Rating:
8.8
Kongh - Sole Creation
5 February 2013


01. Sole Creation
02. Tamed Brute
03. The Portals
04. Skymning


Yep. You're done for. Finished, or as they say in Swedish: körd. Take one look at that colossal angry gorilla on the album cover and it's pretty hard not to jump to the conclusion that some serious shit is about to go down. Kongh looks mad, he damn well sounds mad too.

This Swedish two-piece plays a sludge/doom union which well exceeds natural proportions. Who would have guessed that their gargantuan style of booming bass-lines and chest thumping drumbeats called for melodies? Well apparently big ol' Kongh has an ear for them. Not only that but he's also quite the vocalist. Band founder David Johansson displays stunning range as he takes on all manner of gruff hardcore and abrasive variations and at their cleanest they bear a resemblance to Ozzy's early exploits with Black Sabbath, adding a touch of doomed tradition to the proceedings. The coupling of heavily bass accentuated guitars, all ably provided by this remarkably talented musician, and his melodious vocal delivery reminds me of fellow Swedes Grand Magus only they are placed over more elongated rhythms. A nice gritty feel underlies the well mixed guitars making it sound rough but not too rough producing some accessible and gravelly riffs.

By god Kongh even gets the tremolos working which shimmer like moonlight off his silverback on the track "Skymning" which is subtle as it goes about its devastation. Ah but let's not forget the presence of Tomas Salonen whose astute drum patterns fuel Kongh's inner rage. See his determined delivery and the outstanding control he places over his kit in tracks like "Tamed Brute" as he somehow manages to restrain those beastly guitars. The briefly lulled psychadelia akin to the sound of Ufomammut toward the end of that track deceives us all as it is followed by a final onslaught.

Though not bearing the irregular technicalities of the progressive and thoroughly stoner centred sludge of earlier efforts from Mastodon they do serve as a good point of reference. Sole Creation consistently flirts with an obliquely progressive edge that Mastodon have stamped on the genre. It is the melodic sensibilities that bring this out especially, captivating the listener before deviations are made into passages which ambitiously grasp at an Isis-like atmospheric immersion, I'll refer you again to the excellent "Skymning."

Such fine tuning of melodies to this monolith is likely to have doom and sludge fans going ape. If you've found either of these genres difficult to get into allow Kongh to take you up in one gargantuan grip and crush all the resistance out of you.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 9


 



Written on 12.02.2013 by
R'Vannith
R'Vannith enjoys music, he's hoping you do too.
More reviews by R'Vannith ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 17  
Users visited: 473  
Search this topic:  


Kuroboshi - 12.02.2013 at 07:50  
In Swedish, we don't use "färdig" as "finished" is used in English. It only means complete. We say "körd" ("driven").
Kuroboshi - 12.02.2013 at 07:52  
Aaaand, I'll be sure to check this out. Seems right up my alley!
Gopherhawk - 12.02.2013 at 08:16  
Studying Swedish in the U.S. I would think one would say "avslutad."
R'Vannith - 12.02.2013 at 08:19  
Written by Kuroboshi on 12.02.2013 at 07:50

In Swedish, we don't use "färdig" as "finished" is used in English. It only means complete. We say "körd" ("driven").


Thanks for the correction, you can tell English is my only language. Foolhardily trusted google translate on that one Though I must say this album does sound very "färdig" (hope I used it right that time)
I see you dig Cult Of Luna so you might be interested to know Magnus Lindberg did the mixing for this one.
Kuroboshi - 12.02.2013 at 08:34  
Written by Gopherhawk on 12.02.2013 at 08:16

Studying Swedish in the U.S. I would think one would say "avslutad."

Nah, that means that something ends. So it would mean something like that the project is finished, no band no more.
Kuroboshi - 12.02.2013 at 08:35  
Written by R'Vannith on 12.02.2013 at 08:19

Thanks for the correction, you can tell English is my only language. Foolhardily trusted google translate on that one Though I must say this album does sound very "färdig" (hope I used it right that time)
I see you dig Cult Of Luna so you might be interested to know Magnus Lindberg did the mixing for this one.

Well, if it is a really well produced album etc., that would be correct.

I absolutely love CoL and this whole style. Thanks for the tip!
Spirit Molecule - 12.02.2013 at 09:24  
Skit bra! I need to check this one out.
PocketMetal - 12.02.2013 at 10:26  
Ok now I'm interested and excited and everything .
Chris Steele - 12.02.2013 at 14:30  
Great review, I'm going to check this album out!
Gopherhawk - 12.02.2013 at 17:11  
Written by Kuroboshi on 12.02.2013 at 08:34

Written by Gopherhawk on 12.02.2013 at 08:16

Studying Swedish in the U.S. I would think one would say "avslutad."

Nah, that means that something ends. So it would mean something like that the project is finished, no band no more.

Heh, the review is edited XD
Megi - 12.02.2013 at 17:42  
Drinking Game - A shot each time there is a reference or metaphor about primates in this review.

Sounds interesting though, must check this out! I like me some melody
R'Vannith - 12.02.2013 at 17:47  
Written by Megi on 12.02.2013 at 17:42

Drinking Game - A shot each time there is a reference or metaphor about primates in this review.

Sounds interesting though, must check this out! I like me some melody


You'll be under the table in no time!
TheLostChord - 12.02.2013 at 20:18  
I thought they were a three piece.
Nosurper - 12.02.2013 at 21:18  
Hmm a sludge album with a big hairy fucking gorilla on the cover. Fitting.
RationalGaze713 - 13.02.2013 at 14:49  
This band is amazing.
afu - 15.02.2013 at 23:44  
I checked them out after this review. Fucking awesome.
tea[m]ster - 16.02.2013 at 01:00  
Just listened to this. It's decent. Mastodon is a great comparison. However, I am not so sure this is memorable enough for me to give it another spin. Excellent review, as usual.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Kongh - Sole Creation 6 18.01.2013 by InnerSelf
Reviews Horseback - Piedmont Apocrypha 3 12.04.2014 by BloodTears
Reviews Darkest Era - Severance 3 15.06.2014 by Ag Fox
Reviews Vulture Industries - The Tower 3 21.10.2013 by mz
Reviews Valtari - Hunter's Pride 3 29.01.2014 by



Hits total: 5585 | This month: 53