Rating:
7.5
Wintersun - Time I
19 October 2012


Disc I
01. When Time Fades Away
02. Sons Of Winter And Stars
    1 - Rain Of Stars
    2 - Surrounded By Darkness
    3 - Journey Inside A Dream
    4 - Sons Of Winter And Stars
03. Land Of Snow And Sorrow
04. Darkness And Frost
05. Time
06. [hidden track] [Mediabook & Mailorder edition bonus]

Disc II [DVD] [Mediabook bonus]
+ Time I Live Rehearsals At Sonic Pump Studios
+ Licks & Tricks
+ Sons Of Winter And Stars - Project Demonstration
+ Photo Gallery

Disc III [instrumental CD] [Mailorder edition bonus]
01. When Time Fades Away
02. Sons Of Winter And Stars
    1 - Rain Of Stars
    2 - Surrounded By Darkness
    3 - Journey Inside A Dream
    4 - Sons Of Winter And Stars
03. Land Of Snow And Sorrow
04. Darkness And Frost
05. Time


One of the most highly anticipated albums of the last decade; Time I finally ends the eight year silence, but was the wait worth it?

After the charming Eastern folk influenced introduction, it soon becomes apparent that things have changed with the band in the last eight years. From the album theme of comprehending human emotion and our time on earth to the musicianship and ambitious nature of the orchestrations, Wintersun have aimed for a much grander sound.

Much more symphonic, bombastic even, "Sons Of Winter And Stars" kicks the album off with high spirit and energy. Eight years all of a sudden becomes a little more understandable with the amount of attention to detail and intricate compositions that are so copiously and lavishly interlaced into the music. The musicianship is absolutely top-notch throughout and the closing two minutes of the song provide a wonderfully epic and memorable crescendo.

The album has so many layers, it is deeply ambitious. Time I is an album that has very clearly had so much dedication and effort put into it, but at times it also sounds like Jari has become so consumed with making this the masterpiece everyone wanted that it becomes a little over-indulgent with how complex and dense the compositions are. We are presented a masterclass of orchestration in metal, but it is a challenge to digest and connect with.

With a running time of forty minutes, which includes the introduction and interlude, Time I as a standalone album is very short. The previously mentioned "Sons Of Winter And Stars" and title track "Time" are both great songs and enough to make you crave the second album, but it is hard not to feel underwhelmed when the album seems to cut short. It isn't made any better with a questionable light and quiet production either. Time I then is exactly that; the first of two halves, not the complete article.

The album is mindblowingly impressive in portions, but is just a little too complex and indulgent for its own good. Perhaps along with Time II the picture will become complete, but even though this album has some golden moments - it just feels unfinished alone.

-

Symphonic Extreme Power metal
Nuclear Blast
Finland
Length: 40:07

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 7


Band profile: Wintersun
Album: Time I


 



Written on 22.10.2012 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››



Comments page 5 of 5

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 2 3 4 [5]
Comments: 217  
Users visited: 1096  
Search this topic:  


Carl Berg - 27.10.2012 at 17:57  
Written by Parasomnia on 27.10.2012 at 09:45

Personally, I waited until I'd listened to the whole album 9 or 10 times through to say if I liked it or not. Just like any extremely complex/layered music, it takes a long time for everything to sink in and for the melodies to start to catch.. but once they do, it's hard to stop listening. Excited for part 2, especially "The Way of the Fire."


Yeah, I hope that album will have more of the technical aspect of Wintersun everybody was waiting for. Where are the lightning-speed solos??
stationarytravel - 28.10.2012 at 21:16  
Wintersun should've stuck to being a generic Melodeath band with crazy shdredding. Adding 10293102930 layers of synth drawn in piano roll doesn't make the material anymore inspired. Jari should first learn to compose outside the cliche 'epic' metal sound. In the end, the effort seems pointless.
metalbrat - 31.10.2012 at 14:15  
I have finished listening to this so called great creation of the decade for the fifth time to really find out whether there is anything really great lying underneath which is not audible to a common music lover. As the critic said, it is true, it is really "complex" and is good for those who are learning to create a symphony in heavy metal one day... I don't know , maybe I will be placing myself among those stupid listeners who doesn't know the complex sides of music, but I don't mind coz I am not going to listen to it one more time bcos all the previous 5 times I didn't really get that "craving" for one more time. This is purely my opinion and pls do not fight with me over this, you music geniuses out there.
Passe - 09.11.2012 at 03:55  
Despite of all which have been written on this album, I am very curious (and a bit of concerns) about a live performance with these songs.
Kuroboshi - 01.12.2012 at 15:34  
A bit too bombastic for petit moi. I've always enjoyed Jari's voice though, and I look forward to the day when I can hear the WHOLE album.
theFIST - 01.12.2012 at 16:06  
Written by Ernis on 27.10.2012 at 01:36

