silenius
Awesome album, totaly hooked xD!
Loading...
30.08.2012 - 19:51
Kass
St. Anger
This is sound really interesting. Added to my cheking list.
----
"The Bees Made Honey In The Lion's Skull"
Loading...
01.09.2012 - 08:24
psykometal
A staff guy...
Written by Unhealer on 29.08.2012 at 06:49

What do you mean by this? Like if Down covered Pantera?

I was wondering this same thing...:lol:
----
~Zep, Database and Forum Moderation~

Loading...
01.09.2012 - 21:30
Maxx666
Meshuggahian
Dude i'm hooked.. Im totally hooked to this vinyl which i got just a few hours ago. H.N.P. is just the right thing at the right time, what else can be said. Its just one of those few antiquities that must be present in the collection of an avid death fans. 10/10 couldn't help it...
Loading...
05.09.2012 - 03:35
-DC-002-
Mastercommander
I enjoy this competent musics.
----
Coldgrits
Loading...
05.09.2012 - 16:56
demonsarising
I checked out Insane Architect. I'm very intrigued.
Loading...
07.09.2012 - 21:58
TrollandDie
Very good review. I'm usually put off by anything groove-based but it might have a colourful enough palette to keep me interested. Definetely worth a listen anyways.
----
Hello, my name is Mr......Snrub and I think it would be a capital idea to invest the money back in the nuclear plant.
Loading...
09.09.2012 - 13:58
Syk
myspace/bonerama
Written by Jaeryd on 06.09.2012 at 02:11
Listened to the whole album on YouTube because of this review...
Was (and right now, still is) streaming in full legally for the past month or two ... I didn't go crazy about it like you guys have, but yeah, liked it more with more listens. Good album
----
death ‡ thrash ‡ death/doom/prog ‡ Hail Zoldon!

he's not the kind you have to wind up on Sundays
Loading...
18.09.2012 - 04:21
sladetroityer
This more Metal rather than Death Metal wouldn't you say?
Loading...
18.09.2012 - 08:14
Doc Godin
Obnoxious
Written by sladetroityer on 18.09.2012 at 04:21

This more Metal rather than Death Metal wouldn't you say?

.........

............

..........What?
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
22.09.2012 - 00:45
sladetroityer
What do you mean What? How is this Death Metal? Their other CD's may lean towards the DM genre but this one? I think not.
Loading...
22.09.2012 - 11:53
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
I think so.
Loading...
24.09.2012 - 06:43
Evil Chip
Good stuff, I dig a lot the guitar tone and the raw production in this one.
Loading...

Hits total: 7300 | This month: 27