Rating:
6.4
Bonded By Blood - The Aftermath
2 July 2012


01. I Can't Hear You
02. Shepherds Of Rot
03. The Aftermath
04. Crawling In The Shadows
05. In A Wake
06. Repulsive
07. Among The Vultures
08. Show No Fear
09. Restless Mind
10. Left Behind
11. Killing In The Name [Rage Against The Machine cover]


Of all the bigger names of the resurgence of popular(ish) thrash, Bonded By Blood have remained the one that I haven't ever really wanted to put on. Their stuff hasn't been all that bad, it's just it's always felt more stale than the work of Warbringer, Havok and the like. They never quite provided the right amount of uniqueness with their tunes to make their albums must-buys.

I honestly wish I could say that this changes all that, but it just doesn't. It has a number of the ingredients necessary for being greatóthe new more Steve Souza/Nuclear Assault-like vocals work better with the overall sound than the old vocalist's did, the axe-work is top-shelf from beginning to end, the new bassist sounds excellent, and the band is playing more cohesively than before--but everything is brought crumbling down by the lacking consistency in the songwriting department and the weak, Worlds Torn Asunder-y production job on this thing.

At least their previous albums all had it going for them that they were sufficiently loud; this thing sounds fully contained and smothered by the pillowy productionówords that just can't be applied to a good, old fashioned, vicious thrash record. The riffing provides ample fists aimed at the face, but they're all shielded by the Serta-sponsored mixing.

It's well-executed, technical Bay Area-style thrash that's mixed to sound flaccid. It's a for-Bonded-fans only sort of deal, which is a goddamn shame considering the improvements these guys have made since 2010.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 5
Production: 5


Band profile: Bonded By Blood
Album: The Aftermath


 



Written on 03.10.2012 by
wormdrink414
Wormdrink's real name is George and he works at a convenience store in the Eugene/Springfield area.
More reviews by wormdrink414 ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 15  
Users visited: 162  
Search this topic:  


Apothecary - 03.10.2012 at 05:00  
"The new more Steve Souza/Nuclear Assault-like vocals work better with the overall sound than the old vocalist's did"

The only part of this review I disagree with. Jose Aladdin (or whatever his name was) actually had a very "classic thrash" sounding voice in my opinion, which went perfect with the riffs. I'd say "Necropsy" off of Feed the Beast is a perfect example. Idk, maybe you're hearing something I'm not, listening is all subjective after all I suppose. Other than that, I agree with your rating and review. This has been the first BBB album that was actually a big disappointment for me, so for now I'll stick to Feed the Beast and Exiled to Earth and just hope that this new lineup improves with their next album.
Dani5050 - 03.10.2012 at 05:01  
I have to agree with this review I gave up on this guys.
Mattybu - 03.10.2012 at 06:34  
Might check it out. Never got overly hyped about these guys, but honestly if it's like Worlds Torn Asunder that's a good thing in my books.
Truemetaljope - 03.10.2012 at 13:33  
Good points in this review. I'd rate performance and songwriting lower though due to vocals (weakish, lacks the aggression Jose had and even sounds somewhat out of place in thrash) and drumming (mundane mostly). And while the album has some pretty good leads and solos the absence of second quitar doesn't do any good especially on the riffs.

Written by Apothecary on 03.10.2012 at 05:00

Jose Aladdin (or whatever his name was) actually had a very "classic thrash" sounding voice in my opinion, which went perfect with the riffs. I'd say "Necropsy" off of Feed the Beast is a perfect example. Idk, maybe you're hearing something I'm not, listening is all subjective after all I suppose.


Agreed. For me Jose's vocals on "Exiled to Earth" sounded very authentic and raw quite like Paul Baloff's vocals on "Bonded by Blood". Mauro, the new vocalist is totally lacking on that aspect.

Written by Apothecary on 03.10.2012 at 05:00

This has been the first BBB album that was actually a big disappointment for me, so for now I'll stick to Feed the Beast and Exiled to Earth and just hope that this new lineup improves with their next album.


