Rating:
9.0
Green Carnation - The Acoustic Verses
16 January 2006


01. Sweet Leaf
02. The Burden Is Mine... Alone
03. Maybe?
04. Alone
05. 9-29-045
    1 - I: My Greater Cause
    2 - II: Homecoming [Instrumental version]
    3 - III: House Of Cards
06. Child's Play Part III [Instrumental version]
07. High Tide Waves
08. Six Ribbons [Jon English cover] [bonus]


It's a wintry afternoon, the clouds start covering the horizon and melancholy is pouring from the darkening sky. I decide to listen to something soft, fragile and at the same time utterly emotional and, believe me, Green Carnation's new attempt, "The Acoustic Verses", is the ideal soundtrack to a serene and esoteric journey adorned with beauty and melancholy.

The album is what the title says, an acoustic monument of thoughts, emotions, dreams, wishes, sweet bitterness. This time Green Carnation take their sound another step forward offering something different, something elegant, soul-touching and from the heart. Acoustic compositions might sound "easy" to some in terms of structure, yet, these Norwegians know how to make an acoustic song sound complex, with a variety of sounds being present through its whole duration, without losing in emotion and atmosphere.

All the instruments are blending together in the most beautiful way and thus the outcome is the marriage of the most fragile side of all the instruments partaking in "The Acoustic Verses". The acoustic guitar chords are well-thought and tranquil, simplistic in a way, without forgetting though to offer at times some more affected ideas here and there, evoking that feeling of bittersweet melancholy that makes the atmosphere have that grey/scarlet color. Some slight psychedelic rock references in the guitar work are vivid here and there, especially on "High Tide Waves", a beautiful and obscure song, probably the most complex song of the album.

Apart from the really good guitar work another strong part of Green Carnation's sound on this attempt is definitely the use of the keyboards and some orchestral-driven parts that make their appearance at times. The keyboard melodies have a more atmosphere-keeping role, floating in the air in gentle ways, caressing the listener's soul tenderly, having a quit experimental sound and approach in some keyboard passages, whereas the orchestral-driven passages make the whole feeling more affected and varied, making the whole aesthetic more intense and emotional. The rhythm section has definitely an accompanying role, sounding a bit imposing at times, but don't expect something exaggerating from the rhythm section on an acoustic album, just well-executed calm and tempo-keeping work - some creative passages are obvious though. The vocals evoke a pleasant shade of grey with their melodic warm interpretation that gives voice to the deep lyrics in the most expressive way.

The album flows definitely as one, a beautifully melancholic dream from which you don't want to wake up, but if you want me to pick up some songs I shouldn't forget to mention the heart-rending and haunting "Maybe?", the emotional and utterly touching "Alone" with the beautiful violin appearance, the inspired lengthy opus "9-29-045", the instrumental "Childs Play Part III" with its traumatic bittersweet piano melodies that won't fail entering the deepest core of your soul, the doleful and fragile "The Burden Is Mine…Alone" etc.

"The Acoustic Verses" will appeal to those who adore soft and fragile music, but those who shouldn't miss it for sure must be the fans of Antimatter, the more acoustic side of Radiohead and latest Anathema (those who have seen Anathema on live acoustic shows will get what I mean) for Green Carnation this time walk in similar sound pathways as the bands mentioned above, through a personal sound prism of course (those who know of neofolk will notice a Sol Invictus reference too).


Band profile: Green Carnation
Album: The Acoustic Verses


 



Written on 18.01.2006 by
DerRozzengarten
"It is myself I have never met, whose face is pasted on the underside of my mind."
More reviews by DerRozzengarten ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 11  
Users visited: 159  
Search this topic:  


Lucas - 25.07.2006 at 12:59  
One of the best, among my favorites. I'd rate it a 9.5, but furthermore it is a great review. Good job!
Metalguaska - 26.07.2006 at 07:11  
A great review for a great album, i definitely liked this piece, and i think is a flawlessly made album, it really shows that acoustic metal pieces are really brilliant (if well made) and i personally would have give the album a 10...
DreamWeaver - 02.09.2006 at 06:59  
I agree with you, Green Carnation has done it again, and in a very original way.
BloodTears - 27.10.2006 at 01:39  
this album is brilliant. It deserves all the recognition it can get. amasing songwritting and constuction of the songs.
Infurnace - 11.07.2007 at 19:44  
Totally agee with the review. This is probably one of the best releases ever. I really like this album. Good review!
4look4rd - 15.07.2007 at 20:57  
This album is truely a master piece, and is by far my favorite album by them (Yes I like it better than Light of Day, Day of Darkness) and is my second favorite acustic album (just loses for 12:5 by Pain of Salvation=P)
Valentin B - 16.08.2008 at 12:44  
i didn't really like this album very much when i tried to listen to it.. the guitars sound too cold and emotionless to me...
BloodTears - 16.08.2008 at 20:45  
Written by Valentin B on 16.08.2008 at 12:44

i didn't really like this album very much when i tried to listen to it.. the guitars sound too cold and emotionless to me...


You really think the guitars sound emotionless? Wow.

I don't at all.
lazarus - 13.11.2008 at 03:18  
Me neither, I thought it was accurate to the title of the album exposed, sad almost in every second of it, even the name picked for the tracks give the idea of what you should expect
Elio - 04.03.2009 at 11:57  
This album is simply great, I like this sort of experiments.
Maxx666 - 27.06.2009 at 22:27  
This is their best work since light of day....day of darkness.I'd give it 9.5 for sure:thumbup:

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Green Carnation - The Acoustic Verses 9 19.08.2013 by Big-Al
Reviews Green Carnation - The Quiet Offspring 7 06.07.2007 by BloodTears
Reviews Green Carnation - Journey To The End Of The Night 7 10.06.2009 by Elio
Reviews Green Carnation - The Quiet Offspring 7 22.06.2011 by SSM
Albums Green Carnation - The Quiet Offspring 6 23.11.2013 by BloodJuNkie



Hits total: 5816 | This month: 4