Bandcamp music player

Rating:
8.4
Scale The Summit - The Migration
11 June 2013


01. Odyssey
02. Atlas Novus
03. The Olive Tree
04. Narrow Salient
05. Oracle
06. Evergreen
07. The Dark Horse
08. Willow
09. Sabrosa
10. The Traveler


How do you translate colours into sound? And how do you explain what you see in music? The new Scale The Summit album makes me question things because it is such a visual experience. I interpret The Migration as a new stepping stone toward their musical destination and not really a departure from their previous creations.

While Scale The Summit's music is in line with instrumental progressive metal, their musical narrative is quite distinct. They are known for the technical skill, guitar shredding, and the typical meanderings of this type of prog, but in The Migration it's all about the pace. Every song is well-paced and the album itself is balanced; it doesn't fluctuate much in terms of quality. Actually, it sounds beautiful most of the time. The songs are lively and tell a story, which can probably be explained because they are concise, the main hooks are majestic simple melodies, and the little interludes "Sabrosa" and harmonics splendor "Evergreen" help the album breathe. There is also the technical instrumentation aspect and other intricate ornaments but the core structures are simple.

You can still recognize other bands in their music like the shady Opeth tone at the beginning of "Willow" and the Joe Satriani-like melodies throughout "The Olive Tree" but essentially Scale The Summit have a trademark sound by now. Most of these songs are brightly-coloured, take the playful closer "The Traveler" as an example, except for the dark and introspective "The Dark Horse", probably their heaviest exercise on this album with mesmerizing melodies to go along with it.

The disadvantages of The Migration may be that it will only appeal to a certain niche; not everyone can stomach extensive bass and guitar solos and the so-called "pretentious" factor that you can find in prog. Thankfully, these guys really know how to write songs.

When you reach the end of the album, the painted colours of the artwork will make sense and blend with the music and you will have lived an adventure that you will want to repeat. One of the biggest merits of Scale The Summit and good instrumental prog is that while vocals and lyrics can show you the way and lead you where to go, instrumental music leaves the road open for you to choose your own path.

Best songs: "Atlas Novum", "The Dark Horse", "Willow" and "The Olive Tree".


Band profile: Scale The Summit
Album: The Migration


 



Written on 26.06.2013 by
BloodTears
News chief, random reviewer, professional progger and wannabe surfer.
More reviews by BloodTears ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 15  
Users visited: 319  
Search this topic:  


R Lewis - 26.06.2013 at 23:48  
Great review and great album. This is not the kind of instrumental prog that makes me wonder "If they only had a vocalist...", it's simply great how it is.
Exciting and relaxing, thoughtful and thoughtless at the same time. Magical.
Apothecary - 27.06.2013 at 01:38  
Yeah, I saw this in the new releases and something about that cover art told me I had to give this a peek. But Opeth and Satriani-like parts within the music? No questions asked, this is going to the top of my Listen To list! Great review as well
Andresopeth - 27.06.2013 at 04:34  
I will totally check this one out!!!
Unhealer - 27.06.2013 at 06:01  
Quote:
Thankfully, these guys really know how to write songs.


And that is exactly why I'm liking a record like this!
neonxaos - 27.06.2013 at 15:32  
It's true, the music seems so bright an positive. I love the album cover as well, it really does feel organic, green, alive, just like the melodies.
Fallen Ghost - 27.06.2013 at 16:06  
Man, this sounds great! Definately going to listen more to this! Great find for sure
tea[m]ster - 27.06.2013 at 18:47  
"not everyone can stomach extensive bass and guitar solos and the so-called "pretentious" factor"

Bingo. I have a hard time adapting to this style of music because I am so used to anything "post" where using guitar solos or any kinda of showmanship is blasphemy!
BloodTears - 27.06.2013 at 19:03  
I appreciate the feedback guys

Written by tea[m]ster on 27.06.2013 at 18:47

"not everyone can stomach extensive bass and guitar solos and the so-called "pretentious" factor"

Bingo. I have a hard time adapting to this style of music because I am so used to anything "post" where using guitar solos or any kinda of showmanship is blasphemy!


I still think you should give it a try. I don't think STS is that over-the-top as other things you might compare it to like Animals As Leaders. The focus is more on songwriting even if there is technicality.
Fallen Ghost - 30.06.2013 at 15:00  
Now that I have listened to this a few times, I am definately going to buy this! Awesome record, thank you BloodTears for reviewing it!
Gelati - 01.07.2013 at 07:11  
This is an outstanding album and one of, if not, the best of the year so far.
Opethian - 02.07.2013 at 01:57  
This one is a must! Will order ASAP
Dark Blood - 03.07.2013 at 04:26  
Very good review Ana! I like what I read and what I listened so far, so I'm getting this.
Guib - 04.07.2013 at 03:58  
Written by BloodTears on 27.06.2013 at 19:03

I appreciate the feedback guys

Written by tea[m]ster on 27.06.2013 at 18:47

"not everyone can stomach extensive bass and guitar solos and the so-called "pretentious" factor"

Bingo. I have a hard time adapting to this style of music because I am so used to anything "post" where using guitar solos or any kinda of showmanship is blasphemy!



Since when ''Showmanship'' is blasphemy ? Did it became blasphemy when moving and having fun on stage did ?

Anyways, just by the way Bloodtears, very nice review and also I really did enjoy the album, thanks for that.
BloodTears - 04.07.2013 at 10:57  
I'm glad some people are enjoying this album. You're absolutely welcome!
nb - 05.07.2013 at 22:02  
I should go check this out.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Scale The Summit - The Migration 7.5 08.06.2013 by hadriel
Reviews Scale The Summit - The Collective 7 22.04.2011 by K†ulu
News Scale The Summit - Working On New Material 6 25.10.2012 by BloodTears
News Scale The Summit - New Song Streaming Online 6 17.04.2013 by R'Vannith
Events USA, New York, NY - Scale The Summit: North America Tour 2012 4.5 02.01.2012 by blackmetalcore



Hits total: 3972 | This month: 85