Same for me.
SilentScream - 03.10.2012 at 19:02  
Many have given this album rather mediocre reviews...I guess I must disagree, I really like it. The riffs are just absolutely killer, and the new singer adds something VERY interesting to the music.

I'm definitely buying this.
.Nick - 03.10.2012 at 23:11  
I still like Feed The Beast the most, but thought this one was better again than Exiled To Earth.
Nothing original, but a more than entertaining album imo.
LordHypnos - 04.10.2012 at 02:56  
I'm still looking for some underrated thrash metal gems. Could anyone recommend me some?
wormdrink414 - 04.10.2012 at 03:57  
Written by LordHypnos on 04.10.2012 at 02:56

I'm still looking for some underrated thrash metal gems. Could anyone recommend me some?

If you're talking about newer thrash gems, first two that come to mind came out this year: Onward To The Pits by Deathhammer and March to the Death by Incapacitate. Both underrated in the sense that they have 10 or fewer votes a pop here.
Daggon - 04.10.2012 at 16:35  
Kinda sad to see this band falling apart so quickly. I really enjoy their debut "Feed The Beast", it's probably something heavily influenced by the 80's, but it is really well done, better than some other praised and kinda boring debuts like "War Without End" of Warbringer. I gotta say I'm quite disappointed about this guys, their previous album was bad, but this one is even worse. Too bad for them, I really had high expectations in the past.
Sir Thrashalot - 04.10.2012 at 18:11  
I was actually trying to get into BBB, the first albums left me with a "yeah, good album, won't listen to this for years, but they have potential, new album will be good". Unfortunately, no. Saw them live this year, good band to see live, there's a lot more energy there than there is on the albums, but seriously, The Aftermath just doesn't make the cut. Under aggresive riffs, repetitive, powerless drumming and only one guitar... Singer's ok, not great but ok, lacks finish, but still ok. Will not be expecting these guys to make a classic or even great album like some new Thrash albums, "Time is Up" from Havok or Revocation's "Chaos of Forms". Shame ...
LordHypnos - 05.10.2012 at 02:25  
Written by wormdrink414 on 04.10.2012 at 03:57

Written by LordHypnos on 04.10.2012 at 02:56

I'm still looking for some underrated thrash metal gems. Could anyone recommend me some?

If you're talking about newer thrash gems, first two that come to mind came out this year: Onward To The Pits by Deathhammer and March to the Death by Incapacitate. Both underrated in the sense that they have 10 or fewer votes a pop here.

I'll check 'em out. Thanks, man.
SilentScream - 05.10.2012 at 05:47  
Written by wormdrink414 on 04.10.2012 at 03:57

Written by LordHypnos on 04.10.2012 at 02:56

I'm still looking for some underrated thrash metal gems. Could anyone recommend me some?

If you're talking about newer thrash gems, first two that come to mind came out this year: Onward To The Pits by Deathhammer and March to the Death by Incapacitate. Both underrated in the sense that they have 10 or fewer votes a pop here.

Is it this that you are reffering to?


Not exactly what I would call a gem....
wormdrink414 - 05.10.2012 at 13:54  
That's what I'm referring to.
Blackhand - 05.10.2012 at 20:33  
Boring.
Edmund Fogg - 16.10.2012 at 17:53  
Written by LordHypnos on 04.10.2012 at 02:56

I'm still looking for some underrated thrash metal gems. Could anyone recommend me some?


Check out the new Rumpel-something- Grinder and the new Lich King

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Bonded By Blood - The Aftermath 7.5 30.06.2012 by S.K.Ø.M
Reviews Bonded By Blood - Feed The Beast 7 10.08.2009 by Dangerboner
News Bonded By Blood - To Enter The Studio 6 06.02.2012 by Cynic Metalhead
Albums Bonded By Blood - Feed The Beast 6 06.04.2010 by Growing
Reviews Haboryn - At The Edge Of Extinction 4.5 10.11.2011 by rex04



Hits total: 3482 | This month: 47