Written by EW on 26.10.2012 at 06:22

You must be blind if you prefer Keira Knightly. Wayyy too skinny.

I like Keira because .... everything about her is so feminine

Seriously?
she has no breasts or other curves
she is the perfect example of a woman that starved away all gender indications outside the crotch area
!J.O.O.E.! - 01.12.2012 at 16:11  
Keira Knightly is the unattractive Natalie Portman.
Mr. Doctor - 01.12.2012 at 18:30  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 01.12.2012 at 16:11
Keira Knightly is the unattractive Natalie Portman.

THANK YOU!

That needed to be said.
Ozman - 01.12.2012 at 19:28  
KK is indeed the unacttractive NP
Azarath - 05.12.2012 at 05:05  
They're both attractive, only Natalie is more so.
Sword_Chant - 26.12.2012 at 17:45  
Fanboy remarks and other subjects aside, this is the metal album of 2012 - and one hell of a fucking sequel to the debut.
henrihell93 - 10.01.2013 at 22:50  
I actually asked the Kai Hahto what takes so long (back in 2009) and he told me that the computers keep crashing because of the number of tracks on the songs. There's up to 1600 tracks in a song on that album. That's what took so long.
Ozman - 10.01.2013 at 22:52  
And someone else believes they have been spouting about the computers
AngelofDeth - 03.03.2013 at 01:46  
Written by henrihell93 on 10.01.2013 at 22:50

I actually asked the Kai Hahto what takes so long (back in 2009) and he told me that the computers keep crashing because of the number of tracks on the songs. There's up to 1600 tracks in a song on that album. That's what took so long.

And thats why this album sounds so shitty. No song will sound good with 1600 tracks on it, thats just straight clutter. They should have deleted some tracks instead of getting new computers and maybe the album wouldve sounded better, cleaner and more refined. Less is more sometimes.
Stunning Cactus - 29.07.2013 at 00:49  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 25.10.2012 at 06:20

Listened to it one more time ( ) and almost want to drop my rating to a 4, I honestly can't believe it took him 8 years to make this. It's disappointing to me, and I wasn't even expecting much.


I would just like to point out that only in recent years did the appropriate releases of certain 64-bit VSTs become available (these are virtual synthesizers used in DAWs). Information on this was on the Wintersun official webpage. Jari needed these in order to finish creating and mixing the album. I'm not devaluing your opinion, but just wanted to make it known that part of the reason it took so long to make was because of software release dates.
Vombatus - 29.07.2013 at 15:14  
Even if it took him a year or two to make this is long considering how bad the mix and orchestrations are. I still remember an interview (I think it was in Bloodstock) where Jari stated he spent 3 years learning how to use the programs (talk about a slow learner...).

Anyway, I never cared for the band as generic melodeath/extremepower/whatevercrapitis isn't my thing.... so yeah, whatever.
deadone - 20.12.2013 at 03:31  
Wow, what a load of tosh. Is this what passes for good metal in the 2010s?!?!?

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 2 3 4 [5]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Chaos Creation - Homicidal Party Time 6 13.03.2007 by
Reviews Mithras - Time Never Lasts 6 19.10.2011 by Baz Anderson
Reviews In Flames - The Mirror's Truth 4.5 06.03.2008 by Infidel
Reviews Cradle Of Filth - Godspeed On The Devil's Thunder 4.5 03.11.2008 by ArcesseEum
Reviews Dogpound - III 4.5 17.09.2007 by Lupas



Hits total: 19012 | This month: 165