Scale The Summit - The Migration review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
8.4

145 users:
8.27
Band: Scale The Summit
Album: The Migration
Release date: June 2013


01. Odyssey
02. Atlas Novus
03. The Olive Tree
04. Narrow Salient
05. Oracle
06. Evergreen
07. The Dark Horse
08. Willow
09. Sabrosa
10. The Traveler


How do you translate colours into sound? And how do you explain what you see in music? The new Scale The Summit album makes me question things because it is such a visual experience. I interpret The Migration as a new stepping stone toward their musical destination and not really a departure from their previous creations.

While Scale The Summit's music is in line with instrumental progressive metal, their musical narrative is quite distinct. They are known for the technical skill, guitar shredding, and the typical meanderings of this type of prog, but in The Migration it's all about the pace. Every song is well-paced and the album itself is balanced; it doesn't fluctuate much in terms of quality. Actually, it sounds beautiful most of the time. The songs are lively and tell a story, which can probably be explained because they are concise, the main hooks are majestic simple melodies, and the little interludes "Sabrosa" and harmonics splendor "Evergreen" help the album breathe. There is also the technical instrumentation aspect and other intricate ornaments but the core structures are simple.

You can still recognize other bands in their music like the shady Opeth tone at the beginning of "Willow" and the Joe Satriani-like melodies throughout "The Olive Tree" but essentially Scale The Summit have a trademark sound by now. Most of these songs are brightly-coloured, take the playful closer "The Traveler" as an example, except for the dark and introspective "The Dark Horse", probably their heaviest exercise on this album with mesmerizing melodies to go along with it.

The disadvantages of The Migration may be that it will only appeal to a certain niche; not everyone can stomach extensive bass and guitar solos and the so-called "pretentious" factor that you can find in prog. Thankfully, these guys really know how to write songs.

When you reach the end of the album, the painted colours of the artwork will make sense and blend with the music and you will have lived an adventure that you will want to repeat. One of the biggest merits of Scale The Summit and good instrumental prog is that while vocals and lyrics can show you the way and lead you where to go, instrumental music leaves the road open for you to choose your own path.

Best songs: "Atlas Novum", "The Dark Horse", "Willow" and "The Olive Tree".


 



Written on 26.06.2013 by News chief, random reviewer, professional progger and wannabe surfer.


Comments

Comments: 15   Visited by: 324 users
26.06.2013 - 23:48
R Lewis
That Useless Guy
Great review and great album. This is not the kind of instrumental prog that makes me wonder "If they only had a vocalist...", it's simply great how it is.
Exciting and relaxing, thoughtful and thoughtless at the same time. Magical.
----
We could be so much more than we are. Stop.
Loading...
27.06.2013 - 01:38
Apothecary
Drone Strike
Yeah, I saw this in the new releases and something about that cover art told me I had to give this a peek. But Opeth and Satriani-like parts within the music? No questions asked, this is going to the top of my Listen To list! Great review as well
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
27.06.2013 - 04:34
Andresopeth
I will totally check this one out!!!
Loading...
27.06.2013 - 06:01
Unhealer
Eclecticist
Quote:
Thankfully, these guys really know how to write songs.


And that is exactly why I'm liking a record like this!
Loading...
27.06.2013 - 15:32
neonxaos
It's true, the music seems so bright an positive. I love the album cover as well, it really does feel organic, green, alive, just like the melodies.
Loading...
27.06.2013 - 16:06
Fallen Ghost
Metalhead
Man, this sounds great! Definately going to listen more to this! Great find for sure
Loading...
27.06.2013 - 18:47
tea[m]ster
Au Pays Natal
"not everyone can stomach extensive bass and guitar solos and the so-called "pretentious" factor"

Bingo. I have a hard time adapting to this style of music because I am so used to anything "post" where using guitar solos or any kinda of showmanship is blasphemy!
Loading...
27.06.2013 - 19:03
BloodTears
ANA-thema
I appreciate the feedback guys

Written by tea[m]ster on 27.06.2013 at 18:47

"not everyone can stomach extensive bass and guitar solos and the so-called "pretentious" factor"

Bingo. I have a hard time adapting to this style of music because I am so used to anything "post" where using guitar solos or any kinda of showmanship is blasphemy!


I still think you should give it a try. I don't think STS is that over-the-top as other things you might compare it to like Animals As Leaders. The focus is more on songwriting even if there is technicality.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
30.06.2013 - 15:00
Fallen Ghost
Metalhead
Now that I have listened to this a few times, I am definately going to buy this! Awesome record, thank you BloodTears for reviewing it!
Loading...
01.07.2013 - 07:11
Gelati
This is an outstanding album and one of, if not, the best of the year so far.
Loading...
02.07.2013 - 01:57
Opethian
This one is a must! Will order ASAP
Loading...
03.07.2013 - 04:26
Dark Blood
The Avenger
Very good review Ana! I like what I read and what I listened so far, so I'm getting this.
----
It is humanity who must pay homage to the greatness of the Universe... not the Universe to the human narcissism.
Loading...
04.07.2013 - 03:58
Guib
Thrash Talker
Written by BloodTears on 27.06.2013 at 19:03

I appreciate the feedback guys

Written by tea[m]ster on 27.06.2013 at 18:47

"not everyone can stomach extensive bass and guitar solos and the so-called "pretentious" factor"

Bingo. I have a hard time adapting to this style of music because I am so used to anything "post" where using guitar solos or any kinda of showmanship is blasphemy!



Since when ''Showmanship'' is blasphemy ? Did it became blasphemy when moving and having fun on stage did ?

Anyways, just by the way Bloodtears, very nice review and also I really did enjoy the album, thanks for that.
----
- I love my technical, melodic, my thrash, agressive and fast paced, my sludge, well thought, my heavy, heavier and my metal, ever-growing -
Loading...
04.07.2013 - 10:57
BloodTears
ANA-thema
I'm glad some people are enjoying this album. You're absolutely welcome!
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
05.07.2013 - 22:02
nb
I should go check this out.
Loading...

Advertise on Metal Storm

Hits total: 5705 | This month: 8